We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two words, food poisoning”
Review of The Mexican

The Mexican
Ranked #355 of 447 Restaurants in Bophut
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two words, food poisoning”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Been going for years but now that the owner of the restaurant has left everything has fallen to shambles. My whole family is ill, I do not recommend the Mexican as a restaurant more like a death wish

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanMiseroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    4
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Terrible.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Fajitas almost 1000 baht for 2 fajitas and a water. RIP OFF!!!! The food is long way to the Mexican style. Very poor meal and very expensive. Advise: get a pizza !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zerozerozerozero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

After several nights of Thai food, we fancied eating something different.Normally we enjoy Mexican food.
From the outside it looked nice & the menu was interesting.On a hot humid night it was a nice touch that the waitress ensured the fan was well positioned for us.
The meal was more expensive than many others we had. When it was served up it was very dissapppointing that the food looked like it had been sitting, possibly under lamps, since the burrito sauce had a skin on it. However the fajitas were fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happysept09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soton
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our night here”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had a great meal with family at the Mexican. There is a wide ranging food menu as well as cocktails. There are also a good range of veggie options.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynnic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocracy”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Well overpriced compared to other Mexican restaurants and small portions with nothing served I could write home about . We had some really great Mexican food in Chiang Mai and this restaurant failed to live upto expectations

Helpful?
Thank Terry252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mexican also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing