We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hardware but Poor Software .....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
Ranked #13 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Room
- The room design is spacious, modern and stylish. Well maintained and attentioned to details such as providing mosquito repellent, bed tent and bath salt.
-The power socket in the room seems to be very lacked and difficult to charge your mobile phones during night time as the power is linked to the bedside lamp which you won't turn on when you sleep
- The light controls in the room are difficult to manage, you can never understand which buttons is which to turn off the lights you wish. You just need to keep playing the game and you will probably get the hang of it in day 3.
- We are used to sleeping with all lights turned off but since the toilet and the shower and the sleeping area are basically separated by glasses, it’s fairly difficult not to wake the next person beside you when you take a leak during night time, not to say you will end up turning up all the lights before you find the bathroom one. Or worst, you will trip and bump into the little coffee table / even the bath tub …..
- Water running in shower seems a bit slow but I guess this is a common problem in Samui because somehow, the water supply can’t really reach the hotel. The hot water is also not very hot but I assumed that no one prefers to take a 40+ degree shower when it’s 35 degree outside, so no biggy.
- Bathtub in the middle of the room looks cool that you can do a bubble bath while watching TV but the downside is that it’s not very practical. You will end up wet floors and feeling cold when getting out coz the air condition is circulated in the whole room. I just realized why a decent bathroom would have doors because it will keep the heat within the room and the person getting out of the tub / shower will not have chill.
- Beachfront rooms are awesome and there are a total of 6 rooms (3 on the g/f and 3 on the 2nd floor) facing the beach and it’s located at the end of the hotel linking to the road to the Fishman Village. If you’re at 2nd floor, the beach view from the balcony will do justice and worth paying the additional room rate fee . The privacy is great and it’s like a postcard looking out. But if you got the rooms at g/f, I would say you are being totally ripped off. Yes, there is a view but you can't see much because it’s at eye level and there is no privacy at all coz everyone who passes by on their way back to the hotel can do a sneak peak at your windows.

Hotel Location & Parking
- Good location, basically 2 minutes to the Fisherman Village with range of good looking restaurants. 5 minutes to main road where you will find a Family Mart to get your daily supplies.
- Quiet side of Samui compared to Chaweng / Lamai. The sand and beach quality is 2nd best after Chaweng
- There is basically only 6 parking spaces for the hotel and many times, cars need to park back to back so that it can accommodate extra car parking. Good thing is that there is always a good security guard to tell you where to double park and help you look out. Downside is that you will need to leave your car key to the reception so that they can move the car for you.

Service
- Hardware of the hotel is solid but software needs further improvement. Staff seems very green and not experienced on addressing customer’s need. The room was delayed for 20 minutes when we checked in and I would expect a little compliment gesture. We didn’t even receive our welcome drink or cold towel like the other hotels we have stayed.
- My husband and I somehow got food poisoning and called their guest service for car to drop us to the hospital. Although we didn’t dine in the hotel that day but I find it really odd that they didn’t ask if the food poisoning was due to the food in hotel or outside. I would be very concern on this if I’m the hotel manager there. Also, their transportation fee is THB500 per way and on our return, we waited there for 40 minutes and made 2 calls before their arrival. I was already feeling sick and having waited 40 minutes for the car and charging almost double the price of a cab is simply unacceptable. Anyway, I voiced out to the reception lady and she waived the return fee.
- Not very attentive on details for housekeeping or the person is just lazy. He / she bothered to move the trash can where I find more conveniently next to the fridge back to the original place whereas did not bother to give us some toothpaste. The towels are also in grey color and dirty looking
- The service quality is definitely not up to 5 star standard and I just have to say Le Meridian is so much better.

Pool & Hotel Design / wi-fi
- Pool is quite nice and noticed that it’s not normal swimming pool with chlorine. We suspect it’s actual water from sea as it tasted salty and it’s very polluted. Less chemical and more to the natural stuff, points added.
- Sufficient sunbathing chair where you can choose infront / behind the pool or at the beach strip.
- Very low network signal for wi-fi but I guess this is also pretty common in Samui
- Somehow lack of privacy compared as you can easily glanced at each and every one of the balcony. Really feel bad for those at ground level as I cannot see any privacy at all, not to mention feeling unsecured when it is so easy to jump into your balcony from the pathway.

F&B
- Great breakfast with pre-ordering items such as eggs, waffles, pancakes in addition to the buffet. Most satisfying breakfast so far compared to Pavilion and Le Meridian. The food selection is not a whole lot but in good quality and not the usual you find in other hotels. Hygiene wise, good to have the food indoor whereas many are outdoor and attracts flies to share your food.

Room Tip: Beachfront Room 3021 - 3023
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GieGie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 2,409 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hansar Samui for 11 days in June '13 on our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived and were picked up from the airport everything has been terrific. Warm and welcoming, friendly staff with wonderful quality of rooms and facilities.

Location of the hotel is perfect with just a short, relaxed stroll to Bo Phut's Fisherman's Village with a great range of restaurants, shops and bars. A far cry from the manic environments of Chaweng and Lamai (the 2 most popular holiday locations).

Absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Hansar and Bo Phut as the place to stay on Koh Samui and we'd love to do it again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Hansar Samui Resort for all 4 nights of my break in Samui. It was a enjoyable stay for us indeed. The hotel was very close to the airport with only around 10 minutes drive. The driver of mini-van picked us up from the airport so timely. The check-in process took us a bit long though. We arrived at around noon (hotel check-in time) but the room was not ready for us yet (the previous guests didn't checked out yet for some reason). I could only manage to check-in my room until 2:45pm, a little bit of bad start for us. It was a bit annoying to me when I was sitting in the sofa for more than 2 hour and missing my lunch. However, my feeling was then completely changed when a pretty lady, Joy approahed us for following up our case proactively. She was very kind to offer her assistance to us as much as possible. After we checked in our room and started to enjoy our very first moment of the holidays in this hotel, Joy showed us around in the hotel and offered us some nice and cold drinks at the very relaxing beach-side lounge. In fact, all the staff there were courteous including those working in Luxor SPA centre and the service was good too.
I found the open-style shower in my room most attractive to me. It was just too convenient for me to cool myself down whenever I came back to the room from the very hot outdoor environment. The comparatively large balcony was also very attractive to me where I enjoyed my reading in the morning or evening.
On the second last day of my trip, I was surprised by the pretty angel (Joy) again as she actually remembered our schedule (hotel was fully packed with lots of other guests) and proactively offered assistance in our air flight on-line check-in. I considered it was a 5-star service from this very special lady.
Overall speaking, this is a very decent and modern-style hotel and I will certainly come back this hotel again for my next visit to Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKong4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I and my wife stayed in Hansar Samui as part of our honeymoon after flying from Phuket to Samui. I had paid for airport pickup and drop service while booking the rooms, and the hotel guy was waiting for us at the airport accordingly. AS soon as we got into the mini-van, we were presented with a half-litre bottle of drinking water and cold towels. Lovely first impression!

Check-in and check-out:
The check-in and check-out was very fast. The front desk staff did not explain about the facilities of the resort, like it was explained to us in Renaissance Phuket. Howver the staff were courteous and very friendly. They dropped our luggage to our room and handed out the room keys.

Room arrangement:
My wife literally cried with joy after she saw the flower arrangement. I had made a request to the hotel staff to arrange for bed decoration. They did an excellent job. They even arranged for a cake with the message "Happy honeymoon" and a special card with my custom message. Thanks a lot guys for such wonderful arrangement. Couldn't have expected anything more!

Room features:
It has almost everything that you expect from a 5 star hotel. However there was no bathtub in our room. WE were shocked to see open style shower without any closing doors. However since it was just me and my wife, it wasn't much of a bother.

Location: Just right on the Bophut beach and inside the fishermen village. Fishermen village is just 3 to 5 minute walk away.

Dining:
We never stayed for breakfast. So can't comment on the options available. We ordered for in-room didning on few occassions. The service was top-notch and quick. However the coffee was always cold when it arrived. Even after repeated requests to keep the coffee hot, it was always cold when it arrived.

Shopping:
Don't miss the friday night shopping in Fishermen village after 6 PM. My wife pickeu up around 5 bags, purses, sandals, ear-rings, shorts, tops, and many other items.

Cons:
No elevators. Climbing stairs every now and then can be tiring for few people.
Service quality can be improved. I had stayed in Renaissance Phuket before and the service there was top notch.
The hotel staff kept telling the cost for everything when we requested them. When was ordered a cup of cappucino, they kept telling us that it costs XXX Baht. I found this irritating. I won't mind paying a few extra thousand baht when I'm already ready to pay thousands for my room.

Overall this is a pretty nice hotel, and you'll definitely enjoy your stay here. If you're planning for a trip to Koh Samui and looking for a beach-facing room, then go for Hansui Samui without any worries.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach. There are no elevators. So better opt for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webgenius_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, right after our 3 nights at Intercontinental Hotel. Hansar is totally different feel from IC - modern, smallish yet maintaining a certain level of exclusiveness. Here are my input:
Likes:
-Experienced inconsistencies in services rendered by staff. Khun Joy is a real joy in welcoming us and taking the time to introduce us to the place. Well done K Joy! As well as the great service from the Spa and housekeeping teams... Kudos!
-Nice, clean and spacious room with a super humongous TV. Love it!
-Right in the Fishermans Village, which is a plus point as we had wide choice of cafe, restaurants and local places to check out
-Only 15mins drive to/fro airport

Dislike
-Nobody to handle our luggages when we arrived the hotel. Had to request from our front desk angel, K Joy. Not a good welcome impression
-Service level in restaurant is well below par. Noticed service rendered by staff to asian guests are quite remarkably different or less attentive compared to non-asian ones
-Breakfast choices and spread are well and truly forgettable after the second day. Inevitably made us miss our breakfasts in Intercontinental Hotel
-Mozzies are in battalion sizes. Plenty to keep you scratching especially in the evening while outdoors
-Spa treatments were just so-so. Nothing really spectacular that makes you wanna return again
-Switches in guestroom requires a manual to understand how they actually work. Was constantly flipping 6 or more switches for at least 30 secs before getting the right one that I want - I mean every single time!
-Room condition is still good, though I already sense it will be a challenge to upkeep as it was already showing signs of wear and tear for a relatively new hotel
-Gym looks good but felt could have been better if located facing the sea - just my opinion

Overall, a nice small simple resort with good location. I'm a regular guest of Hansar BKK, which is a great hotel for me, and felt the Samui team could pick up some good practices from the great team of BKK.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popeyescoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hansar has set a high calibre for hotels/resorts in Samui. The service is top notch. All staff go for the extra mile to make our stay a truly memorable experience. The restaurant is simply amazing - probably the best in Samui. The head chef was the private chef for King of Jordan. Both Thai and international dishes are beautifully cooked and presented. The SPA is also superb. My girlfriend and I ended up going there two days in a row.

One small piece of advice is that if you are in Samui for the Full Moon Party, you probably want to avoid using the boat company recommended by Hansar. It came in late, and the boat was not of the best quality vs. other companies.

Other than that no complains from us. Looking forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: Upgrade to rooms with direct sea view. It is totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank newc2292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The best thing this hotel has is an amazing chef and staff in their kitchen. It was the best food of our 13 day Asian Odyssey. However just off property it looks like the tsunami came through and it did not. Not sure why things don't look better when you're paying these prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g7214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,647 reviews
3.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,395 reviews
3.8 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
793 reviews
3.8 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#10 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#16 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $160 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing