We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a Modern Hotel with Amazing View? Stay at Mantra.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #21 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Want a Modern Hotel with Amazing View? Stay at Mantra.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed here with 4 friends for 5 nights in Wow rooms from Nov 25-30th. We called ahead to book a shuttle pickup from Koh Samui airport and arrived at the mountain top hotel in under 30min. The rooms are beautifully spacious with a small couch, computer with desk, and balcony. The computer also acts as a TV with large movie library, access to internet, and there is also wifi throughout the resort. The amenities were close by the restaurant with its amazing breakfast buffet and specialty menu with eggs florentine and pancakes.

We also spent some time in the gym (if you like brand new equipment, this is for you) and even took a yoga class in the modern studio. These classes are offered Mon-Fri at 430 and 6pm and Sat-Sun 2 and 4pm. We also sat in on a cooking class offered at the resort on Tuesdays. One of the best parts of this resort is the infinity pool overlooking the city, even better that it is opened 24hrs! Free international calling came in handy too!

We took the shuttle regularly to Chaweng Beach area and once to Fisherman Village in Bophut, there were 4 times available through the day and 3 pick up times from both locations. We also went to the Full Moon Party and Mantra had a package for 1000baht including shuttle to and from pier and speedboat ride to Koh Phangan, well worth it to avoid figuring out transport by ourselves.

Mantra was one of the most memorable stays on our trip to Thailand. You should definitely consider it if your planning to visit Koh Samui.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    445
    125
    46
    14
See reviews for
238
1,054
44
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel was quite recently opened when we stayed there, so berofe arriving we feared of staying in the middle of construction... But the hotel and its surroundings turned out to be ready built and beautifully landscaped.

The first thing I would like to mention is the friendly and casual hospitality of Robert and his team. We really felt warmly welcome and enjoyed the helpful and kind service - also the sense of humour the staff had - or had to have with us :-)

We loved the breakfast, especially everything they made of eggs. The view is amazing! Enjoyed the pool, but unfortunately were too lazy to try the gym... They had yoga classes in the morning. Shuttles were easily arranged. We had no problem with the steep way between lobby and the rooms/pool.

There were some minor things that I would do differently, but I don't think they are worth mentioning - the Mantra has a special touch and we really enjoyed it and had an absolutely wonderful week!

Room Tip: We had a cozy-room near to the pool, it was perfect with the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plejad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is located on top of a steep hill, not accessible to the main road (unless you want to think that you are on a trekking holiday?!). The advantage of being perched up on the hill was apparent - the paranomic & amazing view of Bophut Bay.

The hotel puts in extra-ordinary touches to make up for the disadvantages of its location of being away from the beach. Hardware wise, the facilities on the premise was excellent. We stayed in the LOVE room which comes with our own jacuzzi. The hotel's gym was very new and well-equipped. We certainly appreciate the FREE INTERNATIONAL CALLS and free library of movies on the PC, complimentary use of the beach bag, free airport transfer if you book direct with the hotel. Sleep quality wise, there were 4 types of pillows available to choose from~

Service wise was excellent, there were always staff at the reception area to offer assistance. There were always nice surprises daily with the distribution of lollipops w a piece of paper printed with interesting quotes, candle with cravings given Xmas, souvenir candles upon check-out etc. Breakfast was served with touch of heart, we luv the Pan Cakes and each plate was carefully decorated! We enjoyed the complimentary cappuccinos too~

There are some areas for improvement.
(i) Sunbeds were hard to come by. Whenever the sun comes out, within minutes it were all fully "occupied" with towels, books etc... But you dun know where the people went to...leaving others flabbergasted.
(ii) Shuttle services were still insufficient. We need to "book" the slot which you want to go to Bophut/Chaweng and indicate the time you wish to return. Its difficult for me to indicate the return time as we didn't plan for things to do, we just want to hang around Bophut/Chaweng until we felt like going back to the hotel...So we end up taking taxi back to the hotel most of the time and it cost 300baht!!! Taxis are expensive on Koh Samui. Hence BEWARE, your transport cost will be rather significant if you need to make multiple trips.
(iii) PRIVACY is severely lacking for LOVE rooms (an irony when its meant for couples) as most of the LOVE rooms are in direct sight from the swimming pool... And the views of LOVE rooms varies by floor and block.
I booked the room way in advance under the "early bird" discount and was given a room on the ground floor where all I could see is the leaves of the palm tree in front of the unit =(
Request for Block 1, 2 or 3 (which does not attract direct view from swimming pool) and HIGH FLOORS for LOVE rooms.
WOW rooms are located on the top of the hill, so I reckon they've got the best views...thou w/o jacuzzi.

Lastly some feedback which I hope the hotel can look into.
(i) Provision of more bottled waters in room - std was 2 bottles, but its insufficent. We end up having to bring many more glass bottles of water back to our room ourselves. On ave each person will need at least 2 litres per day...
(ii) Good to have a chalkboard at breakfast area to display the weather for the day, time of sunrise/sunset and time of high/low tides. This will allow guests to better plan for activities of the day and time to head to the beach
(iii) We saw a aromatheraphy burner in our room, but it wasn't lit. Can we have them lit and also placed in the washroom area of the room?

Overall it was an excellent hotel. We felt the sincerity in the staffs' willingness to serve and make it a memorable stay for all.

Room Tip: For LOVE room, choose Blk 1/2/3 and HIGH floors. Rooms on Blk4/5/6 are in direct view from the swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yummydelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed 9 days and had a wonder time.
Staff AMAZING - service, availability, promote with 'ANYTHING' you asked for - hopefully you will be reasonable with your requests based on our feedback. Staff are patient, kind, overly helpful and super understanding- the staff alone make this the 5 star experience with your stay.
Food - great breakfast, room service - food ok, not fab, but good. prompt delivery and food hot when arriving even in rainy weather. We ate mostly out to experience fisherman's village and the Chaweng travel supported by the resort with shuttle buses - fabulous.
Shuttle buses are a must and you must book via ringing 9 or going to reception. Always take resort number with you just in case you need help and remember if you miss the shuttle bus its ONLY 300Bht (AUS $9.00) so don't be tight! You wont get money for distance value like this at home PLUS you wont want to walk the distance and then the final leg is up the hill - the best thing is the signs say only 120 seconds left to Mantra - (note: on wheels) lol. although if your a super fit person - your challenge is to give it a try.
Poolside is wonderful - guests are not so wonderful. They tend to reserve sunbeds and then go to breakfast and eat for a longtime. This does make for less choices to lounge when your ready to lay by the pool - so do as rude guests do OR just eat early and get in quick. I hope the resort consider a pool person to oversee this behaviour and that will improve how people feel towards each other. RULES always make for a better stay when everyone knows them - reduces the arrogance of some cultures. NOTE: Majority of guests ignore or cannot read the sign which clearly states in English that YOU are required to shower before entering the pool - standard hygiene.... All in all the Pool experience is amazing - water is the perfect temperture which overlooks a million dollar view - this cannot be expereinced at other hotel or resort - this is what will attract you back - restaurant ie breakfast is near pool so you get to enjoy this view at breakfast or at every meal.
Sunbeds do need a little more attention some are ripped - perhaps they should consider changing too wood sunbeds with cushions and when it rains the upper cushion can hung out to dry quicker instead of laying in a wet bed - its uncomfortable.

Gym - equipment excellent and sauna very clean and showers are at the gym very good conditions. PLUS you get free gym clothing cleaning per day - remember to bring ipod as it jacks into the machines with either byo or supplied headset - i suggest BYO for better fit if you have a small head like me (LOL).
Our room had IPOD docking station - super to recharge up to Iphne4s - not 5. ps Iphone 5 no simcards on Koh Samui. Buy at any airport - its not cheaper at Koh Samui- same same.

Katie is the BEST Driver you will have in private cars - she is the most wonderful and kind local you will meet - she will recommend anything if you ask and her choices are spot on. get in quick with her cos everyone loves Katie.
Hiring a car is very good price from resort and arranged very quickly. Modern car with excellent A/C. economical and you can drive around island and not run out of fuel.300 bht for fuel will get you started and you will never not have a service station around to top up.
Each day you get a beautiful surprise in your room with a little saying or a gift to say thank you. esp at Christmas and upon arrival and when you leave.
If your in a love suite like us be far warned the beds bite - there is wood-based that is about half meter diameter around bed with no lights to let you know where floor starts and bed begins until you hit your shine or stub your foot - you will learn fast. lol. bed a dream to sleep in and the pillows amazing as they provide choice and preference of 5 different pillows - just ask if you don't have or like what is already on your bed. Also ask for a blanket (which is a duna/quilt/ featherdowner etc. you just call it a blanket. be mindful if you want a top sheet - you have to ask as Housekeeping will take it (lol).

Internet is not so good.

Perfect and we would always come back 8/10

love the Mantra Samui

Room Tip: as above. Ocean view is a must on upper level to avoid powerlines running through your view (LOL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msb1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked five nights here over Christmas because of the ranking on TA. The hotel has an interesting policy on pricing: it appears to offer substantial discounts if you pre-pay direct on line. So we ended up paying 24,000 Baht for five nights in a large Cozy room while adding the remaining four nights of our stay in Koh Samui would have landed us a bill of 100,000 Baht so we moved to the Baan Talay for New Year.

The rate we paid felt right. It's a lovely resort with sensational views and very friendly staff. I can only assume that the few people on here who complain about the staff are the kind of people who forget that hotel staff are human beings and as such respond to smiles and thank-yous.

The Cozy room we had was great. Large sitting room, separate bedroom and large bathroom. The PC was an interesting touch with its extensive collection of downloaded movies and TV shows. Totally free phone calls around the world.

Breakfasts were better than other top-class hotels I've stayed in in Samui. Extensive choice and good coffee.

Room for improvement: as others have mentioned the pool area is far too small for a hotel of this size. Ignorant and selfish guests arrive at 7am to reserve the few sun beds with their towels and books and leave them empty for hours. These guests should be shot and the staff do not enforce the 30-minute rule.

And when I got the bill, it was largely incomprehensible. I don't want to be exposed to the internal hotel billing system processes as a guest. There were charges identified for the main restaurant, a non-existent sushi bar and some other restaurant that didn't exist. I know they were all for things I had actually bought but the bill should reflect something I may actually recognise. This kind of inwardly focused rubbish leaves you with a WTF moment when you check out after enjoying your stay. Of course, the staff cannot explain why the Christmas Eve gala meal comes up as a Sushi meal on the bill. Nobody could. Apart from the hotel billing system IT supplier.

Room Tip: The Cozy rooms are great and near the pool and restaurant for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Mantra for 2 days, the room was clean and spacious with free wifi and many movies to choose from, we were even allowed to make free international calls to family and friends to wish them merry xmas. Our room had a beautiful view, looking out onto the pool and we with a view of the ocean. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and the restaurant made delicious food!! I would definitely stay their again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cari-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 6 night stay at the Mantra. We were both very impressed with the resort and can't really find fault with anything. The staff were very friendly and the service provided was top notch.

The facilities at the resort included a cinema, spa, squash court, gym, yoga classes, 24 hr pool with a bar and restaurant open till around 11.00pm.

The resort also run free daily shuttle services to both Bophut and Chaweng beach throughout the day. These could be booked in your room by simply calling reception and booking the time you needed to go.

Rooms are cleaned every day and bedding changed daily. There is a fridge in the room fully stocked with mini bar items plus a safety deposit box in the room which was very handy.

Air conditioning comes as standard and the temperature is easy to control via the remote unit.

The view from our room was outstanding and this was also the case at the pool / bar area. The resort is set back up in the hills so you really do get a good view of the coast and surrounding areas.

Must also mention that the breakfast was excellent every day with a good selection of fruit / cereals and pastries.

You do get the choice of bacon/eggs/sausage/mushrooms too!

We also ate a few times at the resort restaurant and I have to say the food was very well presented and cooked perfectly.

This was my first trip to Thailand and I was glad that we chose the Mantra as it made our holiday extra special.

Room Tip: We stated in a WOW room which was right at the top of the hill but had the best views. A steep climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
2,272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 187 in Bophut
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,046 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
1,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#15 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing