We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around and loved it even more, definitely our 'second home' in Koh Samui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
Ranked #13 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Second time around and loved it even more, definitely our 'second home' in Koh Samui”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My partner are I came back to Koh Samui this year after an amazing holiday in June last year at the Hansar Samui Resort.

We actually stayed at a different resort this time and although this was great, we decided to stay one more night and go back to Hansar as having been to another part of the island, realised that the location of Hansar is absolutely perfect.

We were warmly greeted by the amazing staff at Hansar, as we advised we wanted to make the most of the day there we arrived early expecting that we wouldn't be able to check into our room until 2pm but the staff ensured that our room was available to check in straight away!

The sea view room was absolutely beautiful and very spacious, great value for money!

Hansar is only a short walk from Fisherman's wharf which is a perfect location for those wanting a variety of restaurants, cafes, shops and seaside bars. The vast array of choices means you never have to leave Bophut Bay.

The absolute highlight of our trip was dining at the H Bistro. Not only was the service friendly but the food presentation and taste was incredible. I thought eating at Gordon Ramsey's restaurant in New York was the best dining experience I'd ever have but H Bistro is now top of that list.

A thank you again to the attentive staff and Sam, Hotel Manager, for making our stay a memorable one, we were so glad to come back to Hansar and wished we could have stayed more than one night. I highly recommend Hansar to any couples looking for a relaxing, scenic and memorable holiday/honeymoon. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marissajulia_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,692
    412
    98
    24
    13
See reviews for
380
1,350
85
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bena, Victoria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We arrived in Samui and was happily greated at the airport by a Hansar staff member and swiftly transported to the hotel. Our first impression of the hotel was great, the foyer was open, simple and very modern. We were delighted with our room which was a Seaview XL. The room was large and the bed amazingly comfortable.

The service we experience by all staff was prompt and efficient and always with a smile. The pool staff including Jay, Fon and San was an absolute treat. They quickly remembered our names, where we liked to sit and what drinks we ordered at happy hour. Our experience quickly turned into fun lessons in learning to speak Thai.

The food at the hotel was fantastic. Breakfast was great, particularly the eggs benedict. A from food and beverage who was always on at breakfast greated us every morning with a warm welcome.

If you are feeling a little indulgent, the Luxsa massage at the spa is quite special, we returned for a massage 4 - 5 times during our stay.

The proximity of the hotel to the Fisherman's village is fantastic, it is only a 100 metre walk with plenty of choices for dinner. I would recommend Juzzas Pizza at the far end of the village. The seafood pasta is really something special.

We would particularly like to thank Sam who accommodated every request with ease and a smile. We very much look forward to returning to this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fowles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Hotel was nice enough. The rooms all had sea views. There is basically no privacy in the room: the bathroom is literally in the middle of the room. The balcony is nice and the bed is comfortable. Breakfast was included in the room rate. It was fine, but nothing spectacular. The staff was friendly, but I would not describe the service as good. The pool was large and nice but was FILLED with screaming children. Not that children are a problem, but screaming children with parents who do not remove them from the pool is problematic. The sand on beach was neither white nor fine. Perhaps it was the time of the year, but the water was not clear and not inviting. There is also a road that goes between the pool and the beach which is sort of a strange set up. Although you can order drinks and food by the pool, there is no one providing bottled water of cold towels as there are at other beach resorts I have been to in Asia. Overall, the resort was nice, but I would not say it was paradise on any level. It is near Fisherman's Village which is nice to be able to walk to for lunch or dinner or shopping. Biggest disappointment was the beach. Not that $150 a night is super expensive for a beach resort, but I would probably not chose to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nola1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

BEST VALUE FOR MONEY & SERVICE IN SAMUI

Don’t stay anywhere else, you will not be disappointed. A great hotel with exceptional service. My son and I stayed at Hansar Koh Samui for 11 nights in June, a holiday for rest, relaxation and rejuvenation after a extremely busy year. Hansar and its staff delivered all three and exceeded expectations, nothing was to much trouble for the staff at Hansar from the initial request for a booking, and airport transfers. From the moment you arrive at Hansar you are treated as a special guest, and looked after for the length of your visit.

The hotel facilities are excellent from the room with the most comfortable bed and pillows, the room had a lovely deck with a day bed, cable TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Hansar provided real coffee not instant this is my mind is a step up than most hotels. The hotel outlook was beautiful with views looking out to ocean and distant islands. The breakfast was very good, the food was fresh and extremely delicious as was the restaurant and the pool bar service menu we could not fault it at all.

The services provided are excellent, the reception staff can organise all your requests from car, taxi or motorbike hire, snorkeling or diving and sightseeing tours. The hotel provides free wifi which is a big plus when you are away from home.

The staff are the best I have encountered, the service exceptional and we left feeling like we were leaving our family behind. A special thanks to Indrah, Yui (Hansar mama), Sam, Kung, Mon, Ning Yoi, A, bird & Wut best cocktail shakers, San best pool service and many others, and last but not least the lovely girl they went and bought me some thai sandals which I wear everyday.

The spa was also excellent and provided a holistic service with knowledge of thai herbs and therapy I would have gone everyday if I could.

Thank you Hansar Samui for the best holiday ever

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LexieBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Our stay in Hansar Hotel was wonderful! REALLY nice and helpful staff, best restaurant we have eaten at in Samui, and especially we want to say a few words about the design of the Hotel. Maybe it's not everyone's taste. But it was 100% ours. Really refreshing and different to the usual resort design. We thought you can tell the influence of the owners wife who is Japanese quite well! And we loved the concept of the rooms with a wonderful outdoor "lounge" and seaview from every room.
Hansar hotel is at a nice location for hanging out at fishermans village. It's just a short walk to get there.
If you stay at Hansar Hotel, don't miss H Bistro! We loved it! I think it's fully justified that they have been selected as "Best Restaurant in Thailand 2011" by the Tatler Magazine!! Congratulations from us!
And try Spa! It's sooo worth it :)
Thanks for everything, Hansar-team :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Hunsar is really the place to spend an excellent vacation even when you don't have so much time to be away. I've been here when the hotel just opened in 2010 and i fell in love with this place. This second time, there was no disappointment at all. We stayed 2 nights in SeaViewXL very spacious room, complete amenities (even grounded coffee & green tea) , big balcony with rocking chairs and daybed and lastly the super comfortable bed we've ever slept in. Staff of the hotel were very friendly and attentive. We had 2 meals at H Bistro, the food was exquisite, really the best in town. The design of the hotel is very well designed which offers the sea view from all the angels of the hotel. We love spending time at the pool with the jacuzzi and some chill drinks, can't get any better than this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mergulhadora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I really enjoy the seaview room and its design. Love the bathroom in the room, it suits the newest couple to have a honeymoon trip here. It's hard to make a decision to swim in the pool or to jump into the sea. I absolutely recommend to everyone who ask me where to stay in Samui. I really don't want to check out!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amm_Junnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
3.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
3.8 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Property: Hansar Samui Resort
Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#10 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#19 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing