We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #18 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in the world!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

When you arrive at Mantra Samui Boutique Resort, you will be greeted by smiling Thai staff members who whisk away your luggage, usher you to a plush sofa, present you with a fragrant, cool washcloth, and serve you refreshing, sweet tea. First impressions are everything and, although Mantra only opened this October, they certainly know how to impress.

It’s difficult to chose your room type as they all have unique aspects. The Wow rooms are enormous and include a kitchenette. Our Love room showcased an expansive balcony with a grand Jacuzzi, sun bed, and stunning views of Koh Samui’s coastline. In addition, the room included a large gong to rouse your loved ones from slumber– this was our favorite feature! Our Cozy room boasted a homey atmosphere and had an even more exquisite view of Koh Samui’s coastline and the resort’s infinity pool. Finally, the Grand rooms keep families comfortable with separate living spaces, two bathrooms, and two kitchenettes.

Ubuntu Restaurant features stunning panoramic views of the sea and infinity pool while serving international and Thai cuisine. Our accommodations included a full breakfast which consisted of freshly blended juices, tea/coffee, assorted breads with jam, fresh fruit (pineapple, papaya, dragon fruit, and watermelon), cereal, and your choice of egg or pancake. We loved the pancake that was drizzled with warm, sweet banana, pineapple, or mango sauce. Absolute heaven!

During our eleven-day stay, the international (Italian) and Thai selections remained the same each day. An entrée ranged from $10- $25 USD, which was slightly higher than establishments of the same caliber located in Fisherman’s Village; however, considering Mantra is a 5-star resort, the prices were reasonable. Our favorite entree was the chicken cashew nut—the chicken was moist and succulent and the sauce (with its delicious cashews) was mild, yet incredibly flavorful. As for the Italian menu items, we also liked the buffalo cheese ravioli and homemade pasta. For dessert, we indulged in Ubuntu’s warm chocolate soufflé served with vanilla ice cream. It was delectable. We highly recommend dining at Ubuntu even if you aren’t staying at Mantra.

Mantra’s infinity pool is a show stopper. With stunning views of the Gulf of Thailand and the nearby island of Koh Phangan, you won’t want to venture too far. You can lounge on a sun bed, sip a cocktail at the swim up bar, or take a dip in the silky, smooth water. If heaven had a pool, this would be it.

At Mantra, you can enjoy a Thai or oil massage to unwind and relax. We tried both massages and unlike massages that we’ve had in the past, we felt invigorated and refreshed as opposed to exhausted and sluggish.

Mantra provides a shuttle to Fisherman’s Village or Chaweng Beach in the morning and afternoon. The only drawback of the shuttle is that the latest pick-up time from these locations is 5 pm. This means that you will need to find alternative transportation (i.e. taxi) back to the hotel if you want to enjoy dinner or an evening out. We also found that it’s best to notify reception an hour in advance to schedule your shuttle departure time.

The Mantra Samui Boutique Resort is one of the finest 5-star resorts that we have had the pleasure of experiencing. The staff is friendly, helpful, and full of smiles. If something isn’t right or the way you would like it, they will make sure your needs are met. Our only recommendation for Mantra is to consider adding more entertainment options, especially in the evening. Although Mantra is not a beach resort, you’ll be so captivated by this beautiful paradise that you won’t want to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms here are amazing-- to get the best view, try to get one of the upper level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CreateYourOwnPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    447
    125
    47
    14
See reviews for
245
1,061
47
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Me and my partner had booked the love room and stayed in from late june to early july, for five days, and we got the one at the very top, close to the restaurant and just across the fitness centre. upon arrival, we were greeted by the staff with fresh juice and cold wet towels, which was welcome, considering the heat! our room wasn't ready yet, so the staff kindly placed us in one of their demo rooms, which still had the comfort of any other love room save for the tv/computer, while our room was still being prepared. we rested and soon enough our room was ready, whereby we were escorted up the hill by their golfcarts (yes, be prepared, it is quite a steep climb!) along with our luggage. we had lunch at the ubuntu restaurant too, and we had the mushroom soup and pizza and mini burgers which were delicious ! fairly pricier then normal thai food, but the quality was good. the fitness centre was also great, very modern and had a huge array and variety of equipment- we wanted to play squash too, my partner and i, so we called up the staff, and they sent someone over to us and found the racquets except sadly one of the racquets were broken so we couldn't play :(

another problem we came across was they had issues with the channels on the tvs, where we couldn't watch some specific channels and apparently it wasn't just our room experiencing it, though that was fixed within a day.

in terms of location its rather remote and further away from everything but its only like a 10 min walk to get down the hill and at the bottom there's a family mart if you need anything like snacks or toiletries or small things, similar to a 7 eleven. Plus in the case you want more of a 'getaway' and want a quieter area, staying at mantra would be the place. also the views are amazing, and thats only something you can get being on top a hill. the infinity pool is amazing as well, very relaxing.
The shuttles are also a great extra, which take you to fisherman village and chaweng, but beware on some occasions there'd be quite a few taking the shuttle back to the resort but not enough room, so some people were left behind and the driver would have to come back to pick them up- not a great thing if it starts raining!
I would really like to commend the shuttle services though, and the drivers, not only for their skills in getting up the hills, which can be treacherous, especially at night and its raining and visibility is very low, but also for their flexibility- one girl needed to get something from a particular shop that was on the way to chaweng, so the driver dropped her off and told her that he'd pick her back up on his way back to the resort- also i needed to go to the hospital and there was one on the way and the driver dropped us off there and came back and even waited for us! so they were very much going beyond in terms of their services. the staff's attention to detail and personalising of services were highly appreciated. prior to coming over to koh samui i emailed them about organising a shuttle to the airport when we'd be checking out and forgot about it, but the day before we were due to check out, one of the staff approached me and wanted to reconfirm that we'd need a shuttle to the airport, which is by the way, free! they even provided a little breakfast bag for us to take with us because we were leaving at 6 am and had no time to have one last breakfast (which by the way, is the best breakfast by far compared to all the other places i stayed at while in thailand- you can expect excellent iced coffee and eggs benedicts- though the pancakes were a littlle dry and hard)
little touches here and there, with little lollies and messages they'd leave for us and the way they'd make our Beds evryday, shaped in hearts or swans, were also appreciated!
All that for the amount we spent for our stay at mantra? great value for money! highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnatrnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed for 1 week on a voucher deal, and found the stay gorgeous with a few let downs pushing our rating to a solid 4/4.5 not 5.

Positives
1. View is amazing, because the hill is so high you get a lovely view of Bophut and surrounding reefs, beaches and even incoming storms.. Magnificent.
2. The Cozy Room that we stayed in, is insanely large, with 2 TV's, a day bed, computer supplied and super comfy bed.
3. Lots of free shuttles to surrounding areas since the resort is quite remote.
4. Little things: Reception service brilliant, cool Pool table, great Gym, nice pool area and funny quotes everywhere.

Negatives
1.The main restaurant by the pool was absolutely woeful in our case. On FOUR separate occasions we had to send back food that was poorly cooked and sent out none the less. We're by no means snobby, and I haven't sent back anything at restaurant in my life before this trip. But raw scrambled eggs, blackened hot dog buns, completely undercooked noodles and "mild" green curry, in which we explicitly asked for 1 chilli came back full of chillies and the waitress' response was to laugh in our face. Having had Phad Thai over 20 times in this trip alone it was clear that the Mantra does not know how to cook noodles. Both managers approached me repeatedly and gave me my noodles for a second time with a smug "from our executive chef" as if his knowledge surpasses Buddha himself, again the noodles were hard and inedible. I'll stick to my 60 baht street Phad Thai thanks. It seems like a small thing but in a hotel claiming to be 5 stars every event they run feels like their first try. Their dinner buffet is too dark to see what is available, with epically slow service and inattentive staff, that mutter in Thai directly in front of you, laughing at you, changing from amicable to dismissive if questioned which is unacceptable in this kind of establishment.
2. Shower looks impressive but is impossible to control the temperature with flashes of boiling hot or freezing cold a constant theme. And the bath takes nearly 1 hour to fill due to the use of "water saving taps" which in a bath is not necessary.
3. Need to extend the pool area, at any time in the day all the beds are taken with towels of people who may or may not be present. Staff need to keep an eye on the pool and remove old towels from sun beds to keep the space free.
4. The place is remote and although there are shuttles, they should look into rescheduling the timing, because fisherman's village in particular has night markets and the drop off and pick up times are too early by about an hour or two.
5. The computer supplied is some sort of fancy operating system that is interesting but doesn't work at all and would foreign to most guests.

The common theme with this resort is an attempt to be lavish and luxurious, but in our stay it came up short because of a few poorly mannered staff (particularly chefs), and pretentious room fittings that look fabulous but fail to work as needed.

Despite the criticism of the hotel these things seemed to melt away in the beauty of the location, and we had a great time, but the manager himself asked for constructive criticism so here it is.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomkeyBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

It was a perfect honeymoon gateway. We stayed for 5 days, and the experience was priceless.
The Love oasis room is a must for couples, especially with the jacuzzi on the terrace. The room is quite big. The breakfast was one of the best that we had, very refreshing. The infinity pool is just awesome, quite and a nice place to relax and chill with your loved ones. I am definitely coming back to this place. I love the view and the service was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruben g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I took my wife there for her 30th birthday and from the luxury SUV airport pick-up, jacuzzi on the balcony, the views, the fantastic service, to the magnificent room, the Mantra Resort did not disappoint. The Mantra staff including (Robert -GM) go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is memorable. Throughout the entire stay, the staff make you feel welcome.

The Resort:
The hotel is on a hill away from the busy Fishermans village and Chaweng. However, using the courtesy shuttles, or rented motorbike everything that you could see, do and need are within 30 minutes or less. And yes, there is a steep hill that runs through the resort, however, the hotel provides buggies to shuttle you around.

Our Room: Very comfy and hard to leave.
We stayed 8 nights in the LOVE room. The room was very nice, spacious and well decorated. The balcony jacuzzi and the MASSIVE BEAN BAG for lounging/tanning were great. The room has LCD TV, free internet, free international calls (we used to call our family back home), great mini bar, and awesome shower. With 30+ degrees on some days, we found it difficult to leave our jacuzzi, or comfy bean lounge.

The Facilities: Exceeded expectations
Although we did not use the pool, it did look great. We did however use the fitness gym, and yoga classes. The gym is all brand new high end Life Fitness and Hammer Strength equipment. I mean this place had better cardio machines and equipment than some Fitness Firsts in Sydney. In addition, there is a spa, steam rooms, free water, towels, and laundry service.

The restaurant provided a hearty breakfast (included in stay so DO NOT PAY Expedia extra). Our other meals were very good quality and we loved the pizza. Not to mention having one of the Hungarian chef bake my wife a Zserbo cake for her birthday and the staff, Robert and his wife come to sing happy birthday to her.

Having traveled extensively with my wife, and been to some great places in the Caribbean, Europe, Canada and US, the Mantra Samui Resort will forever be in our Top 3 hotels for quality, service and overall experience. Definitely 5*. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Csaba F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Csaba,

I would like to say a big thank you for writing a detailed review and for your kind words. I am very happy that you had a great time with us and it is great to read that you enjoyed the birthday cake. We are looking forward to have you back with us! Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The staff at this hotel were lovely and always happy to help. Always a buggy service to help get you from your room to reception (its on a steep hill). The location is a little far away, you're looking at at least 500baht taxi ride to get from the main parts of the island (chaweng beach and fishermans village), so we hired scooters from the hotel to get around. Breakfast was average. Was a nice peaceful place to stay for our last week in Thailand but a little far from all the nightlife and shops.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renaes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

+s
- great staff
- great pizza
- great breakfasts
- cool rooms.
- cool features like massive movie selection in rooms, movie theater, yoga etc...
- funky concept

-s
- kids club not staffed
- baby sitting only for over 4's
- a little up in the hills and remote for some

generally a great place that i would certainly stay again if the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alongcommute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,077 reviews
5.5 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#14 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing