We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad day of snorkeling”
Review of Seahawk Speedboat

Seahawk Speedboat
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not bad day of snorkeling”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I read the most recent reviews and was a bit surprised. So the drop off point (headquarters I guess) is pretty gross. The "breakfast" sucked. White bread, bananas, and water. Plan on bringing your own (thank goodness we packed a mango & power bars).

Our boat was solidly packed with people, but the back was covered and it was a nice boat. The snorkeling at Koh Tao (2 different spots) was very nice. The fish were cool but the coral was boring & brown. I guess that's par for the course there. There were no other boats around us, so we weren't overcrowded in the water. Our guide was a pretty nice guy.

The lunch was decent. Nothing to write homes about but not awful either.

The afternoon Angthong National Park was ok. It was overcrowded. If we had brought better shoes, I would've hiked instead of snorkeling.

The ride back was choppy, but there were no other speed boats near us. I think the water is just choppier in the afternoon.

Overall I thought it was a pretty good trip. I wish the coral was better, but that's not their fault. I'd grab a couple of pieces of that bread if I were you to throw in to make the fish come up to the boat - one girl did that and it was pretty cool.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    7
    3
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poorly organised tourist soup.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Seahawk Koh Tao Nangyuan & Angthong National Park snorkelling & kayaking tour. Day trip.

Somewhat at a loss to know where to begin with our experience on this tour .... but here goes;

Having been recommended by the staff at the resort we booked this day tour we were picked up at 7:30 am & crammed into an already overcrowded mini bus. After a short 15 minute drive we arrived at Seahawks HQ which could be best described as a shanty town made from recycled crap. It's was a disgrace rubbish everywhere and dirty.

Stood in line for the checking procedure and were given a yellow wrist band and invited to enjoy breakfast which consisted of white bread smeared with jam and a banana also Nescafé sachets coffee and water - the latter which were in small plastic cups which required the top of the cup to be pierced with a straw to drink from - funny part was the straws were no where to be found so it was quite comedic to watch people try to open the water cups without the straws too bad if you needed a drink.

We waited for 40 mins with the now swelling hoards of tourists and were then advised ( being the yellow wrist bearers ) that we needed to be moved to another pier "ten minutes away" so we crammed back into the mini bus and drive for 20 mins to a pier where there were hundreds queuing, the driver opens the door says nothing gets back in the bus and we all stand there with no idea what to do or where to go. Eventually deciding to join the queue and wait to check in .....again. We get to a few people shy if the window and then a guy comes along and asks us where are we from we tell him Seahawk sent us here then he yells to the people behind the check in window and proceeds to tell us we don't need to wait and moves us through to the waiting area for more white bread, jam, bananas and Nescafé what a culinary feast.

So we wait...and wait...and wait. Finally we are given another wristband this time a blue one, one guy tells us to remove the yellow one one of his colleagues shouts at him and us to leave them on and wear both. And then......we wait and wait and wait and then we are called to follow one of the guys to the pier-well actually no pier the speed boat on the beach which is then crammed with too many people we had to sit up front no sun protection luckily we coated ourselves in sun lotion.

And we're away....ten minutes into the journey we are asked if we have our snorkelling gear with us ( not sure where we would be stashing it ) but clearly no no one on the boat does - which causes some thai banter and then some of us are required to write our names on a piece of paper - for which everyone gets a snorkel and mask. Happy days !

We arrive at the first snorkel location as per the title of this review is best described as "tourist soup" in fact the tourists outnumber the fish. Pretty average site and way too many boats for other companies.

We move on to Koh Tao beautiful but so spoilt by the amount of rubbish on the beach and the general state of the place is disgusting - National Park ?? Seriously ??

On again to another island and lunch and kayaking. Not five star dining that's for sure but it was passable. I read another review of someone's experience saying not to use the toilet but if you need to go the go somewhere in the bush - if you take away anything from this review heed this advice ! Enough said.

The rest is a blur, we begin the trip back on very rough seas many of the passengers are sick we are thrown about like rag dolls in the boat much to the initial amusement of the crew until my better half lands on his wrist and his himself. Up until that point it was a game for the crew who were more interested in drag racing one of the other boats. A very rough trip back with the boat smashing into waves - if you have back problems or even you don't by the end of this trip you will have.

Eventually arrive back on shore thinking the day couldn't get any worse and just wanting to get back to our resort. We disembark the overcrowded boat head up the beach to meet hundreds of others milling about a few thai people with lists. After telling them where we were staying and three of them trying to find us or at least our resort we are told "bus 23" we walk to bus 23 and are told no no go back no.

We go back try again still no idea. Which resort ? Which boat you from ? We are asked. We give up walk 20 meters and pay 600 bht for a cab ride home.

Do yourself a favour don't touch this tour or provider with a barge pole.

* as a footnote we provided the resort we are staying at feedback we haven't heard any further and don't expect too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Do Not Use ! Dangerous”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Wow, I hate to throw any small business under the bus...But this tour was flat out terrible and borderline dangerous. No Safety precautions ( where are the life vests? ) Fuel Fumes, overbooked with not enough seats, I saw no less than 5 people get sick on the boat, dangerous gangplank getting on and off boat at several stops. The 1.5 hour ride turned into 2.5 hours on our return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very elementary”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I just couldn't believe the standard of boats when we first arrived. Bits of fibreglass hanging off, dirty, oil leaking motors and no signage; presumably this is so no tourists identify the company which has all these bad reviews.

There is no pier at their base, you have to walk through filthy water to get onto the boat. There is no safety message provided, you just get one and its full throttle from about 100m out. Full throttle for us was quite slow as we only had two of the three motors working out to Koh Tao.

There are complimentary soft drinks and water all day.

Snorkelling is ok but in comparison to Australia pretty average.

Food at Koh Tao was average. Nice little village though that is worth a wander.

The private island is so busy it's unenjoyable. The water is clear and there are plenty of fish to see but it's just so busy!

Guides couldn't speak much English so I'd hate to be on that boat in an emergency.

Overall, it was a pretty average day and we wished we had gone with another company.

Helpful?
Thank Ridemtbsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were picked up from our hotel and driven to a shop where our driver was screamed at by a lady and we were hurried out of the van very rudely. Then we were taken to the back of the unit to find virtually no one there. We then had to sign an insurance form and were shown a hot water urn and some Nescafé sachets.
We sat for ages as others arrived, we observed 2 boats of dubious quality moored of a rather grubby beach – no pier.
No one seemed to know what was going on.
Finally we boarded, initially worried about how many people were going to be loaded but our boat to Koh Tao was Ok. We had to wade across the to water to clamber onto the boat.
There we waited for ages and then the other boat left. We waited and waited and no one seemed to know what was happening.
Finally we left an hour late but only managed to get a few 100 yards before the outboard packed up. We limped back to shore where someone hit it with a hammer and we set off.
The hour and half ride is pretty horrendous, 2 children were sick. We had to miss one snorkelling stop due to the late start.
However the lunch was very good.

We felt this was a very fly by night set up and had some concern regarding safety and although the crew were very nice I would not recommend this trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thamesbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seahawk Speedboat also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Chaweng, Bophut
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Seahawk Speedboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing