We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above the rest!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #18 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A cut above the rest!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Mantra Samui Resort for three nights, and we were very happy with our stay. At first, I was a little hesitant at first, as we are Starwood Preferred Guests, and only stay at Starwood hotels, but due to the location of le Meridien on Koh Samui, we thought we would give the Mantra a try instead.

We booked direct through the website, which was a very pain free process, and ended up saving 65% off our room rate because we booked early. A car was waiting for us at the airport, and took us straight to the resort. The check in process was quick and easy, and we were whisked away to our room (the Love room) by golf cart.

I was a little dissapointed by the room when I first saw it, as it didn't seem as luxurious as what we are used to, but the bed was soft and very comfy, and they had a selection of pillows that even I found one I was happy with (I am very fussy!) Decor and furnishings were modern and in good condition, and the amenities were also high standard and plentiful. The shower was hot all the time, and had great water pressure. With regards to the room, my only negatives would be there is no aircon in the bathroom, so it gets very hot and stuffy after a shower, and the jacuzzi is on the front balcony, which provides no privacy (I thought it might be at the rear of the room, but it is in view for all to see!)

We ate at the restaurant every day we were there. The food is amazing! They better not get rid of their chef, because everything we ate, we enjoyed! Breakfast was excellent, with a lot of food varieties and plenty of food to fill up even the biggest of appetites. We ordered omlettes and pancakes every morning to go with the rest of the hot buffet. It is worth staying at this resort just for the brekky! Food is very well priced considering it is a resort (obviously you can get it cheaper in town, but if you are looking to spend a few relaxing days at the resort, it has all you need). On the Thursday night, they offer a traditional Thai buffet with a Thai dance. The food was amazing, but quite expensive. Staff at the restaurant were very friendly, but often did not understand basic English, and it took a while to get our order in! That would be my only negative about the restarurant, otherwise, loved it!

The resort facilities were very good, and clean. They have the pool that looks over the ocean and mountains, and it is beautiful to sit in there and sip a cocktail, enjoying the view! There are not many day beds by the pool though, so if you want a good spot, get there early! We did not use the gym, but it was very spacious and well equiped. The spa is beautiful, and we enjoyed a full body scrub, wrap and massage, and were very pleased with our massage therepists (the best massage I have ever had, definately recommend). Although it is much more expensive to use the resort spa over the street spas in town, I think the service you get far outweighs the cost.

Staff at the resort are what makes this place special. Everyone we met was extremely kind and went out of their way to help us. They would zoom up and down the hill in their golf carts to bring up anything we asked for, and we never had to wait long. Reception staff organised dinner and other restaurants, and island tours for us, as well as organising taxis, etc. We did not have to lift a finger, and we were never felt like we were asking too much. Another bonus is that the resort offers free drinking water to the rooms daily (and it is unlimited), which was great considering we were going through so much because of the heat!

The resort offers a shuttle bus into Chaweng and to Bophut. It is quite a way from the town and on top of a big hill (beautiful views). We loved the location (less people, very secluded), and had no problems getting around, but if you don't want to rely on taxis or like to walk places, then this place probably isn't for you. A taxi into Bophut will cost 300TBH and into Chaweng is 500 - don't pay any more than this! The shuttle bus service is very good, but there are not enough services running, and they are not at very convenient times. This is one area they could improve on, as it gets quite expensive paying for taxis all the time if you are going in and out of town. The road into the resort is very bumpy and is in desparate need of repair, which is why taxis charge so much, but don't let the road in fool you!

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay, and will be staying there again (maybe in a different room!) Thank you to all the staff for making our stay absolutely amazing!

Room Tip: Rooms up the top of the resort have the best view, but it is further to walk to reception and the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    447
    125
    47
    14
See reviews for
245
1,060
47
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the "Cozy Suite" of the hotel for one week and it was very stylish with Thai decor, clean and modern. The room is overall, very comfortable and roomy with FREE Wi-Fi and Internet. The hotel also has FREE scheduled bus shuttle to take you into town/beaches. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The pool is fantastic and located near the restaurant, so you can order cocktails and food to have there if you desire. Would definitely come back here again and highly recommended this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Fantastic place for couples and family, the restaurant has terrific breakfast selections, but lunch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cool066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The reason this hotel is built so high into the hills is to boast views of Koh Samui, and without that beautiful view, this hotel wouldn't be getting a high rating from me. The view aspect of this hotel is a double ended sword, as although surroundings are breath-taking, it is a HUGE inconvenience trying to get out of this hotel and into Koh Samui. If you want explore this hotel, you have to use the golf buggy - walking isn't really an option because the hill is SO steep and the concept of steps doesn't seem to exist. This means when you want to go to the pool/restaurant/reception/anywhere outside your hotel room, you HAVE to pick up the phone and order a golf buggy, and you could be waiting a while. This hotel really needs to construct some steps and navigation for its guests would be a whole lot easier.

Apart from that major downfall, the hotel itself is quirky and comfortable. The finishes in the rooms aren't of a great standard (there was a rather large hole in the middle of our wall and no effort had been made to conceal it) but its been made to look comfortable and luxurious and they've succeeded in that. The pictures of the rooms on the website are very deceiving.

The restaurant breakfasts were to die for! Eggs benedict and eggs florantine were a favourite of mine. Cocktails here were also good, but at unusually expensive prices.

If you want a sun lounger by the pool, be sure to get up early and reserve your space. There are no where near enough sun loungers for the amount of guests in the hotel, and the management team will tell you there are additional sun loungers in a different location close to the pool, but its just not convenient enough.

When I was looking into booking this hotel, the price was set at £85 a night, however the following night it had risen to a staggering £500!! I emailed the hotel and got in touch with the manager and asked if it would be possible to have the room for £85. He kindly accepted my offer, which I was thrilled about, however on checking out, the staff had tried to rise the price of the room and I had to inconveniently fish out my emails to prove the agreed price. I certainly wouldn't have paid £500 a night and anyone that does has to be mad! Don't pay more than £120...it's not worth it, especially in Thailand!

All in all, this hotel is beautiful and i would thoroughly recommend it, but be sure to get a good price and don't expect it to look exactly like the website.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a higher standard of room for beautiful bathrooms and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex0x0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Alex0x0x,

It is very nice of you to take the time and write a review about Mantra!

I was happy to read that you had a good time and recommend it also to others!

At the same time I would be foolish not to appreciate and take your constructive comments on board to help Mantra become even better!

I believe the location of Mantra is one of our biggest advantages. People usually come to us, because they prefer the serenity that our location provides, and value the views and the calm yet cheeky atmosphere .
We are less than 10 minutes from Fisherman"s Village and around 20 from Chaweng with our complimentary shuttle (15 times a day).
We also receive a lot of positive feedback (a lot of them tough TripAdvisor reviews) for our non-stop Buggy service from people who would like to enjoy the views from a mountain without having to walk around.

I apologize for the issue with the wall in your room. The constant maintenance of our rooms is one of our most important priority and is generally applauded by our Guests. I already started to investigate what could have happened that you received a less than perfect room.

I am happy that you mentioned our prices;
We at Mantra, like a lot of hotels, all airlines and several retailers offer the best prices to people who book early. We have a reservation system that automatically adjust the prices based on our occupancy. If a certain date becomes fuller, the prices increase automatically.
We will never decrease our rates for a certain date, only increase. This way we can ensure that people who book earliest (or earlier) get the best rate. This is our way of saying "Thank you" for their advanced commitment.
Because of this I recommend for all Triapdvisor Users that when they see a price they like, they book the room immediately because our rates are changing dynamically (sometimes multiple times a day based on the booking we received).
We believe that this is the best way for us to maximize benefits for people who book early. We will never decrease our rates to guarantee the best price for the earliest bookers.A Personal Guarantee from me: if you find a rate that is cheaper than what you have booked for, we will refund you the difference.

Even so,I am very proud of my reservation colleague for showing kindness in providing you with an already expired rate.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and we share the opinion of our Egg Florentines:)
Looking forward to have you with us again!
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mantra overall. The highlight without a doubt was the infinity pool. We wanted to do some total relaxing for a few days - lie by the pool, read, sip cocktails and generally lap up the sun.

The pool here is spectacular. We spent hours lying on the loungers next to the crystal clear infinity pool that has the most spectacular view over the nearby coast - it also has a swim up bar section. Win.

The only 'downside' is that it is the only pool on the premises so it is not adults only, which is an option we have enjoyed at other resorts of similar standard. Luckily the children who were sharing the pool with us were well behaved and not too noisy (apart from one .... AAAAAHHHHH! What do you do?)

The rooms are comfy - I wouldn't go for a LOVE room again because you are paying for a jacuzzi that you can only enjoy in privacy if you cloak yourself with a small curtain - it is on the decking ... challenging to be 'romantic'. However the inhouse movie system was fab.

On the first night we arrived (good pick up and check in) we decided to eat at the restaurant and unfortunately we did not eat there again. The food was overpriced, small portioned and disappointing. The breakfast was good once we figured out not to order poached eggs which tasted mostly of vinegar. A good chef should be able to produce one without that sour note :) Barista coffee was good, and there were plenty of options for breakfast but again, it was a little underwhelming.

There is a shuttle service to Chewang and Bophut - they could do with more around dinner time. I suppose they want you to eat in, which we would have happily done if the food was better.

We didn't mind being 'away' from Bophut a little because the view was so glorious at the pool, but consider this when making your booking.

Travel safe....

Room Tip: The view is better the higher you are - but note you'll have to walk up a steep hill (good exerc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QMochalatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doonan, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just stayed at the Mantra for my birthday in September. This is the first time we have visited Koh Samui. We stayed in the "Love" suites which had excellent views and amenities. The staff were very switched on, helpful and obviously very happy in their job. We are pleased to see that there will be another 2 restaurants opening shortly which will probably provide some alternate choices. We thought the breakfast was fresh and adequate, good to not see the big buffett style breakfasts which a lot of goes to waste. We hired a car which I think you need if you don't want to rely on the shuttle. My only down comment is is that the wooden furniture in the suites needs attention ie the laquer seems to be coming off.

Room Tip: Perhaps the lower floors as is very steep climb if you have a bit of a problem with walking etc(alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Our family of five enjoyed this resort. We loved the views, ambience and friendliness of the staff.
It is "off the beaten track" and you are reliant on the hotel's free shuttle which needs to be more frequent.
However it is easy to hire a car (1600 thb a day) or a cab is 300 to Bophut or 400 to Chaweng.
We feel you definitely need a car at least part of the time.
Overall we loved our time at the Mantra - fabulous views and pool and a relaxing vibe.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmwalker67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

we arrived at the mantra a day ago, all the great reviews are right, this place is amazing the service is of the highest standard. we are currently staying in the love room 131 the view is breathtaking, we still have 24 nights left and can't wait to enjoy what else the mantra has for us... we already don't want to leave!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydazoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,077 reviews
5.5 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#14 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing