We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - but rooms a bit too "trendy" to be functional and breakfast could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
Ranked #13 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in February 2014, in 2 rooms overlooking the pool and sea, both on the 2nd floor. Overall we had a really lovely time and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

The location is fabulous - set on the beach, with Fisherman's Village (restaurants, bars, shops, massage places) just steps away - there are amazing views from the pool area and around the hotel.

We (especially teenagers) enjoyed the free wifi, and other nice touches included free bottles of water handed out around the pool, as well as plenty left in the rooms.

The only negatives we found were:

1. Breakfast - both service and food. There were quite a lot of young waiters, mainly standing around giggling amongst themselves, and they didn't seem to know what to do - they could really have done with more supervision and someone taking charge. For example although extra coffees were served when we requested them, none of the cups and saucers were removed, and neither were the empty plates taken until we stood up to leave. So at one point we had 10 dirty plates, 4 empty glasses and 6 empty coffee cups on our table! Also the food offering was quite limited - at one point there were only a few pieces of lime left on the whole the fruit station, and no croissants or pastries left at all on the display, upstairs or downstairs. When they were eventually replenished, the lady carefully arranged 6 croissants on a plate and took the others back to the kitchen - even though 3 people were waiting to take them! They need to be much quicker to refill, especially at busier times.

2. Rooms are fabulously trendy - we absolutely loved the style - but discovered they were not very functional.There was very limited drawer / storage space if you wanted to unpack, no hanging space for longer items (dresses or long trousers), very dark lighting around mirrors (so tricky to do make up / hair), the aircon was so fierce that even on minimum the curtains were blowing as if in gale force winds, and the water pressure was so low that it took ages to shower under the rain shower.

So a few improvements could be made - but the location was wonderful and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorcesterWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 2,394 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel clean and sea view . Ambiance zen very quiet if you need a Break in Thailand best island . Just come here to avoid all the cities for tourist and discover the true local life
Hotel is right on the beach and swimming pool is super except May be too cold ! For season ! AnywAy breAkfast is good and right on the beach ,very rare
Rooms are super ! Except lightening in bathroom very poor !
The rest is the best for price and quality
Would come back

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank THENAPOLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Hansar Samui Resort is an amazing hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel room was beautiful. We enjoyed ourselves for 14 days at this location. Can really recommended.

A special thanks to Tiger and his team, and a big thanks to Noi and Joy that our holiday was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gyri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We would deffinetely recommend the hotel.
If one day we have the opportunitiy to go back to Koh Samui, we'd probably consider staying at Hansar again.

The location of the hotel is perfect for families and couples in honey moon. If you're looking for parties and a hot night life, don't go to Bophut. This is a place to relax, enjoy the turquoise sea and cheap (but excellent) thai massage!

The only negative point for us at the hotel was the food: not enough european food at breakfast and the H Bistro didn't offer a large choice of traditional thai food for lunch and diner.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are closer to the sea. Rooms with Sea View have the pool between the sea and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bkleemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent 8 nights at the Hansar and had a lovely room overlooking the sea and pool. The room was huge and the shower was the biggest one we had ever seen. Amazing!! Not a great deal of storage space though, we left a lot of stuff in the suitcases as there was nowhere to put everything.
The location is perfect for the Fishermans Village, just a few minutes walk away. Lots of bars, restaurants, shops etc. mostly well priced. The Friday night Walking Street is well worth a visit for good street food as well as excellent shopping. Fake designer gear is well cheap and good quality.
The breakfast at the hotel is amazing. So much choice and it is lovely to sit and look out over the sea whilst eating Pad Thai at 8am!! The staff are very attentive and enjoy practising their English with you!
We hired a moped through the hotel, cost about £10 all in, and toured the island for the day. The roads were very good and the traffic was not too bad. Lots of places to visit, Big Buddha is a must and the temples.
The swimming pool is a good size and the day staff look after you with plenty of bottles of water throughout the day. Happy Hour is 3 times a day, buy one get one free and as much popcorn as you can eat!!
I would recommend this hotel for its location and the friendly staff and would definitely return.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank lulu1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Hansar samui was everything i had hoped for on this holiday and more, from the moment they picked us up from the airport, we have been well looked after, the grounds of this hotel is beautiful.
Our room was 1313 it was on the top floor right in the centre, best views!!!
The location is just perfect, few minutes from the tranquil of hansar into the buzzing fisherman village, lots of pretty restaurants and bars,
Best asset of this hotel, is their staffs, everyone was so friendly, from the reception to pool bar, restaurant to housekeeping, everyone smiles and say hello when u pass,
Pool bar staff actually remembers our favorite drinks after the first day!
A special mention to Fon, she was the first staff we met at Hansar, also the last to wave us off, so friendly, always ready to help, well done Fon!!
Hansar, keep up the good work!! Hope to visit again in the not so distant future!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank princesslala88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed just 2 nights on our recent trip to Koh Samui & absolutely loved it! The room was gorgeous with a great few of the sea! The bed was very comfy, the room was spotless! Location is perfect! The staff were all extremely friendly & helpful & the breakfast was fabulous! A little pricey but I would highly recommend it & would love to stay again!!! The pool was also amazing and the tub was pretty sweet :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,637 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,388 reviews
3.8 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#10 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#19 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $141 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing