We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing holiday of our life so far!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #17 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Captains Flat, Australia
1 review
“Most relaxing holiday of our life so far!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Leaving the main road and going up the hill we wondered what we were in for as we were driven up some very steep roads to.......a secluded little oasis with great views, absolutely fantastic staff, and just about anything you could possibly need, all nesteled in one cheeky community.
All the staff make you feel totally welcome, and all have the signature "Cheeky with Love" approach to helping you with any requests. In your room as part of your TV you get a great selction of free Movies loaded on the local network, internet, and Free skype phone calls to local and international numbers.
The infinity pool (above the Gym, Sauna & Steam rooms) provides a beautiful view overlooking the sea and has the main dining and bar facilities alongside to make it easy for days to go by in Cheeky comfort.
Gardens abound all around and there is no need to walk as there are complimentary chauffered golf buggies on-site and numerous daily free trips to surrounding beach and shopping areas laid on with love should you need to be reminded of why you love Mantra.
It may not be on the beach, but this in itself makes for a beautiful place away from the madding crowds and people trying to sell you things you never really wanted anyway. If you want to get away from those 5 star experiences where all the staff are looking busy,trying to make you feel important by bothering you, and delivering little with their hands out for a tip, then this is the perfect escape.
Even the owner Andresch stopped in with some friends and shouted me a few drinks!
Truly 5 star pleasure.
Jeremy & Katrina

Room Tip: It is a very steep sloping site, so if you have difficulty with mobility then you might ask for room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    447
    125
    47
    14
See reviews for
245
1,061
47
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Arriving at this hotel may put you off a bit at first, because you literally drive through steep jungle hills to get there - we had complimentary airport shuttle, so there were no problems with transportation. Also, the higher you climb onto these hills the more you realise that the beach is getting further away you.

But once you arrive at the reception the view to the ocean is worth it and then some. The hotel is very unusual in layout, as the rooms and amenities are scattered around some of the hills i mentioned earlier, but don't let the apparent climbing scare you - they try their best to get you where you want (to your room / to the restaurant / spa / etc) by using a few golf carts... and it really works great.

The service was very good, staff was genuinely friendly and spoke English reasonably. The whole experience was great and we were actually surprised that we felt so good here given the location drawbacks that this hotel has: far from the beach, steep hills, bugs due to jungle vecinity, etc...

In retrospect, these were the things that we...

Liked:
- lovely authentic styling of the rooms and bathroom
- tasty asian & european food at the main restaurant + great breakfast
- awesome staff service
- infinity pool with gorgeous views of the ocean & beach
- golf cart rides to go to breakfast :p
- internet access
- balcony with jacuzzi and sunbed

Didn't like:
- far from the beach or Fisherman's Village (closest shopping / bars & restaurants street)
- lots of mosquitos and bugs on the premises (only found one bug in the room, but we have forgotten the door open while at dinner)
- steep hills through jungle made you think twice about adventuring out of the hotel by yourself at night (there are scooters to rent at reception).

So, if you want easy access to the beach or multiple pools for you and your kids this won't be the right choice, but as an unique experience with one-of-a-kind views, the Mantra Resort definitely gets our vote.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogdan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Mantra with my boyfriend in October as our first holiday abroad together, we were looking for somewhere with great scenery, traditional food and full of character... and it couldn't have been a better choice! The staff were very helpful and friendly, in the particular the Hungarian waitress who knew how to get conversation going with just about any guest.

We stayed in one of the "Love" rooms with a great view of the sea, the room was always immaculately cleaned and the notes, chuppa chup lollies and cocktail party invites made you feel part of the Mantra family :-)
Not forgetting the material funky dog either, we couldn't not buy one so now "Ginger" our very own funky dog resides in a much cooler English climate!

Incredible holiday, great memories and a fantastic experience!

Thanks Mantra, Cheeky with Love!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hard to imagine a nicer place in Samui to be

UNreal breakfasts
Stunning views
great staff
perfect pool
great fitness centre (top knotch)
Hi attention to detail

Nice mix of couples and families

Only 2 negs
The shuttle is less frequent
We got a moped and you could control your own destiny every day - $5/day - dont bother with the shuttle
The shower is not reliable - but you get used to it

This place was HEAVEN for us honemooners
We had tears in our eyes as we left

We will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I`m impress from everything, the reseption, the rooms, services, the location is on the hill and im staing in wow rooms with great views. They also offer you free fitness, yoga, free wifi and the breakfast was good. Different style decoration and the pool was amazing and good staff they do the best servise for you.

Vasilis Vasiliou

From Cyprus

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasilis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nothing bad to say about this hotel at all, they have thought of everything.

Staff are super friendly and helpful, breakfast is super tasty as are their milkshakes, lovely pool area, rooms are brilliant (we stayed in a LOVE room and a WOW room, I personally preferred the WOW room as the view is amazing).

We actually only booked her for 2 nights but liked it so much we left one of our other hotels early and came back for an extra night. The pool is gorgeous and the view from this hotel is simply great. The film and music library available for free in the rooms is also great - there is a huge selection of both which was great for the evenings. The gym was also well equipped which is unusual for hotel gyms, but this is definitely one of the better ones we have been too. There is really nothing else to say except keep an eye out for the banana bread mini muffins....

Room Tip: If you are choosing between the WOW and the LOVE room I would suggest the WOW room as it has a sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved this hotel and very good value. The rooms are clean and very environmentally friendly. Great access to internet. Balcony with Jacuzzi! Lovely views from top of the hill. You get quite an exercise going up and down from the reception to the room and the pool, etc...
The gym was very good and they even do the laundry of your gym clothes for free!!! That was such a treat!
Breakfast was very good. I had the eggs royal with smoked salmon almost every morning.
I enjoyed the free shuttles to the downtown and maybe I would have not stayed here if I did not count on this.
Although the hotel is awesome the location is a bit disappointing. I really missed the beach and I thought I would have had easier access to any beach.
One thing I recommend is to arrange for more frequent shuttles if possible.
Also, a different schedule for the yoga classes. They are always at 17:00!! It would have been nice to do some yoga in the morning maybe...
All in all I had a great time here and would highly recommend it to those that are not so interested in the beach and can do with a lovely pool and vistas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneymakestheworldgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,402 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,078 reviews
5.5 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#13 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing