We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb, wonderful, brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hansar Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
Ranked #13 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Superb, wonderful, brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is the third visit to the Hansar over the last 2 years, the first visit being in 2012 and on each occasion, it has improved, which people may find difficult to believe, but it is true. What makes this hotel so special is the staff, from Joy, Noi who greeted us on 31st March, Tiger, San, Dom, Sam, who served us so well at the pool side bar, Chat, Kob who served breakfast, and housekeeping, in fact to ALL of the staff thank you.

The hotel location, layout, where every room has a sea view, helps to make your holiday special. With 3 happy hours, where one can relax enjoying numerous non alcoholic drinks helps meeting other guests gives one the opportunity to relax. Also, the location is just a 2 minute walk to Bophut fisherman village, with a host of excellent restaurants.

Once again to the hotel staff thank you for such a very enjoyable Songkran (Thai New Year) event last Sunday it was brilliant. Ken and Ann best wishes to you all.

Room Tip: My only tip is visit this hotel, it is superb. I prefer a room on the third view for the views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,666
    395
    92
    24
    13
See reviews for
368
1,324
83
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 13 nights and had a great time we took our little girl of 4 and she loved every minute. The staff are out of this world and take every opportunity to stop and talk to you and your family on how your day has been. The pool is fantastic and most of the day you just look out to sea and day dream of when you are coming back again. I would not say it's ideal for family's but you can't have everything. One tip for people who are booking up watch out for your toes at the end if the bed must of kicked it a dozen times ouch ha but great hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonboy5478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent three nights here on our honeymoon on the last leg of a longer trip to Thailand. This is an incredible hotel right on the beachfront. We had one of the SeaView XL rooms and had requested an early checkin because our flight got in before the regular check in time. The checkin experience was quick, professional and hassle-free and the room was ready as we had requested. The room was luxurious! Comfortable bed, incredible pillows, nice big TV, the rain shower was very welcome, and the view from the balcony was amazing. Breakfast was great with lots of options, attentive staff, and great food! The hotel is also a stone's throw from the Fisherman's Village where there are some great restaurant options and the Friday night market there is a must-visit! Absolutely fantastic experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alih1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

My partner and I are stayed here for a week. There are some definite advantages to this hotel. The view from the sunlounges by the pool is amazing, and few other resorts seem to have the same beachfront location that Hansar does. The food is excellent - both the buffet breakfast and the dinner menu. We stayed in an XL room, and we loved lying on our big balcony at the end of the day and looking out over the beach. Each room comes with a beach bag and a spare set of beach towels, which is useful for exploring different beaches. The drying rack on the balcony for wet swimmers is also a nice touch.

The resort is aimed more at couples, and during our stay there were only a few families with kids. Hansar is at the end of the fisherman's village, so it is a very easy walk to the restaurants and bars in the village. The Friday night street markets are a must. Boput is much quieter than Chaweng (less of a backpacker atmosphere), although still with quite a few bars & restaurants.

However, this resort is expensive, and overall I felt it didn't quite live up to its pricetag. For example, the hot water takes a really long time to heat up; there is a limit to the number of devices you can connect to the wifi with; you are only given 2 towels and not really anywhere to hang them up to dry. The shower is open and the toilet has glass panels which allow other people to see in - so not a place to stay with someone you don't know well! None of these things are really problems in themselves, but given what we were paying to stay there I had pretty high expectations. Also, the beachside rooms aren't actually right on the beach - there is a road between the rooms and the beach, which has pedestrians and motorbikes going past fairly regularly. The other rooms are more set back from the road and overlook the pool, so I wouldn't bother paying the extra for a beachside room.

Room Tip: The beachside rooms have a road between the room and the beach. There are pedestrians, motorbikes et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emsy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel choice for our stay took forever to make, and I was absolutely right to pick this one.
The service was wonderful, all staff very present and attentive to our needs. More time was spent poolside than anywhere else, and we could not get enough!
Our room view was spectacular, and we were sorry to leave. This hotel is definitely a winner!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SquidJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Everything about our stay was handled perfectly by the attentive staff at hansar resort. From arrival we were warmly greeted and treated like royalty. In resort facilities were great along from food, our room, gym, pool the view my god the view. Hats off to the staff.. they had an amazing ability to anticipate our every need and then exceed that expectation. One little example was simple, providing water poolside to people who appeared hot without being asked. All at a very affordable price. It is a place we will come back to many times.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank jdbsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. All rooms have unobstructed beach views, decor is modern with Thai twist, large showers in the ensuite, separate toilet, toiletries are supplied, comfortable beds and excellent quality linen. The H Bistro has beautiful views particularly upstairs, and the breakfast buffet is generous. The pool has shaped seats with massaging jets and also enough space for morning laps for exercise. The gym is adequate but the yoga classes given by Sakda are the best I have ever taken. Sakda is a fantastic yogi. I recommend trialling his free Monday class before you take up further classes during the rest of the week. If the resort chooses to put more complimentary yoga classes on I would give it 6 stars. Happy hour at the bar is great - two for one drinks and I recommend the fresh mango daiquiris and tom yum cocktails. The best part is being right at the door step of the quaint fishermans village with a good range of restaurants and shopping (Friday night market is excellent) and even more reasonably priced than Bangkok and Chaweng markets. I loved staying here, the location, surrounds and service were all excellent.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Legalkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
3.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
3.8 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Property: Hansar Samui Resort
Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#9 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#19 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing