We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential but too many big misteps”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“So much potential but too many big misteps”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Hansar has soo much potential that it was frustrating that we encountered such big missteps by management. First off, the property is gorgeous and super cool. The room are very cool, modern and comfortable. We booked a Seaview XL which was fantastci and zen-like. We were celebrating our honeymoon and followed all the reviews on here and paid extra for the seaview XL. We noted to the hotel that we were celebrating our honeymoon. When we arrived they had us placed in probably the room ith the absolute worse view in the hotel. It was on the first floor next to the front desk and had zero privacy on teh deck and a terrible view of the ocean. The pool traffic and lobby traffic made it impossible to enjoy any private tme on the deck. It also made it impossible to keep your blinds open at any point. We were quite shocked that any of the Seaview XL's had such a bad view and surprised that they would put honeymmoners in the worse room. Strike No. 1. We promptly asked for a change. Sadly, the front desk after saying-- "oh you booked through American Express/Orbitz" informed us that there were no other Seaview XLs availble and only one other standard room available in the hotel. They told us that we could take the the standard room with the better view (that retails at almost half the price of the seaview XL) but we would receive no refund for taking the much cheaper room. Major Strike No. 2. We settled into the room and other than the views and deck, loved everything about the room. the pool and beach were also magnificant. The pool bar staff needs some lessons in cheerfulness. They were usually cranky and not typical of Thai service. We had dinner at the H Bistro and the space was fantastic. the service, however, was poor and the food very mixed. One entree, pork, was way overcooked. The final major strike for this place was when we asked for a cab to the airport and was quoted a price that was over double what we paid to get to the hotel. After we questioned the charge, the hotel began to negotiate the price with us, which was mind boggling. We then asked them to call a cab and they said that they could not do that. So we walked a block away to the cab stand and got a taxi for less than half the price that the hotel quoted us. The breakfast there is very good and maid service reliable. One tip for the management, instruct the maid to keep the room door closed while cleaning the room. I know they do this to prevent theft allegations, but the rooms fill with mosquitoes while they are cleaning. The area is loaded with mosquitoes. Overall the hotel is beautiful, the location is great and it has no much potential. Notwithstanding, the major major problems that we encountered were too hard to ignore and would prevent us from going back or recommending this hotel. I hope that the hotel tries to address these issues in the future!

Room Tip: Refuse rooms on the first floor and do not book through a travel service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOAT138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,739
    419
    102
    25
    13
See reviews for
395
1,380
88
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at the Hansar Samui and whilst we had a pleasant and relaxing stay, we were disappointed with the absence of service especially given we had spent the previous 4 nights in the sister hotel in Bangkok where the service was outstanding.

Pros:
- Very convenient location right next to fisherman's wharf (although all we experienced was overpriced awful food)
- Gorgeous views from the most areas of the hotel including the rooms
- Amazing infinity pool
- Reasonably priced day spa packages
- very relaxing balcony and day bed/rocking chair on the patio which every room has
- super comfy and large bed and pillows

Cons:
- indifferent service. During our 6 days, not once did anyone day Hello or good morning or sawadeeka. Not when staff walked past and not when you dined or drank or or or....
- it's a very small resort so there are really no facilties to speak of and they do not offer any sort of activities
- very very limited buffet breakfast and options repeated every second day

Whilst I wouldn't rule out staying here again, I would probably like to try something else next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enetsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent last week four days at the Hansar in Koh Samui. We were once again pleased with this hotel. Special thanks to Mrs Marketa, Guest Relation Manager, who gave us a lot of information to make our stay even better.

We also thank the reception to give us the opportunity to take a shover in one of the rooms before leaving to the airport late in the aternoon. The hotel was almost fully booked so a late check out was not possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KREEFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lets all complain on tripadvisor! In all sincerity, we are not a picky couple but the Hansar had some misses (we mostly stay at 3 and 4 star places). As previous people mentioned, the light switches were ridiculous (i thought how could any sane person complain of light switches!), the staff, although friendly and tried to be accommodating, really had no knowledge of the surrounding area. Even when asked of highly rated tripadvisor restaurants right next door they blankly stared at you. Not once did anyone in 5 nights ask how our stay was or how they could improve it. The whole concept seemed like you were on your own. Little details like not hanging up robes during making up the room, seem trivial and petty but take 100 of these little incidents and you start to understand people's gripes. My advice, stay here if the price is right. Bophut is great next to fishermans village but with terrible grainy dry sand. Chaweng was insane and you should only stay there if you're looking to rage (not really in a good way). I wouldve given hansar 5 stars if it was $100 less a night (my bad for overyhyping it in my mind before I went). Nice pool and free breakfast and if you book through them they usually throw in a free airport transfer which was really nice and welcoming.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor in the middle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katzdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just finished a 12 night stay at the Hansar and can not recommend this hotel highly enough. All the staff are to be commended for their friendliness and helpfulness....from the reception staff who greeted us on arrival and arranged our tours, to the smiling breakfast staff every morning, to the bar staff who loved to talk, to the cleaners who cleaned our room every day and said "Hello" every morning.

The decor of the hotel and rooms were fabulous. The infinity pool is one of the best I have swam in and the view is amazing. I thought the turn down service at night (a red rose left on the bed with 2 Hershey chocolates) is a very lovely touch and shows that the hotel goes above and beyond for that "personal touch".

The breakfast included has plenty to chose from.....fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurt, cakes, thai, pancakes, waffles, and any kind of eggs you would like cooked (boiled, scrambled, poached, eggs benedict, with bacon and sausages if you like). You definitely won't go hungry. People who have posted that the breakfast was average, obviously didn't look to hard!!

The location of the hotel, in my view, is one of the best on the island. Situated at the far end of Fishermans Village in Bophut there are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. The night markets every Friday night are one of the best on the island.

Congratulations to all the staff who made my husband's and my stay a very enjoyable and memorable one. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our Aussie mates back home and would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room for good views. All rooms have sea views but the 2nd and 3rd floors have mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank statsmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Returned from a trip to Thailand with great hotels in Bangkok (Peninsula) and Chiang Mai (Chedi). This hotel did not live up to expectations. Furniture was worn and "minimalistic" (bordering on shabby). This was the only 5 star we stayed in all of SE Asia that required us to pick up pool towels at the bar, and "sign out" for them. (The others all brought towels to you, and set up your chaise.) The shower was barely warm enough to allow getting clean. While service and food were OK, the overall feeling was that the hotel (compared to other Thai hotels) was charging more than necessary. For example, the van pickup from the airport charge (10 minute ride/approximately $30) and a short sight seeing excursion (1 hour for $100) were out of scale compared to similar services in Bangkok and Chiang Mai. Particularly out of scale was a charge made to us upon checkout for a minor accident (admittedly a careless move) involving breaking a pottery cover for a plastic soap dispenser. The charge was $30 dollars for what appeared to be a $3 piece of mass produced pottery.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrietr46114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A fabulous boutique hotel, architecturally stunning geometric design. Overall feeling was of relaxation, the design of the hotel had a very "Japanese" relaxed style, whilst at the same time being very clean lined, minimalistic, modern, oozed quality without appearing stuffy.
The hotel is located directly on the beach (coral sand, but the plus is that it doesn't stick to everything). Located at the end of the village, the beach is quiet, clean & affords magnificent views of the bay & bobbing boats. The loungers are plentiful & comfortable with thick mattresses.
Bar service when beachside is limited, but the bar is oly a few feet away.
The room (Seaview king) was comfortable, quality furniture, fabulous shower room, the washbasin was a bit more style over function & the lighting was a little dim, but the ambiance was perfect. As previously mentioned, wardrobe space is small, however, how many clothes are really needed on a tropical island? Good sized TV. The balcony, with its daybed & rocking chair, afforded superb views & was a very relaxing place to enjoy an early morning coffee or sundowner.
The H Bistro was a treat to be enjoyed, especially the Chefs Menu. The Hansar Cocktail (vodka, galliano & lime juice) delicious & refreshing & two for 250 Baht during Happy Hours.
Cafe 69, run by Vivian, located on the main road outside the main entrance offers great food in a fun setting.
Dining on the beach at Krua Bophut (500/600 yards from the hotel) was a delight with excellent service & good food.
Breakfast was a delight, we are so used to staying in big 5* hotels, which although excellent, can be so impersonal. Here, the staff were efficient & very professional yet friendly. The food was fresh, with a good selection, constantly replenished. The A la Carte breakfast was beautifully presented & the Eggs Benedict - superb.
I would definately recommend this hotel, especially to couples, of any age group.

Room Tip: Top floor, middle section, so not to be obscured by palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,574 reviews
3.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#4 of 186 in Bophut
1,857 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Property: Hansar Samui Resort
Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#10 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#19 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing