We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
Ranked #13 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Location is absolutey excellent. Short walk to Fishermans Village, which IMHO is the best spot we visited on the island. Fishermans Village is lovely and quiet, with some excellent restaurants overlooking the beach. Hansar is a boutique hotel, but offers all 5 star facilities. Hotel staff were top notch - always smiling & helpful. Happy hour at the pool bar is 3 times daily (recommend the passionfruit mojito). Rooms were clean & well appointed. Breakfast was great. Well worth the money. If others have found fault I'd suggest they were too hard to please.

Room Tip: Rooms are in 3 floors serviced by stairs only. Request a room on the ground floor if you neec to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Beatshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 2,425 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

To start, the location is excellent. Unlike other luxury hotels in Bo Phut, the Hansar is 1-2 minute walk to Fisherman's Village, which opens up so many lunch, dinner, drinking, and shopping opportunities. Other hotels in Bo Phut are on the main street rather than in Fisherman's Village, which means that you will need to get in a taxi/tuk tuk every time you'd like to go out.

Next, the service was excellent. Everyone working at the hotel was so accommodating...from picking us up at the airport to daily requests to letting us shower in an empty room the night we checked out before boarding our flight to then dropping back off at the airport. Everything they did was perfect.

The room was great. We stayed in a king ocean view. Now, this does that you will get a shower thats sort of in the middle of the room with clear glass. So make sure you are traveling with someone you wouldn't mind seeing naked! As a side note, the room they let us take our pre-flight shower in was a twin room, and that had a more private shower...but this made it feel like romantic and chic. I guess it depends on personal prefs.

The gym was small but equipment was great and well air conditioned.

The pool was beyond words! We didn't know this until we checked out, but it got rated #2 best hotel pool in the world on Tripadvisor (not sure where, but they have the certificate at the front desk of the hotel).

Food and drinks were great. We stayed at similar high quality hotels throughout our stay in Thailand, and by far, Hansar had the best breakfast. I mean, who doesn't love homemade pain au chocolate!!! So many choices, all so fresh, coffee was delicious. We ate lunch at the hotel once. The portions were admittedly a little small, but the quality was excellent. Finally, the hotel has happy hour at the pool bar 3x a day, which is well received when its so hot out!

If we returned to Samui, we would only stay at the Hansar. We wish we were there now.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2lambstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was our 4th visit to Samui and our first away from Chewang, and we are so happy we chose the Hansar. The location is excellent and only a short walk to Fishermans Villiage which has everything Chewang has to offer but without the crowds. We stayed in a Sea View Room which is all you need and don't listen to the comments made about the toilets as there is a door which makes it private enough and anyway who hasn't spoken to there better half before whilst thay have been on the throne?? The beds are very comfortable and the turn down service at night gives a great touch of a rose and chocolate.

Breakfast which is included is excellent and the staff are very helpful and eager to take your order and get you a coffee or tea. We had a small child and at all times the staff could not do enough to make him smile and laugh and keep,him occupied which was a big help.

The pool is amazing and pool staff very helpful , it seemed there was never a time when we did not have a clean towel , drink/cocktail , with just a raise of our hand, even when it rained the pool staff would bring our drinks to our balcony and at all times were friendly, courteous and respectful of our needs.

Overall there is not one bad thing thing we can say about the Hansar it was fantastic and I recomend it to anyone that wants to visit Koh Samui. Thankyou Sam for all your help, also miss Cow for watching over our son, Dom, San, One, Koff, and Moon for looking after us so well around the pool bar you all truly made our holiday one to remember. We will be back for sure.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We chose the Hansar for the boutique decor and the convenient location. The pool was beautiful, the loungers were comfortable and plentiful. The Seaview XL room was really lovely, albeit the awkward loo that for some reason was separated from the room by a glass partition - not something you generally want to share with your significant other. The hotel staff were kind and helpful. Now for the less than stellar points.... The price in my opinion commands a higher level of service. The room comes with two towels which doesn't cut it if you stay in a place where your main activities include swimming, walking in very hot weather, and lounging in the sun. Most people I would gather will bathe more than once a day and the humidity doesn't exactly allow things to dry very quickly. Perhaps the turn down service could include a change of towel and a sweep of floor that naturally becomes dirty with sand as you come in from the beach. The bed had a bit of a hammock feel but the linens were clean and nice. Strangely, there is no lotion provided in the room. When we called housekeeping to inquire we were directed to the dispenser labeled "Mosquito Repellant" as the only available source of lotion. All this wouldn't be so jarring at a lower price point.

Room Tip: When choosing the Seaview XL, make sure to request the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I find it difficult to leave a review about Hansar, because there are many positive points, as well as negative ones.
My girlfriend and I have stayed 9 nights in a Seaview XL room.
The hotel is elegant looking, superb location, amazing swimming pool (worth mentioning there are plenty of sunloungers) surrounded by coconut trees.
The room itself is big (worth the extra dollars), looks good, and the balcony's day bed is huge (very useful for rainy days). Lighting (as reviewed by others) is insufficient, but what is not acceptable is the open toilet, separated from the room by a window! Design should have limits, and beeing on the loo is definitely not an activity you want to share with your significant half!

We were disappointed by the poolside menu..very limited, plate directly served on your towel, not even on a tray, this is not acceptable when prices are 5-star level (we have been to 6 senses and four seasons). A simple Coke is brought to you in a can, no lemon..again I wouldn't mind if prices were lower. Service was slow and no smile should be expected from waiters/waitresses.
Breakfast was quite ok.
Free Wifi impeccable.

Also not acceptable for this price tag (400USD per night), is the fact that the room's A/C is turned off when you leave your room.

I will not even bother reviewing the restaurants, they are overpriced, supposedly among the best in Thailand...well, maybe for people who do not have any taste buds and have never been to a proper restaurant. Honestly, shame on the canadian chef who should know better.

All this would not bother us too much, if the hotel was cheaper. But at a certain price level, one can expect certain things that were not delivered at Hansar Samui.

Room Tip: Seaview XL for the oversized room, and the huge (3m long) daybed on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paddymunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hansar Samui is a beautiful hotel --set in a very beautiful location --that was expected though, right?! What I found to be more of a surprise was the level of the service of the staff. The staff is extremely accommodating, kind and willing to go out of their way to make your stay a very special one. This was my first experience in Thailand and this property, but it won't be my last! Book with confidence. Oh, by the way... the pool is amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank christian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Hansar was the perfect hotel for us on our 4 day getaway in Samui. The reviews helped narrowed our search down to Hansar and when we got there, we could not be happier with the location, the service and comfort of the property.

The Bophut area is a lot less touristy than Chaweng and has a quaint and quiet feel to it. Only a 10 mins ride to Chaweng and 10mins in the opposite direction towards Mae Nam and Nathon. Getting around on the local transport is probably the most cost effective as it takes you practically everywhere you need to go on the island for a fraction of the price of a taxi.

The rooms were generous in size with a equally spacious balcony and day bed that invites you to laze and enjoythe sea view/breeze. My only gripe is the open shower/bathroom concept which faces the main door directly. Be sure to lock the door when you're in the shower. Bed and pillow was also a tad too soft for me but still comfortable enough to get a nice night sleep.

The guest service relations rep Marketa was more than welcoming on our arrival and gave us all the information we needed to get around Samui.

A short walk from Fishermen's Village which makes it convenient for us to pop over for lunch/dinners or hit the Friday night street market which is a must-see!

Room Tip: Room on a high floor gets a lovely view of the property and the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaszy_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,670 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,601 reviews
4 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
528 reviews
3.8 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#10 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#16 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $193 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing