We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 out of 5,but !!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samui Honey Cottages
Ranked #112 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
ballymena,county antrim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 out of 5,but !!!!!!!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Arriving at Honey Cottages late on a tuesday night by taxi i was filled with a sense of "What have we got ourselves into".The lane was dark,the front of the resort lifeless,no atmosphere.
Checking in was hassle free,the receptionist most helpful and courteous,with a complementary liquer.We were at our rooms within 5 minutes.
Well,i was really un-impressed with the standard room.Front doors did'nt close properly,shower and toilet(all one) simply not suitable,in room safe not secure,2 coat hangers(i was here for 10 days).The room was clean but dated,the location not great.My friend Daniel in the adjoining room had the same concerns as i had.We both agreed to ask for an up-grade which was no trouble at all to the lady at reception.For an extra five thousand Baht we were both up-graded to a Superior room and what a difference.It felt like a resort room,roomy, comfortable and spotless,with t.v.,tea and coffee provided,a nice big shower room with toilet.And the location of the rooms were fantastic,room 25 for me,room 28 for Daniel.We were both,literally,20 metres from the beach,30 metres from the pool and bar.Simply Wonderful.

The bar staff were fantastic,all you would wish for while on holiday,professional,courteous,most helpful,attentive and very good humoured.Thanks to Mam,Boom Boom,New and Boom,you made our stay memorable.Your kindness will forever be remembered.
The beach is rocky in places,very safe,with para-gliding,jet ski's and banana boats.Several little barbaque stalls serving prawn,sausage,spring rolls,chicken plus an abundance of fruit are quite delicious.

As an over-all guide i would say the following.
For
1-location
2-Staff are excellent
3-house keeping staff,very attentive
4-Gardens are well maintained
5-rooms(for the price).
6-Swimming pool and Bar area(looking onto the beach)
7-Wont get better Bar staff Anywhere.

Against
1-The Lane to the resort is quite dark.
2-The bar prices are quite expensive

The owner and Manager of the resort(whose names sadly escape me)were very courteous,coming to speak to us every day,a nice personal touch,making sure everything was to our satisfaction.You dont(at least i have'nt)get that everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfrank57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed in the brand new Honey cottages. We were the first guests and had a room with a kitchette, lounge, bedroom and bathroom. Reception and the pool is still being built so this accommodation will be perfect when it is all finished. Wallop, the property general manager couldn't do enough for us. He was so helpful and nice. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and very comfortable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and vary depending on your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Traveler255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

we arrived expecting to be in a bungalow,but were put in an upstairs room.
the room was large and overall we were not too disappointed.hotel position was perfect,on the beachfront.the bar was expensive,staff were very good..
quiet location for a relaxing holiday.
i can recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

The place was very pretty. I am from the United States and am used to very nice accomodations. The Villa was attached to another Villa, but had plenty of space. It was nice, but seemed a little older and had been remodeled. They only have one TV in the common space. It isn't a flat screen either. That presented a problem as I had a 13 year old daughter, 10 year old son, and elderly parents travelling with us. My mom is native Thai and wanted to watch the news, the kids being stuck there would've wanted Movies and Videos as well. It would have also been worse had we been there for more than a day. We booked 6 days. The location was isolated. You have to have a car or some form of transportation. You will be stuck if not.
Well.... the place has marble steep stairs and slick marble floors and if the lighs aren't on, you can't see well. My 65 year old mom slipped on the first day and broke her ankle. The staff was very friendly and helpful and called for an ambulance and the owner even came to the hospital. I do feel as though he had been drinking. He was very jovial and light about the whole incident. He did say he was going to take measures to deal with the occurance. He said the staff will now turn on the lights when they do the turn down service and maybe add handrails. He said there had never been an injury like this either. But those stairs when wet are awful! They promptly moved us to the Honey Beach Cottages as per our request due to the fact there was no way my mom could deal with those stairs. They tried to get all 6 of us in one family sized cottage. I said NO, we have paid for the spacious Villa we need 2 cottages for space as we will be here for a week. They agreed. These were smaller bungalows; and again, the bathrooms were older. It wasn't as spacious, but it was on the beach. They also had a decent pool. Our Villa was paid for up front. They checked on my mom a few times, but didn't offer free breakfast or meals or anything else. The staff was friendly. The beach was quiet and calm with Thai massage huts everywhere. The corn roasted on the beach was delicious. The food was also good and the service was great. Thai people really care for you elegantly. Had I known the island better I probably would've chosen a higher end resort, but it was still a more than decent stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaiTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

It suited us perfectly. We had 10 people for a family Christmas trip so we booked both villas. There was heaps of space for everyone to relax in the sunshine, around the pool or inside on rainy days. Bedrooms were spacious and quiet (firm beds, good air con and nice pillows). The kitchen was well stocked for most meals if you choose to cook however, we really only did breakfasts - 7/11 is only a short walk and the markets just a little further for fresh provisions (eggs, fruit, etc). Tesco and Big C are approx. 20 minutes by car or scooter - Honey can organise to hire at reasonable rates. The villas are in the village of Plai Laem (just up from the the Wat and a couple of minutes from Big Buddha). There is a small beach/bay about 3 minutes walk, a short ride to a couple of larger beaches, Choeng Mon beach (shopping, restaurants, bars, etc) are 5 minutes on a scooter and Chaweng is a 15 minute drive. Choeng Mon has some wonderful restaurants and there is no real need to go into Chaweng too often. The staff are very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Negatives.... the upstairs/downstairs thing may be difficult for older people or little people, the stairs can be quite slippery. If you aren't prepared to jump on a bike or hire a car, taxis can be used but that would limit flexibility. None of these things are a problem for us and I would highly recommend a stay here, in fact, we have already booked for later this year.

Room Tip: Tara 1 is older than Tara 2 but not noticeably different. Tara 3 is almost complete but a totally d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrincessInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Samui Honey Tara Villa Residence
0.0 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Honey Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Honey Cottages

Property: Samui Honey Cottages
Address: 24/34 Moo 5, Choengmon Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Samui Honey Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Honey Cottages Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing