We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK .....nothing special”
Review of Krua Bophut

Krua Bophut
Ranked #54 of 447 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“OK .....nothing special”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Ate here once and was not overly impressed with the food or the service or ambience. The green curry was tempered for western palates not what i look for but perfectly edible, pad thai noodle was slightly better but there are better places to dine.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    402
    156
    68
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
“Very good!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch to Krua Bophut. The restaurant was at that moment empty, only a red cat was lying in the window ( the cat was not anoying, he was only sleeping). The red curry and the chicken coconut soup are delicious and the service good!! Not all the ladies can spea english, but some of them.

A good restaurant with very good food for lunch of dinner!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sophi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Best curry on the Island”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Best curry that I sampled in Koh Samui.

Not a bad start but more later on the curry. It was time for dinner and Krua Bophut is a large wooden restaurant with outdoor seating on the beach. It was very warm that night and the mosquito’s enjoying making my wife suffer so we chose a window seat inside that allowed us to pretend we were outside while in the safety of the air conditioning.


The staff are very friendly and very efficient. We chose the mixed starters to begin with:


These were great and had a nice mixture of fish, meat and veg to choose from. From main I had chosen a Massaman Curry and my wife a red curry.

Im not going to lie or exaggerate here, my Massaman curry has set my new benchmark for currys of any region in the world. It was terrific. Full of beef and potatoes and managed to be thick, sweet, sour, spicey and creamy all in one go. I ended up having Massaman curry in every Thai restaurant for the rest of our holiday to make sure I hadnt got a little giddy and not one of them could compare to this. Fantastic.

The bill was criminally cheap. I had to check it twice to make sure we had been charged correctly (we had) for this level of taste and experience Krua Bophut has to be top of your list in Bo Phut.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“A beautiful restaurant on Bophut beach”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were there really late (after 10pm), so we only had soups there (the famous coconut milk Thai soup!). Even though the portions were on the small(er) side, the soup was delicious. The ocean views, though, are breathtaking. Both the inside and outside seating areas are simply beautiful and romantic. The service was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cgrecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food in Bo Phut!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went here twice, very nice Thai food, good banquets available! The first time I went we got hassled by someone for money (free beer if you donate money to them... ??) which was a bit annoying, but didn't dull the flavours of the food at all. Highly recommend for anyone staying in the Bo Phut region.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraTheNaturopath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Bophut also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Krua Bophut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing