We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
Ranked #13 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The place is silently located with decent rooms. The beach though right there is not very pleasurable to walk on ( gravel kind of sand). Wrong place to choose with kids ( no kids activity room/place). Overall a couple friendly place and also ideal for elderly couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor(privacy issue)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 74hope79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,186 of 2,379 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was a lovely hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pool as many have said before is amazing, large infinity pool with beatuful views to another island.
EXCELLENT breakfast. Pool and bar staff would go out of the way to help and make you comfortable. Lovelty rooms and private balconies with sofabeds and wifi througout. Overall it was an excellent hotel. There are a few downsides that detract from a perfect review however...
Downsides - parasols over sun loungers completely ineffective, too high and small so no respite from the hot sun. The beach is nothing special, no snorkelling, darkish coarse sand and lot of boats around. The restaurant is extortionately expensive and the dessert I had there was not at all nice (pistachio creme brulee).
Worst of all we booked the hotel "private guided island tour with english speaking guide". This was very convenient and comfortable in one of the AC vans and I would not have minded the cost (£70 for 4 hours - a lot for thailand) if the "guide" actually spoke english!!! He was very nice and tried very hard but could do nothing other than drive us to the sites. When I asked even basic questions, such as where are we / what is the name of this place he was unable to answer... As a result we ended up being driven around random sights with no more information that if we took a taxi for about 1/5th of the price. Very disappointing. Should not have claimed to be an english speaking guided tour by the hotel if it was no such thing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SXR101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Quite simply... the place to stay in when in Koh Samui!

And here are my reasons:
1. Staff - friendly, polite, always smiling and GENUINE! They really will do take a genuine interest in you and will do whatever they can to make sure your stay in Koh Samui is one you'll always remember. Some examples include the staff greeting me with a suprise b'day cake even though I arrived after my b'day due to a flight delay and organising a lantern for my son after hearing us talk about it. A special mention to Dom who became my son's new best friend. Whenever my son went to the pool, Dom would make sure the bubble jets were on and the pool toys were on hand.

2. Food/Drinks - 3 happy hours each day with Koff, Audi and Dom being cocktail specialists! I recommend the mojitos. The H Bistro serves a great breakfast with lots of variety including made to order eggs/omlettes, bacon, sausages and pancakes! I recommend the onion and corriander omlette! The head chef is French Canadian so lunch and dinner have a French twist.

3. Location- right next to Fisherman's Village for more food options, but they don't stack up to the H Bistro.

4. Pool - great pool looking out to the sea. Great to swim or relax in any time of the day. Had a look at some pools at other resorts and they simply don't compare. There's also a kids pool for those with small children.

5. Beach - if you're a beach person, then this resort has the biggest sand area in Bophut. The water is also warm and is surrounded by a shark net for extra safety.

But overall, it's the staff who make the difference so a big thank you to Dom, Koff, Audi, Mai, Sam, A and all the crew for your wonderful hospitality.

Great for couples as well as those with young families, so should be on your list if deciding on a holiday to Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

the entire experience with the hotel and staff resulted in my going back again , excellent breakfast and warm friendly staff . spacious rooms with great views of the ocean .will reccomend this fine resort to anyone visiting samui . the staff are simply amazing .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We arrived at the hotel, were offered a cold drink, and waited about 20 minutes for our room.

CONS:
1. Mildew problem: Room smelled strongly of mildew. They brought in a scented candle, but we asked to be moved immediately and we were. A few minutes later, we saw new guests were put in the smelly room. The concept of a shower in the middle of the room may look nice, but causes a major mildew problem since the vent is only in the toilet, not near the shower. Our second room also began to smell also.

2. Incredibly expensive spa, far more expensive than the other 5-star we stayed at.

PROS:
1. BEST breakfast in Thailand! Wow, just wow. Really gourmet. Beautiful & fresh produce. High quality cheeses, pastries, smoked salmon. Many egg options available: Poached, Benedict, Spanish omelette, etc. Fresh waffles & pancakes. My favorite was the homemade hazelnut butter. The chef is European. People were taking pictures & videos of the buffet, as it was so impressive & delicious. My husband made us wake up early everyday as he so looked forward to the breakfast!
2. Great location
2. Great pool
3. Nice beach: Those complaining about having to cross the street to the hotel--it is more like crossing a sidewalk, only a few meters.
4. Incredibly comfortable bed, though may be too soft for some.

Room Tip: If your room smells like mildew, asked to be moved immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived here from Bangkok having completed a 12 hour flight from the UK. The welcome and check in was excellent and also the airport pick up great value for £10.
The rooms are spacious and overlook the pool and sea. Very large balcony with chair, table and sofa.
The restaurant food is very good and the staff excellent. Breakfast choice is also varied and eggs cooked to your choice. We used the hotels own driver for an island tour which I thoroughly recommend since we wee in a FWD and could go to places unseen by the bus trips. In addition our driver spoke good English and we had cold towels and water in a cold chest to keep us refreshed during our 4 hour tour.
One plus point is the very high standard of the staff and their approach to dealing with any issues immediately. Marketa was very personable and helpful.
There is a promenade just at the sea side of the pool, and a hsort walk takes you to teh Fishermans Village where you can find restaurants, shops and even an Irish bar serving cold Guiness!
I would return there without hesitation.

Room Tip: a room on the 1st floor ( no lift!) centre of the building, overlooking the pool and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hansar Samui is a stylish and relaxing resort that is a good destination for a chill-out holiday. Though the hotel was quite busy there never was an issue with crowdedness nor a lack of sun beds! Perfect-sized infinity salt-water that was good for serious swimming or just using the jacuzzi. Good food at the H Bistro with fresh seafood and interesting combinations of tastes and colours. We had lunch and dinner there. Both were good :)

Though the sand on Bophut Beach was not the finest or the whitest but the sea is excellent for swimming. Calm waters and deep enough without having to venture too far out to sea. I actually enjoyed swimming in the sea (have not done that in years!)

Laid-back vibes along Fisherman's Village without the usual chain stores that reek of commercialisation. It was refreshing to not see a single Starbucks or Macs around. Food options were still plentiful.

The Luxsa Spa was as the name suggests lux /posh and quite unlike the Anantara Spa next door which was more rustic and tropical especially given the foliage and landscaping. The ambiance is quite different (probably deliberately so). The massage we had was relaxing. I like clean lines and minimalist architecture which is largely why I prefer the Hansar with its zen-like ambiance to the more elaborate Anantara next door. ( a matter of personal preferences!)

Room Tip: Always request for a sea-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaye_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,623 reviews
3.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
3.8 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#5 of 185 in Bophut
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#10 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#19 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $162 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing