We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel - highly reccomended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
Ranked #13 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We recently stayed at Hansar Samui for 5 nights, and spent almost every one of those days luxuriating by the pool. This was our second stay at the resort, our first being for a similar amount of time, 2 years previous. What brought us back to Hansar was not only the comfort and location, but the people. Thailand is full of amazingly friendly people, and this is perfectly demonstrated at Hansar, and will be the reason we return there again and again - well that and the pool!

Firstly, while located on a very beautiful beach, this isn't a very good beach for either swimming or spending much time at. The water is sectioned off as there's lots of charter boats who use the area, and the water here is not clear (I'm not a fan of swimming in unclear water) and goes quite deep near the shore - although there still is enough shallow to play with a toddler etc. The sand is also deep and grainy - which makes it difficult and not particularly comfortable to walk on, whilst when in the water, if you dig your toes in a small amount, it's also muddy beneath - so overall not very pleasant.

The beach however is a superb backdrop for the resort - the calm water alone making you feel relaxed, with the beautiful mountains of Ko-Pha-ngan visible in the background. You'll enjoy this while spending hours upon hours in Hansar's pool. I've been to a lot of great resorts - around Thailand, Bali, Australia etc, but Hansar's pool is up there with the best - if not the best, I've ever enjoyed. It's massive - way bigger than it needs to be for the amount of guests present, is a comfortable chest-height depth, and is of an infinity design that simply looks amazing - particularly towards dusk where it looks like a perfectly still cube of water. I noticed so many people passing the hotel stopping to admire the pool. Because of this awesome pool, you simply dont need the beach. A beach dip is great, but the Hansar pool is absolutely killer.
The quality of rooms is also very comfortable. On our first visit we had a ground floor 'large' room which had a giant bath in the middle - and in this most recent visit we had the smaller room without the bath. Considering each room has a huge rainwater shower - set on a square of tiles, you really dont need the bath. It's also not really the kind of climate for a bath - particularly with such a good pool outside. The bed is comfortable, but the pillows could do with an update as they're like big formless clouds with very little substance. I asked for a firmer pillow which was better, but still left a bit to be desired. There's also a small learning curve in using the rooms 500ish power switches! There's also very little privacy from the shower to the main room (it's mostly open with strips of cloth being the main cover), and the bathroom sliding doors are partially slats - so for a couple this is fine - but if you're travelling with a friend(s), privacy could be an issue. I've noticed this in several hotels around Thailand, so it might just be a Thai thing.

The location is fantastic. Unlike Chaweng which is extremely busy and noisy (particularly with those damned trucks that drive by constantly blaring advertisements), this part of Bophut is peaceful to say the least. The beach as mentioned is still, so there's not even the sound of waves a lot of the time. It's quiet and still, and at night, Hansar lights up in such a stylish way. There's the fisherman's village a mere 5 minutes walk away, with plentiful food options, including several very good Thai food options (and plenty of western food), a great outdoor beanbag beach bar a few minutes away, plentiful massage options, both beach massage outside Hansar, and a ton of massage shops in the fishermans village itself.

It's highly recommended you stay at Hansar including a Friday night, as the fisherman's village becomes a night market, with delicious street food -and in particular, cheap street cocktails!
Hansar has a great bar area at the front of the hotel between the pool and the beach and they make not only cheap cocktails, but some of the best i've had in an Asian resort. Cocktails go hand in hand with hot humid countries and I've been let down many times by various places. Hansar's passionfruit mojito is my favourite by a mile - and it always cracks me up watching my wife eat all the brown sugar off the rim of the cup! There's 3 daily happy hours which provide 2 of the same drink for the price of 1. You can also order lunch and other drinks from this bar area which they will bring out to you by the pool. The prices are very reasonable and the quality consistently good.

Breakfast at Hansar is not bad - but is fairly standard breakfast buffet affair. Here you cant freely get things like eggs and bacon - you order them, but the orders are quite flexible, the coffee is also good. It's not the best breakfast in the world, but it's not bad. Sitting upstairs will also give you a lovely view of the local bay and shoreline while you eat.
As mentioned, the thing i like most about Hansar are the people. They are particularly friendly and nothing is ever a problem. They will often stop for a chat, which is great for local food recommendations, and are only too happy to bring your food and drink orders to you while you laze beside the pool. They also make sure your umbrella is sorted, you're always stocked with water (they bring you cold water bottles almost frequently), and the massage ladies from Hansar's Luxsa spa will pop out from time to time to offer free 10 minute massages. We visited Luxsa spa incidentally and highly reccomend it. There's too many people to mention, from the bubbly girl at breakfast who is always up for a chat, to the very helpful front desk staff - but the people who man the pool area really do go above and beyond to make you feel relaxed. Special shoutout to the likes of Dom, Mhao and Aon for really adding to our trip.

So while I wouldnt reccomend Hansar if the beach is the most important part of your trip, i would hands down reccomend it for practically every other reason. It's a fantastic resort, staffed by fantastic people. Whoever is behind maintaining and growing such a wonderful staff culture, really deserves praise. It's pretty obvious that the hotel thinks it's important that the staff are happy because it reflects in everything they do.


So to the staff at Hansar Samui - thank you so much for making our holidays truly memorable, we'll see you either next year or the year after :) Marcus & Courtney

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 2,423 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent 6 nights in this hotel in an extra large seaview room. The room was very spacious, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated without being fussy. The best feature was the magnificent balcony, with ocean view, day-bed and overhead fan. Without exception, every member of the staff was friendly, polite and helpful. Despite the hotel being completely full the hotel maintained a lovely relaxed atmosphere, with enough sun loungers by the pool, quick service at breakfast or at the beach bar, and immediate help when wanting to hire a scooter or get advice on where to visit. A really well run hotel!

Room Tip: We were on the third (top) floor. I don't think there are lifts. It didn't bother us, but mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Very friendly and caring staff. Good rooms which all had a view of the ocean. The hotel is situated at the better end of Fishermans village and close to restaurants and shops. We had a beach front room which was closest to the street and although you could here music from nearby bars it was only fairly faint and didn't affect our sleep but if you were very sensitive to noise it would be wiser to select a sea view room.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lenap10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Hi travellers,
I just stayed 1 week at Hansar. Having read good reviews so we decided to try this year.
Property- resort in a low rise building. Stayed at EX L seaview room. Large room size w nice veranda overlooking the sea. This resort is has high occupancy rate.
Nice property that emphasize on environmental sustainability.

Room 1303: nice veranda w comfy rocking chair . Good for mother with infants. Furnishing is tastefully done in asian contemporary manner.
Can feel a slight wear and tear status on the furniture. Not much but maintainance can be done.
Not much sunshine into the room but its airy.
Bathtub inthe middle of the room is nice to look at but not feasible as water will splash onto the floor.
Housekeeping is excellent always clean and timely.
Service- friendly Thai hospitality from all staff. Especially Mr Bee and Ms Wan from from breakfast cafe. They had made effort to PR w guess and takes good care of us. Makes me feel homely.
BREAKFAST- adequate buffet items but can have more selection of jams or preserves for bread. Main course like eggs and thai food is delicious and nicely done. Egg Benny is very good.

Generally this hotel is suitable for families but not much privacy for couples as the pool is filled with many guess but they do have adequate lounges for everyone.
Conveniently located at fisherman village w lots of dining options.
Beach is disappointing. Sand is coarse and not easy to walk compare to chaweng beach or chaweng noi or lamai
If u are not a beach going/ stay at the beach person u will like this resort.
I will not return to Hansar as I would prefer beach at other parts of samui.



Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank wenhliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I've stayed for 3 nights and i really fall in love with this hotel. At first hotel in Chaweng as I want hotel on the beach and walking distance tto local restaurante. Finally End up with Hansar which meet my criteria. When I arrived everything was perfect and over my expectation. Room are big enough and especially Big Balcony with fan! Love it. Swimming pool are full of the guests but not feel too pack as its big enough for you to swim. walking distance to Fisherman Village with full of restaurant. I can stay here forever! Will definitely come back here again near soon. Love everything here! Staffs / Room / Swimming Pool and restaurant.

Room Tip: request for sea facing building if you wanna 3rd floor. There is no elevator but it worth for you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Great hotel, perfect location, superb food and helpful and smiley staff!

Spent 3 days in the Hansar after having stayed a week in a villa on the island with extended family. We simply loved it. The hotel is rather small which was really convenient. You can quickly go from your room to the pool/beach/bar/restaurant. All rooms have sea view. We had the 1216 (a XL room) with a huge bacolny where i could have spent my entire stay.. The pool is just great with nice view on the sea, incorporated jacuzzi seats and complementary illimited mineral water handed by the staff. The breakfast is just fantastic. Good selection of food (the fluffy goat cheese omelet is just yummy), great view (especially on the top floor) and again the staff is really helpful! The location is great... a few minutes from the fisherman village, giving you access to cheap meals, thai massage and shopping...
Staff is nice and have a can do attitude. We had ordered an extra bed (at extra cost) for our 4 year old daughter (we came with our 2 kids, a 1 year old and 4 year old) and noticed straight away while checking the room that the bed was not going to be convenient for her (too high, she would have definitely fallen from it every night!). They, without any discussion, switched it to a cot bed and cancel the extra cost (so smooth). As we were already on the Island prior to checking in, they also arranged for a car to pick us up at the villa we were staying free of charge as part of the airport transfer.

A few negative points (just to mention as those did not really bother us):
- there is no lift which can sometimes be a little bit of a hassle with the pram. We left it at the reception though and picked it up when needed, which was really convenient.
- there is no door on the shower and there is a glass between the toilet and the shower which can be a little bit problematic if you are staying with a friend or a teenager. There is a lovely bathtub in the middle of the room but could have done without as this takes a lot of space and we used the rainfall shower all the time (so much fun with the kids who loved to "wash under the rain").

In a nutshell, we loved our stay at the Hansar and will definitely be back! we will recommend this place to our friends, especially to couples!

Room Tip: We had the 1216 (xl room) on the first floor, facing the sea. All rooms have a seaview but I reckon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We booked Hansar Samui for 6 nights, wanted to spend our last days in nice, exclusive hotel at Ko Samui before going back home. The pictures said: It is nice!
The reality:
First day we arrived, we already gave feedback to reception, that our room has a moldy smell and it is very humid in there. Well, it is good idea to have a open shower/bathroom, but in that case it is more important, that it has to have a very good ventilation. Unbelievable - there was non of it!!! Only small hole in the separate room in toilet, but it is way too less!
They showed us other room, which was four doors away from ours and smelled the same. The sheet in the bed smelled like mold as well! I was so disappointed just wanted to get out of the room and hotel, but our 2-year old was so tired, so we decided not to move anywhere else, just spend the night and make a decision next day.
Other day, they shows us more rooms. One was the one with bathtub. They said, it has different rate, so let us know, we had to pay extra, if we would like to move there. :S But sorry, it had also the moldy smell in it! Finally they showed us fourth room, witch was two doors away from ours The clients were just checked out, they cleaned this room. For moment it seemed to have in better condition, and we says, yes we agree with moving and try this room. They cleaned it and helped us to move. It was helpful.
They put the humidity collector into our room and aromatic candles, so it was way better than first room. But we did not sleep this night well either! The mattress was terrible, absolutely not in shape. So we complained again. They gave me new mattress and emptied the humidity collector (it had 5 or even more liters water in it collecting less than in 24 hours). WOW!
So we decided, ok lets find another hotel and move out. We chose Sala Samui and made good deal and left Hansar Samui on third day!
We talked to other people at Hansar and asked if they were happy with it - they had also moldy smell in their rooms, but probably not that much, so they did not move out.

Now, if there was anything nice at all? Yes - the restaurant is super nice and food is tasty. Service also very good! Breakfast very good, a la carte menu very good! The prices are quite high, but at least you can find good selection of fine. Wine is very expensive in Thailand restaurants, so at least they could offer you some selections of choose, Hansar did! I you would like to have nice romantic dinner, I recommend!
Beach - nothing special. I love white, soft sand and this hotel did not have it.
Pool - we loved the pool - it is big and it has nice view from it.
Location - also good - the hotel is just at the beginning of street, where all small restaurants and shops are, we enjoyed walking in the evenings on that street.

Room Tip: You might ask for top floor rooms, maybe the moldy smell was only ground floor problem, but anyway y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sirle78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,670 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,601 reviews
4 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
527 reviews
3.8 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#10 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#16 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $189 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing