We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous resort in a beautiful location with friendly people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous resort in a beautiful location with friendly people!”
Reviewed October 18, 2010

There is a part of me that did not want to write a review of this resort as I want to keep it all to myself but then I realized that if I did not write about it, it might not be there when we return - which we will most definitely do.
We arrived at the Koh Samui airport at 9pm and had arranged for the hotel car to pick us up. The driver was there on time and helped load our luggage. It was a short 15 minute drive to our hotel. At check in we were asked to sit on these deep sofas and were brought delicious refreshing coconut drinks and cold towels. What a way to start our vacation.
We were escorted to our room - at our leisure which was so nice and relaxing. My husband and I were traveling with our 14 year old daughter. At booking I had requested bedding for my daughter. When we arrived in our room her bed was already there and made.
We had a beach front villa. The room was quite large with a poster king size bed, a large flat screen TV, exposed tub (too bad we had our daughter with us), a huge glass shower with rain faucet and hand held, double sinks, a nice size closet area and a large balcony.
When we woke the next morning we realized how absolutely beautiful the resort really was. Arriving at night it was so dark that we had no idea what we had in store for ourselves. Our balcony looked out onto the water and the beach. it was a beautiful sight to wake up to. The pool (where we spent most of our time) is a very large infinity pool so when you are laying out it seems the pool and the sea are one. In the pool is seating with jets which made for a very relaxing experience.
The staff at this hotel is amazing. After the first day, the guys set up our chairs for us without us even asking so after breakfast we went straight to our already set up place. Drinks and food were brought poolside for us. And they even had a mid-day happy hour with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. The staff would come to you to let you know that happy hour had begun so you did not miss out on the bargain. My daughter had a banana smoothie which was delicious. Other drinks were wonderful also.
The food at the hotel is delicious. There is a breakfast bar set up but you can also order eggs in various styles. Lunch was great also. My husband loved the ham and cheese sandwich. We did not have dinner there but the menu looked amazing. Desserts are definitely something you should try. Especially if you have them on the balcony upstairs. Beautiful view and relaxing.
On the beach in front of the hotel is a place to rent jet skis - which of course we did. And the resort is a short walk from the Fisherman's Village which has a wonderful Thai restaurant (the one in the wood building) and a delicious Italian restaurant (Villa Bianca).
Definitely take the 4 hour trip to see the amazing sights of Koh Samui even though it is difficult to tear yourself away from the resort. We had such a great time with Kit and saw some amazing and beautiful places. Plus did some shopping!!!!
There really is no way to fully describe the beauty of this place or the kindness of the staff. What I can say is that thanks to Supit, Kit and everyone at Hansar, we returned to Singapore much more relaxed and very much looking forward to our next trip to Koh Samui and Hansar as we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,739
    419
    102
    25
    13
See reviews for
395
1,380
88
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We booked Hansar Samui for our wedding anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. It is ideally located, just a short stroll into Fisherman's Village, but the resort itself gives you little reason to leave. The staff are excellent and go out of their way to help: they gave us complimentary early check in and late check out, one airport transfer and every morning brought us our favourite fruits! The hotel is set out in a C shape around the infinity pool and don't be fooled by its exterior (which is brick red), it is almost brand new and the rooms are very clean and modern. The balcony overlooks the sea which is stunning and there are few mosquitoes at night as there is limited 'shrubbery.' The hotel looks stunning by night.

The hotel restaurant (H Bistro) is amazing- try the pomelo prawn salad, the scallop with mango salsa (entree) and the seabass with chili, lime & garlic: we had 4 meals there and each was divine and reasonably priced ($120 AUD for 2 people, including one cocktail each). We were going to eat in town, but after trying some food there the first night, we ate in the hotel restaurant more than we did the town!

Happy hour is excellent value with 2 for 1 cocktails and the beach is situated right outside the hotel. The breakfast spread in the morning is not huge, however you can request them to make pretty much anything you want: omelettes, pancakes, waffles, sausages etc. which came out fresh and hot from the kitchen rather than the usual buffett where they have been sitting out for ages.

Only a few small negatives we could think of: the hotel balcony only had one chair when we arrived and we had to request a second one (which they promptly dealt with), there was no dvd player in the room (which they rectified in 10 secs!), and there are currently no beach umbrellas and deck mattresses on the beach (they are all around the pool), however once we told them we were going to the beach at breakfast, they set these up every morning.

We enjoyed going down to the market on Friday evenings (after 5pm), in Bophut: you can get satay, pad thai, cocktails ($2AUD!), tempura, spring rolls and pretty much any thai food you can think of! If you like massages, try Angel Massages (on the beach), for the equivalent of $10 AUD, you will receive an hour massage with the sounds of the waves and sea breeze blowing! We had a massage every day for the 7 days we were there!

Absolute bliss, thank you Hansar Samui and Supit, Sudirjo & A for making our trip a perfect one! We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tscwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We spent 10 days end of July 2010 in this hotel with my family , 2 adults and 2 kids (4y and 13y) and it was really wonderfull ! The Beach was clean even if the sand is not really soft like flour. The hotel is only 1mn walking from the fisherman s village, very nice !
And not really far away by taxi from the chaweng beach where you have all the noisy nightlife ! The swimming pool is quite big and we really enjoyed the jacuzzis inside the pool.
I also recommend to have a drink, lying on the beach, under the stars !! So relaxing and romantic !
I hardly recommend this hotel and hope to come back there soon !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat91130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I went to Hunsar for the first time in September 2010. I was so impressed with the decoration of the hotel. The style is very modern with touch of Asian materials together with its functionality. I fell in love with the place at first glance. My room was very nice with big screen tv and bath tub in the middle of the room, very chic. The bed and pillows were so comfy, made it's hard to get out of bed. Even though I can see the sea and swimming pool from my room. I also had big balcony where i can look out to the sea or lay down and read in my room with the sea view. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The swimming pool was big with jacuzzi also i get served with chilled drink by the pool. It was so nice.

The location was also excellent for a short time i had coming for a wknd from Bangkok. It made me feel that going to Koh Samui is not as far as i though. Hunsar really made my wknd feel special and relax.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetiteBangkokian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

This is without doubt one of the best hotels I have stayed at in over 25 years of travel. It helps that it's very new, is in a great location and has excellent people working for it. We had a beachfront room with an amazing view over the water to Koh Phangan.The faciltities in the rooms are great with a large, very comfortable bed and a balcony with day bed. The pool is definitely a major highlight though, being over 30 metres long, exceptionally clean and includes bubble jets to sooth those muscles that are sore from spending all day relaxing. It is the only 5 star hotel that is next to Fisherman's Village (which is a bit of a tourist trap with high prices and questionable food quality). It is a very relaxing place. If you like Chaweng this may not be your cup of tea, but for me Hansar you're everything I could want!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We have just returned home after 9 nights at Hansar and unlike one of the previous reviewers we cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. We too have travelled Asia and Europe extensively and often find that it is the people you meet and the experiences you gain to be the most memorabe. We found the rooms to be welcoming and more than comfortable. Add to this a spectacular setting and Fisherman's Village just a few minutes walk away with a wide range of restaurants to cater for all tastes.

We also found the Staff and Management to be caring and happy to provide whatever they possibly could to ensure we had a fantastic holiday. This included driving one of us to a hospital for treatment at no extra cost.

The meals we enjoyed at H Bar were also at the top end of the scale. Breakfast offered a wide choice and all you had to do was ask and it appeared.
We all would also say we had no difficulty communicating with any of the staff - including pool staff - and we speak no Thai.
All in all we found nothing to be "naff" and would highly recommend anyone who is seeking a relaxing and pampered holiday to stay at Hansar Samaui.

A big thank you to Supit, Noi, Ae and the rest of the team. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSL2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed in Hansar Samui for our Honeymoon and were surprised by the excellent service. Not only did we find our bed decorated with rose petals, also 5 minutes after check in we received a complimentary wedding cake in our room.
The infinity pool was stunning and the built-in jacuzzi was great as well.
Compared to other places in Thailand the english speaking and understanding capabilities of the staff were good, but still could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stylenerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
3.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#5 of 186 in Bophut
1,857 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Property: Hansar Samui Resort
Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#10 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#19 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing