We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #24 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We just got back from 8 nights at the Mantra and our experience was wonderful. We had a Cosy room over looking the pool and the amazing view. I would highly recommend the Cosy room for a family it gives you the extra space you need and a little privacy for the parents as you can close of the master room to the lounge room. You have two TV's one in the master bedroom and the other in the lounge room. Our two girls shared a double bed which is in the lounge room and had little curtains that they could close so they felt like it was a cubby house for them. The extras that you get at the Mantra make it very pleasant, like drinking water daily, a choice of pillows, hundreds of movies on the computer/tv for adults and kids, free wifi in your room, pool and the restaurant the wifi was easy and fast & wow we got to make free international calls home or anywhere we needed too which is unheard of. The staff were so lovely and accommodating to any of our needs. The breakfast was very good, and they do know how to make a good coffee, how ever you may like it. The shuttle service they provide is great but you do need to be a little organised and know when you'd like to go and come back, otherwise I'd hire a car or bike while your there as it is a 10 mins trip to Fisherman's Village and 20 mins to Chewang Beach. We just loved coming back from a day out to the beauty of the Mantra not to mention we felt completely safe with our two girls there. We hope to come back again some day. Thank you to all at the Mantra staff for such a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    444
    125
    46
    14
See reviews for
238
1,040
43
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

we stayed there for three weeks in September at Mantra Samui Resort and we haven’t regretted any single day of it.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the angels of the reception very friendly, from that time we weren’t “allowed’ to carry our luggage by ourselves.

After a few minutes we were in our room which was really worthy of the name “Wow!”.
There is a spectacular view to the ocean and the beaches of Bophut even if you lay on the very huge bed.
The amenities of the room (nearly 500 sqft) were perfect. We’ve got a silent air condition, a large and comfortable bed, a desk with a huge flat screen, a personal media computer with movies, songs and access to the Internet. You can use it to check your own pictures as well. Additionally we found a rainforest shower, a small kitchenette and a large balcony with the typical Mantra sun loungers under the roof where you can enjoy even if it’s raining.

We’ve tested the infinity pool with the perfect view to the ocean. The pool has a good size, only the room for the lounges is limited because of the hillside location of the resort.
But if not everybody is trying to reserve the chairs in the morning it would be better for everybody.
This is not the fault of the resort and its staff.

The resort is located on a slope, so the ways within the resort are somewhat steep. But you can order a caddy which brings you to your selected location whenever you need it. people who are used to walk will not interfere on that.

Due to this particular location, the path to the beach and several attractions are a bit further. The resort offers a free shuttle service to Chaweng and Fishermans Village several times a day. The frequency was always enough for us, to whom it is not enough, still can hire a taxi or a songthaew.

The daily breakfast was more than enough. You can order several egg dishes which are made fresh for every individual guest. Additionally there is a daily changing selection of Thai food like Pad-Thai, Noodle soup and so on. This is made fresh for every guest too.
The breakfast is completed with a huge variety of several other things like croissants, muffins, donuts, selection of marmalade, toast, bread, salads, yogurt, cereals, soup and a large buffet of fresh fruit. Additionally there is a choice of juices, coffee and tea is a dream.
If somebody is missing something, is himself to blame. Nobody would have such a selection at home.

The restaurant is open daily and offers a wide choice of food even if it’s a little bit more expensive than downtown. There is something for anybody on the menu. Nobody will leave hungry.
Additionally the resort offers a weekly cooking class in the restaurant where you can learn how to cook thai food. This is complementary for the guests.
Also free is a 15 minute Thai massage for every guest. The massage can be described as “sensational”. After that usually you will order another longer massage because you will acquire a taste. The staff is very professional and they will take care about personal specialities like a disc surgery.
The services are completed with a small ‘play-room’ where you can find some entertainment things like a pool billard table which can be used for free too.


And now to the really important point of this review: the staff of the resort.

If there would be a star rating for the staff, we would give them six stars, the kindness would be at least seven stars.
In every situation you can feel that the staff is working with joy. Sometimes you could have the feeling that they can read your mind. Every request was met without compromise at breathtaking speed.
Even in exceptional situations the staff always has a listening ear and support to the guests to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The staff is wearing the slogan “..... with love’ on their back. And you can feel this anywhere at any time.

We (from room ‘saam see song’) would like to take this review as an opportunity to say ‘kop khun kha’ ‘kop khun krap’ especially for the delicious ‘get-well-soup’, the private shuttle to the hospital, the fruit basket and the Oolong tea.
We never enjoyed such a hospitialty and kindness so far.

After the first few days back home we have withdrawal symptoms. We highly recommend the resort for everybody who is searching for a quiet and luxurious resort where service is offered in a perfect way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tripmagnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

This is probably the most mixed I have felt about a hotel before. I usually write short reviews but going the distance for this one.

First....
We will definitely return to Mantra again... The hotel and staff will make your trip to Samui a truly enjoyable experience. They are, in Thai fashion, very nice and accomdating...but they go a step beyond and interact quite a bit with the guest. Mantra and its staff have a lot of personality (silly and fun)...you can see that they enjoy working with each other and it makes your experience that much better. Our favorites were Boo, Tae, Man, Nut, and Esty...

The food all around is good and consistent. Breakfast got old after a few days, so a bit more variety would help but it was very tasty. The view is AMAZING and to all the reviewers that complained about the hill and road....You aren't goin to get this type of view 5ft above sea level...the Buggies (golf carts) do just fine on the hills (just hold on to the bars..the review that said you have to jump out of the cart before it hits the top is rediculus....)...the buggies are prompt when called upon. The hill on the way up to the resort is a bit of a climb but all the cars, motorbikes and vans made it up there just fine!

As for the rooms... My opinion is that the cozy rooms above the pool have the best view. All of the rooms are big.....so I would pick based on view and not size. The gym is large, the spa services good but not plentiful. Prices are affordable and reasonable.... But I know we still paid far more per night than others staying at the hotel.... Do a bit of research before booking.

Getting into town was not an issue...and honestly you do not want to stay in chaweng unless you are 23, single, want a dirty beach and club music all night. Should note, though, that Chaweng may have been the most beautiful beach on the island till the ruined it with over tourism... If you are staying in Chaweng pick the Buri Rasa or a hotel more south of the strip.

Now for the not so good.... It is the jungle so they have a little insect problem (cockroaches)... They use an ecologically friendly method to getting rid of them, so when they spray in one area the insects go to another. We brought this up to management and they were incredibly apologetic and moved us right away.

Pool is small and loungers are scarce because of the limited area... This is probably the biggest issue. There is a sun deck, but people want to lay out next to the pool, not on a hot sun deck.

All-in-all...what this hotel is....is a great, fun, and cheeky higher-end boutique resort with a absolutely stunning view. What it isn't is a five star resort. Based on other reviews I see that the manager touts it as such and it isn't. To be a five star you would need far more amenities, a more expensive price tag, a few more restaurants, a much bigger and elaborate pool(especially without a beach) and a more stuffy staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MBOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The mantra is a hotel offering 5 star accomodation that says it caters to family's. I'm not convinced, the children's play facilities are minimal at best with a pool area so confined with a limited amount of area around it all filled by day beds. Any splashing around the pool might soak a patron lazing in the sun.
The views the mantra prides itself on in every room, impressive for most, except for the grand rooms that due to safety reasons they are on the ground level. Our outlook is on the back wall of the rooftop sun bed area. Our other room has a view of the roof tops of the buildings in front and If you look beyond this water views. This is a far cry from some of the uninterrupted spectacular views offered to other rooms.
The staff are friendly and accommodating and the food here while expensive is of good quality. The coffees are good quality, expect to pay 150 Baht each, around $5 Australian, too expensive, as for the coffee machines in each room, what they don't tell you is it costs 80 baht each to make your own and there is no milk in the rooms. That being said coffees are included in the breakfasts, so make the most of them!
Yes the mantra is a nice resort but a bit out of the way for family's with children who need a convenient base. The shuttle service is good just a little too infrequent for the return trips. Also there is only one restaurant, just called different names. Breakfasts were included and great quality but at other meal times the restaurant is empty with patrons going elsewhere to eat with better value.
Overall I will have fond memories of our stay at mantra and would recommend it to others, if you want views don't get the Grand rooms as they are on the ground floor especially room 207 and 208 as they are situated behind a wall.
I would also like to see management make non smoking around the pool as some smokers don't hesitate to light up next to small children or other people in close proximity.

Room Tip: Grand rooms for family's are on ground floors, if you want a great view don't get these espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Mantra Samui Resort for three nights, and we were very happy with our stay. At first, I was a little hesitant at first, as we are Starwood Preferred Guests, and only stay at Starwood hotels, but due to the location of le Meridien on Koh Samui, we thought we would give the Mantra a try instead.

We booked direct through the website, which was a very pain free process, and ended up saving 65% off our room rate because we booked early. A car was waiting for us at the airport, and took us straight to the resort. The check in process was quick and easy, and we were whisked away to our room (the Love room) by golf cart.

I was a little dissapointed by the room when I first saw it, as it didn't seem as luxurious as what we are used to, but the bed was soft and very comfy, and they had a selection of pillows that even I found one I was happy with (I am very fussy!) Decor and furnishings were modern and in good condition, and the amenities were also high standard and plentiful. The shower was hot all the time, and had great water pressure. With regards to the room, my only negatives would be there is no aircon in the bathroom, so it gets very hot and stuffy after a shower, and the jacuzzi is on the front balcony, which provides no privacy (I thought it might be at the rear of the room, but it is in view for all to see!)

We ate at the restaurant every day we were there. The food is amazing! They better not get rid of their chef, because everything we ate, we enjoyed! Breakfast was excellent, with a lot of food varieties and plenty of food to fill up even the biggest of appetites. We ordered omlettes and pancakes every morning to go with the rest of the hot buffet. It is worth staying at this resort just for the brekky! Food is very well priced considering it is a resort (obviously you can get it cheaper in town, but if you are looking to spend a few relaxing days at the resort, it has all you need). On the Thursday night, they offer a traditional Thai buffet with a Thai dance. The food was amazing, but quite expensive. Staff at the restaurant were very friendly, but often did not understand basic English, and it took a while to get our order in! That would be my only negative about the restarurant, otherwise, loved it!

The resort facilities were very good, and clean. They have the pool that looks over the ocean and mountains, and it is beautiful to sit in there and sip a cocktail, enjoying the view! There are not many day beds by the pool though, so if you want a good spot, get there early! We did not use the gym, but it was very spacious and well equiped. The spa is beautiful, and we enjoyed a full body scrub, wrap and massage, and were very pleased with our massage therepists (the best massage I have ever had, definately recommend). Although it is much more expensive to use the resort spa over the street spas in town, I think the service you get far outweighs the cost.

Staff at the resort are what makes this place special. Everyone we met was extremely kind and went out of their way to help us. They would zoom up and down the hill in their golf carts to bring up anything we asked for, and we never had to wait long. Reception staff organised dinner and other restaurants, and island tours for us, as well as organising taxis, etc. We did not have to lift a finger, and we were never felt like we were asking too much. Another bonus is that the resort offers free drinking water to the rooms daily (and it is unlimited), which was great considering we were going through so much because of the heat!

The resort offers a shuttle bus into Chaweng and to Bophut. It is quite a way from the town and on top of a big hill (beautiful views). We loved the location (less people, very secluded), and had no problems getting around, but if you don't want to rely on taxis or like to walk places, then this place probably isn't for you. A taxi into Bophut will cost 300TBH and into Chaweng is 500 - don't pay any more than this! The shuttle bus service is very good, but there are not enough services running, and they are not at very convenient times. This is one area they could improve on, as it gets quite expensive paying for taxis all the time if you are going in and out of town. The road into the resort is very bumpy and is in desparate need of repair, which is why taxis charge so much, but don't let the road in fool you!

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay, and will be staying there again (maybe in a different room!) Thank you to all the staff for making our stay absolutely amazing!

Room Tip: Rooms up the top of the resort have the best view, but it is further to walk to reception and the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the "Cozy Suite" of the hotel for one week and it was very stylish with Thai decor, clean and modern. The room is overall, very comfortable and roomy with FREE Wi-Fi and Internet. The hotel also has FREE scheduled bus shuttle to take you into town/beaches. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The pool is fantastic and located near the restaurant, so you can order cocktails and food to have there if you desire. Would definitely come back here again and highly recommended this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Fantastic place for couples and family, the restaurant has terrific breakfast selections, but lunch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cool066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The reason this hotel is built so high into the hills is to boast views of Koh Samui, and without that beautiful view, this hotel wouldn't be getting a high rating from me. The view aspect of this hotel is a double ended sword, as although surroundings are breath-taking, it is a HUGE inconvenience trying to get out of this hotel and into Koh Samui. If you want explore this hotel, you have to use the golf buggy - walking isn't really an option because the hill is SO steep and the concept of steps doesn't seem to exist. This means when you want to go to the pool/restaurant/reception/anywhere outside your hotel room, you HAVE to pick up the phone and order a golf buggy, and you could be waiting a while. This hotel really needs to construct some steps and navigation for its guests would be a whole lot easier.

Apart from that major downfall, the hotel itself is quirky and comfortable. The finishes in the rooms aren't of a great standard (there was a rather large hole in the middle of our wall and no effort had been made to conceal it) but its been made to look comfortable and luxurious and they've succeeded in that. The pictures of the rooms on the website are very deceiving.

The restaurant breakfasts were to die for! Eggs benedict and eggs florantine were a favourite of mine. Cocktails here were also good, but at unusually expensive prices.

If you want a sun lounger by the pool, be sure to get up early and reserve your space. There are no where near enough sun loungers for the amount of guests in the hotel, and the management team will tell you there are additional sun loungers in a different location close to the pool, but its just not convenient enough.

When I was looking into booking this hotel, the price was set at £85 a night, however the following night it had risen to a staggering £500!! I emailed the hotel and got in touch with the manager and asked if it would be possible to have the room for £85. He kindly accepted my offer, which I was thrilled about, however on checking out, the staff had tried to rise the price of the room and I had to inconveniently fish out my emails to prove the agreed price. I certainly wouldn't have paid £500 a night and anyone that does has to be mad! Don't pay more than £120...it's not worth it, especially in Thailand!

All in all, this hotel is beautiful and i would thoroughly recommend it, but be sure to get a good price and don't expect it to look exactly like the website.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a higher standard of room for beautiful bathrooms and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex0x0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Alex0x0x,

It is very nice of you to take the time and write a review about Mantra!

I was happy to read that you had a good time and recommend it also to others!

At the same time I would be foolish not to appreciate and take your constructive comments on board to help Mantra become even better!

I believe the location of Mantra is one of our biggest advantages. People usually come to us, because they prefer the serenity that our location provides, and value the views and the calm yet cheeky atmosphere .
We are less than 10 minutes from Fisherman"s Village and around 20 from Chaweng with our complimentary shuttle (15 times a day).
We also receive a lot of positive feedback (a lot of them tough TripAdvisor reviews) for our non-stop Buggy service from people who would like to enjoy the views from a mountain without having to walk around.

I apologize for the issue with the wall in your room. The constant maintenance of our rooms is one of our most important priority and is generally applauded by our Guests. I already started to investigate what could have happened that you received a less than perfect room.

I am happy that you mentioned our prices;
We at Mantra, like a lot of hotels, all airlines and several retailers offer the best prices to people who book early. We have a reservation system that automatically adjust the prices based on our occupancy. If a certain date becomes fuller, the prices increase automatically.
We will never decrease our rates for a certain date, only increase. This way we can ensure that people who book earliest (or earlier) get the best rate. This is our way of saying "Thank you" for their advanced commitment.
Because of this I recommend for all Triapdvisor Users that when they see a price they like, they book the room immediately because our rates are changing dynamically (sometimes multiple times a day based on the booking we received).
We believe that this is the best way for us to maximize benefits for people who book early. We will never decrease our rates to guarantee the best price for the earliest bookers.A Personal Guarantee from me: if you find a rate that is cheaper than what you have booked for, we will refund you the difference.

Even so,I am very proud of my reservation colleague for showing kindness in providing you with an already expired rate.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and we share the opinion of our Egg Florentines:)
Looking forward to have you with us again!
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
4.4 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#3 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
2.5 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#18 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing