We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much people and very rough sea”
Review of Tours Koh Samui

Tours Koh Samui
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.58*
and up
Classic Thai Yachts Sunset Boutique Cruise to Ang Thong Park
More Info
$76.96*
and up
Half-Day Island Hopping and Snorkeling to Koh Taen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tours Koh Samui is a local operator and travel agency with administrative office in Chaweng and service center at Choengmon Beach Ko Samui and over 16 years of experience. We specialize in organizing tours and excursions on and around Ko Samui, such as our most popular excursion, Sea Safari to the Ang Thong National Marine Park featuring snorkeling and kayaking, and sightseeing.We also offer Ko Samui based snorkeling trip to Koh Tao and Koh Nangyuan abroad comfortable high speed boats or 4X4 Island Jungle tours on Ko Samui. We specialize in arranging private, tailor-made tours and boat charters to suit our clients’ wishes.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too much people and very rough sea”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

When we booked the tour we had the impression that there were going to be fewer poeple because of the speedboats. We couldnt have been more wrong. It was crowded on all the stops.

The sea was very VERY rough and therefore the snorkling was very bad. You couldnt see anything in the water. So if you want to see some beautiful fish and marinlife , this isnt the trip! I couldnt understand for the life of me how they can send out massive amounts of tourists on rough sea when the know that the snorkling is going to be terrible as well as the boat ride.

The emerald lake was really beautiful though. But beware that there are very steep steps to get to the viewing platforms. Not suitable for children or people who are not in good health because its warm and exhausting to climb up and down. Unfortunatly there was a family on our trip with 2 small children and they couldnt enjoy anything on the trip ( rough sea made the children scared, too steep steps, too rough currents in the snorkling section).

So even though our contact with the company was very good I still wouldnt recommend this trip with all my heart as everybody else is doing. the only thing that was worth seeing was the emerald lake.

AND on our way back to the pier for drop off, our boat decided to drop off several people on the way ( 3 stops) which meant that the time going home went from 45 min to the pier to over 1,5h! Thats is totally unacceptable to me. Everybody wants to go home at the end of the day and at least I dont want to be apart of some taxi dropoff at every corner.

Tip: bring extra snacks between all the stops! You will need it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samui-holiday, Manager at Tours Koh Samui, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that we did not met your expectations with regards to the Ang Thong National Marine tour you have taken with us. Unfortunately, when weather conditions are not favourable the ride on the speed boat can be difficult and snorkeling conditions poor. Speed boat trip and snorkeling is outdoor activity, guests need to be aware that experience can very due to sea and weather conditions that we have no influence on.

We do our best to only run trips when the weather is good by checking the most reliable weather forecast, looking at actual weather in the morning of the tour at Koh Samui and the destination of the tour. However, weather conditions in the topics can change very quickly from one moment to the other. Each island have its own micro weather system which make any weather forecasting difficult if not impossible. This is why our refund and cancellation policy is very flexible allowing guests to change the date of the tour or cancel reservation for full refund in accordance to our policy as detailed in our website.

We do advise at our website that the speed boat ride may be difficult and advise guests to select the tour boat especially with young children. As explained the snorkelling on the tour is not the highlight of the tour! If you select this tour for snorkelling, unfortunately you had selected the wrong tour.

We design our tour in an effort to avoid other companies with large groups. Normally we are successful, but in high season with unfavorable weather other companies change schedule, snorkeling areas and timing which can cause stops we visit to get crowded.

We do sometimes drop off guests on the way back to Koh Samui at the beach of their hotel in Menam and Bophut beach. This normally takes just few minutes and can be fun to get to see the beaches of Samui from the sea.

I would like to apologize for your experience with the tour but I am quite sure that if the weather conditions have been good your experience with the tour would have been positive.

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    77
    25
    15
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“4 tours completed”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

During our stay in Koh Samui we booked 4 tours with this company. We did the koh phagnan sailing cruise, private tour of the island, koh tao snorkeling and ang thong marine park. All communication with the manager Ron were quick and informative and booking was made easy prior to arriving on the island. Highly recommend koh phagnan junk boat sailing cruise. Lovely day out on a well maintained and spacious boat to whichthe staff on board really looked after us. Good way to see parts of the island. Private tour was tailored to what we requested to see and our driver and tour guide where knowledgeable and kept us away from the crowds at most of the places we seen due to their previous experience of busy tourist times. Koh tao and islands snorkeling is a must if you want clear water perfect for seeing the tropical fish that swim there. Been snorkelling in a few countries now and at koh tao was the clearest ive seen before. Speed boat was quick enough to get u there and the staff look after you and keep you entertained during your tour. Ang thongmarine park was wonderful to see but due to the business of the snorkelling at the start of this tour we fell for the first time on our trip that we were tourists in a cattle market and didn't enjoy this part. Especially after koh tao the day before snorkelling here just didnt compare. After that though the tour was worth the money for the scenery and I would recommend.

The reason these tours were given 4 stars instead of 5 was that before the koh tao tour we were picked up half an hour late by a maniac driver who was not up to the standards expected of a tour guide company looking to safely transport tourists to and from their destinations. The driving on koh Samui at the best of times isnt the best but sitting in a back seat watching ur life fladh infront of you isnt what I paid for. Coming off the tour with the same driver after picking up his gf/friend in chaweng nearly went into the back of the cars infront 3 times due to talking to our extra passenger in the front seat. This driver does not represent the rest of the drivers we used though as the rest were safe and didnt make me feel uncomfortable at all. Also when a driver is late a call to the next hotel from the driver would be nice to let them know that you are still coming as without communication we were sitting thinking we had been forgotten about until I had to call (on Thailand rates on my mobile) the number on the voucher to chase up our driver and find out whats happening.

All in all the driver issue aside I do highly recommend this company as we enjoyed all 4 of our tours. Its not usual you can do as many tours with the same company and say that about them.

on a final note for anyone wanting to use the toilet on these tours I recommend bringing toilet roll as facilities at most places are poor at best and toilet roll is like gold dust.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PQ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papunya
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“tours of koh samui”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

we booked our tours whilst we were there and had a great time. we went on an elephant ride and a trip on a jeep through the jungle to a great waterfall and had a fantastic swim. everything was done perfectly and all went to plan and we would go again anytime perfect

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyvicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still worth a visit”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a pretty normal tour. Basically, forty people gathered on a boat and then went to different destinations. When we got there, we started playing. Although the guide is pretty funny, there wasn't many communication between the guide and the tourists during the tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeiLi_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An amazing day out!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked a private tour in an air conditioned 4x4 style vehicle. It was so hot we were extremely thankful we has the a/c! We had a driver, a guide and someone who was in charge of drinks. We learned so much and got to choose the sights and activities we wanted to do. We were away from the crowds and had an amazing time. We had time to go shopping at attractions as well. We were never rushed at all. We highly recommend them as a company. We paid a deposit via paypal before we left for Thailand and all emails were replied to. We even had a confirmation phonecall the day before at our hotel. We were picked up on time, the driver was smooth and safe as well. I believe you can do a private tour for a little less if you just use an english speaking driver. It was my partners highlight of the holiday!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tumble_Dumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours Koh Samui also viewed

 

Been to Tours Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing