We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Samui Resort
Nearby Hotels
$679
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$135
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peace Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$89
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$111
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bo Phut Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$196
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$153
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
$192
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hansar Samui Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$173
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tongsai Bay(Bophut)
$433
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,888)
Filter reviews
1,888 results
Traveler rating
1,214
476
133
51
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,214
476
133
51
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslove roomsteep hillinfinity poolwow roomsshuttle serviceshuttle busesyoga classesfree shuttlegolf buggiesocean view roomour honeymoonfisherman's villagethe main roadlarge balconybreakfast was amazingrent a scooterbophut beach
Filter
Updating list...
1,558 - 1,563 of 1,888 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is a crisp contemporary purpose built resort with all luxuries included from the double outside bath to the toothbrushes supplied every comfort has been thought about.
We were slightly dubious prior to booking this hotel as there were very limited reviews and the pictures seemed too good to be true, even the many emails, that we sent prior to booking were answered quickly and professionally by either Robert or Esther.
After the journey up the hill, upon checking into the hotel the staff were so kind and friendly we were at ease immediately before being whisked to our room by an electric buggy!
Our love room was very luxurious with everything you needed from coffee machine to condoms! with wonderful views over the bophut shoreline from our jacuzzi bath on the patio!!!
The managers Robert and Esther were always on hand around the complex, mainly in the restaurant working with the smiling staff assisting, liaising, serving clients with such efficiency and professionalism.
A truly great experience thanks to

them and their great team.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivordoodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Dear Ivordoodah,

I would like to thank you on behalf of all of us for your kind words. My colleagues and I work very hard to make sure that all our Guests have a great experience in Mantra. Your kind words just gave us a big dose of energy and happiness. It is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We arrived at koh samui airport expecting a pickup which was not there we do think this may have been our own fault however as it's a new hotel the taxi drivers do not know where it is so after a little while the taxi managed to ring about and find where it is. We had booked it understanding it was in bo phut so we were concerned when the taxi started bringing us up the mountains. This hotel is set up the mountains and the road is not suitable to walk down so you will have to get taxis everywhere they do have a shuttle to the beach but we never used it as it seemed like such a chore . On arrival we expained we were disappointed with the location and that the hotel seemed very quiet. The next morning at breakfast the manager made it his business to find us to see if we were happy or if there was anything he could do. This we thought was very impressive and we decided to stay the views are amazing and it is a very
friendly hotel and the staff do try to help but the language barrier is a major issue I have travelled in Asia a lot and have stayed in koh samui so I was surprised that so many of the
staff simply did not understand English they tried but it was difficult for them. The food here is
okay but it is far too limited the breakfast buffet is small they use the same ingredients in
everything so it's likely if you don't like something it will feature in every meal so you will be
very limited. There is one fresh juice every morning and for 10 days It was some combination
of pineapple as I don't like pineapple this meant no juice.... There is no alternative although If you push it you can buy orange juice... At a five star I would expect a more varied selection of
food. Again lunch is limited too we understood there was a different burger of the day but for
a full week it was fish burger so no one could have any other choice of burger, these may
seem rediculous reasons to be unimpressed with Mantra but to me its these things that make
the star rating. The amenities such as shower caps are not replaced unless you ask for them
again a silly over sight for a 5 star hotel. This hotel is trying to cater for all people I think it
should concentrate on a segment of the Market and do it well. It is totally unsuitable for
children there are steep steps to all rooms and the kiddies pool is not separate from the
adults pool I watched parents of a three year old on tender hooks the whole time it was no
holiday for them. The pool area is very slippery also.The restaurant and bar is very quiet at
night but I think this is cause the menu is the same as at lunch so people leave to get a
choice of food. The yoga classes are excellent the teachers are very good and they cater for
all levels they will even give options of difficulty in the classes which is great. The gym is open
24 hours with good equipment and they wash your gym clothes which is a great idea. Sun
beds at the pool are a nightmare firstly there are not enough of them it only caters for 20
people at the main pool the " love rooms" do have their own sunloungers but people do like to
lie at the pool, it was dreadful at a 5 star hotel to see people lying on the ground, secondly
they are like large uncomfortable bean bags not suitable for lounging on at all. Overall I would
not be devastated if I had to go back to this hotel but it is a 4 star hotel and not a 5 star if you
wanted three or four quiet days in koh samui and expected 4 star service you would be happy
enough here however as I expected 5 star service I was not impressed.

Room Tip: The best rooms as I would see are the cozy rooms and 224 is probably the best room.... Avoid room 223 as there is a pump under it and it makes noise all night long
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MBIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Users,
I truly believe that tripadvisor is one of the best things that happened to hospitality. The reviews help us find out areas where we need to improve and provide everybody a chance to express their opinion.
I understand the opinions are personal and that feelings cannot be questioned. At the same time this review has so many fallacies that I feel it is my duty to inform our future Guests about the misrepresentations in this review:
As a five star hotel we provide complimentary airport transfer to all our Guests. All we ask is that our Guests send us their flight details. Despite exchanging 19 emails we were not informed about the Guest’s arrival time. If we would have known the arrival time our driver would have been at the airport with an IPad in his hand with the Guests name displayed.
The Mantra buffet table includes a wide selection of fresh fruits: papaya, rose apple, banana, watermelon, yellow watermelon, cantaloupe, pineapple, dragon fruit and banana from a neighboring garden, plus an additional 2 fruits that are changed daily.
Our pastry chef and his team freshly prepares every day –we do not use frozen products- a selection of 6 type of breads, 4 type of baguettes, 2 types of rolls, 3 type of bagels, 2 type of cakes, croissants and 3 type of doughnuts.
We also provide home smoked duck breast, home cured salmon prepared by our chef, not bought from outside. In addition we always have a top quality beef, duck and pork cold cuts.
We serve 3 different fresh salads different every day. Usually the favorite is the cold watermelon and mozzarella salad.
Our cereal bar includes 13 types of dried fruits, weetabix, 4 different muesli mixes (mixed by us) and 4 types of cereals.
Because we love yogurts we offer 1 unsweetened, 2 flavored (of course flavored by us) yogurts in addition to our home made Bircher muesli.
In addition to this buffet our Guests can order fresh eggs: omelet, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, eggs Benedictine, eggs Florentine and eggs Royal. These are all ordered a la carte and prepared a la minute. This means that there is no need to stand in line in Mantra.
On request the kitchen is happy to provide Asian breakfast as well.
We offer fresh coffee that is made one by one by our trained baristas. This means that fresh cappuccino, cafe latte, black coffee and espresso is available using the highest quality illy coffee to all our guests for no extra charge. Of course these coffees can al be requested with full fat, skimmed and soy milk.
For tea we use the highest quality roennefeldt loose leaf tea which no other five star hotel serves for breakfast.
Every day we serve a different fresh fruit juice mix. Sometimes it is beetroot and pineapple sometimes it is squash and carrot, other times it is watermelon and ginger. The day before the Guests departure we were informed that the Guest does not like pineapple, and our bartenders made sure that Guest received a different juice (mango orange and mint) because on that day the fresh fruit juice mix included pineapple. If we would have been informed earlier we would have happily made sure that the Guest receives a different juice in case there is pineapple involved.
Fish burger was advertised on our blackboard, but during the Guest’s stay, chicken, beef and lamb burger was also available.
We make a continuous effort to protect the fragile environment of Koh Samui, where recycling is still a big problem. Because of this we try to limit the amount of plastic we use and therefore replace shower caps only on request. In our short existence this has helped us to save approximately 1680 shower caps from ending up on landfills. Of course if someone asks we are happy to provide shower caps even on multiple occasions per day.
Similar practices guide all our housekeeping efforts, for example we only change sheets and towels every day when our Guests indicate it. By changing towels only every second day we save 300 liter of water per day per room.
We have had many couples with children and have not received any complaints regarding the safety of our hotel children from people who actually visited us with children.
Our hotel is built using furniture sourced from Thailand created by Thai designers. The 2 meter by 2 meter bean bag beds by the pool are the favorite for most of our Guests. So much so that 2 of them have already placed an order with the award winning Thai designer from whom we bought the beds.
We agree that our poolside area is not big enough to fit the entire hotel. We have known about the issue and have already ordered – in October- an additional 35 daybeds to be placed on the roof top of our squash courts which will be a tanning terrace with a very funky shower. Sadly due to the floods in November the delivery is only expected in mid to late January. In addition 38 of our rooms have large private terraces with Jacuzzis and the giant daybeds.
Adding to the above mentioned facilities, we have 2 squash courts, a Salt Yoga room with a wall built from 4 tons of Himalayan salt bricks, a spa, a state of the art fitness center, a small movie theater, a lovely restaurant with a wood burning pizza oven, an upside down children play room and an adult play room with a pool table and a video games.
All our rooms have: an Illy espresso machine in every room, a mini pc with thousands of complimentary movies and gigabytes of music, an IPod docking station, a flat screen tv, complimentary WiFi & broadband internet and a unique design.

We believe that this deserves five star.
Dear MBIRE,
I would like to thank you for your praise of our Yoga teachers and I am really happy that you have enjoyed the classes. The point about the noisy pump is sadly correct. We expect the new pump to be delivered on the 4th of January and it will be changed immediately.
I am sorry if it has caused inconvenience. Should I have known about the issue I would have happily arranged a move to another room.
I would like to thank you for your stay and wish you the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Mantra is trying hard to deliver an upmarket resort experience but it doesn't quite hit the mark. The main problem is the poor design of the hotel, with all the rooms accessed from staircases. When combined with the insanely steep road that links the accommodation to the pool and restaurant,this makes for a really unpleasant environment. There are no steps between reception and the rest of the resort so you either have to slog up the concrete roadway or hitch a lift in one of the hotel golf buggies. Fun to start with but rapidly becomes annoying. The hotel is a long way from the beach, which it makes no secret of, but keep in mind there are only a few shuttles a day and you can feel a bit trapped up on the hillside.

The place has great north-facing views of the sea and the restaurant is pleasant enough. Decent pool and amazing gym. There are far better resorts around the island for a similar price, often with direct access to the beach.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms right next to the access road as everyone can see straight into your room. Try and get a room higher up the resort although be prepared for lots of staircases!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Getafix_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2012

Dear Getafix_on_tour,

I would like to thank you for taking the time and writing a review of our hotel and your compliment about our Fitness Facilities is much appreciated.

You review brings up a very important point:

We are located on a beautiful hill and this is the only reason why you can enjoy the amazing view from all our rooms, the pool with our submerged sunbeds, the spa, the children play room, the Himalayan salt yoga room and the fitness center. The fact that we are on a hill makes the use of steps (never more than 3 floors) necesary.

When assigning rooms we always take into consideration the requests of our Guests and should you have let me know I would have happily moved you to a room located on a lower floor and closer to either the reception or the pool. We do this for all our Guests and we would have done gladly for you as well.

Our buggies and drivers are at the service of our Guests 24 hrs a day and our colleagues are very happy to take Guests around our property so people who prefer not to walk can access all our facilities conveniently.

Regarding shuttles:
We provide 6 complimentary shuttles every day both to Bophut and Chaweng. I would like to highlight that no other hotel on Koh Samui (even in similar location) provides such a service free of charge.

I would like to inform all our future Guests that in an effort to provide a more seamless access to Bophut we decided that we are going to provide 10 shuttles a day, a service which we are going to implement from the beginning of February.

The reason we created this hotel is that we would like to provide a place where Guests coming to Koh Samui can have an amazing exeprience. I am sincerely sorry that the unhidden fact that we are on a hill prevented you from enjoying your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I came with my boyfriend to Samui for organization ouer Wedding in march 2012. We find the hotel at home in the internet..and we choose ist because of the price and quality. So we try it and we start to love it. At the airport the stuff look very modern with the help from an ipad at us and picked us with a jeep up to the hills. There we saw the amazing view over the ocean - very beautifull. We also liked ouer room - very big and comfortable with a wonderfull view. At the room we have free internet, so we can also work or look for things at Samui. The breakfast was like a big brunch and very, very good and healty. I loved the coffe spezialitates, the eggs spezial and the fruits very much. Also the dinner at lunch or in the night was the best, i ever taste in Thailand - we also try the roomservice ist was also top!We did also fitness in the hotel...the fitnessroom is also very new with TV - flats, water, everything you need and an ozeanview! The next time we want to try the yoga class with salt :-) One evening we were also in the hotel cinema and looked an english film..very funny :-) I loved the pool, because it is very big and you can real swim in it.The Stuff was very friendly and helpfull.We com back in february 2012 with ouer family and friends for ouer wedding at Samui.The Personal Assistance helped us very much with the wedding organization...we think it will be amazing. THANK YOU MANTRA!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Dear Julia,

It was very nice to have you with us! Wannisa's Friends are of course Mantra Friends and we can not wait to see you and your Family again very soon! The next time you visit, there are no excuses, you will have to join our Yoga Classes, and perhaps we can also play squash:) Thank you for writing a review about Mantra! Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

"You will feel better than in your own home" that´s their purpouse and I can confirm that they did. We stayed for 4 nights, and It has been the best hotel ever. Food in restaurant was so great that we didn´t want to go out from the hotel, swimming pool, surrondings, views, and staff will make your stay perfect. If I would have to come back to Samui I will book for sure on Mantra Samui.

Room Tip: "All rooms have idilic views, impossible to hear any noise, rooms are quite well soundproof". "I would recomend LOVE room"
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alba_Diego_Fog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Dear Alba_Diego_Fog,

Thank you very much for your review and also for your nice pictures! It is great that you have enjoyed our restaurant and our pool and even greater that you were happy with our colleagues. They are really happy to hear that they contributed to your perfect stay. See you back soon! Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews