We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine food”

Starfish and Coffee
Ranked #4 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine food”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurant and the food was also nice. Nothing special but good food for an ok price. We had the massaman curry and pad thai.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sebastiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    166
    63
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Favourite Restaurant in Koh Samui...”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went to this restaurant twice during our holiday to Koh Samui, the first time was on a Friday night at Fisherman's Village... The garlic & pepper shrimp was to die for... All the food was beautifully presented & the staff were so friendly. We had a table looking over the beach.
Plus on a Friday this is located right in Fisherman's Village, so you are right in the middle of the night market... Perfect location!
On our second trip there we arrived early (approx. 12 noon) & all the restaurants in the Village were closed... When we asked the staff there when they were opening, they welcomed us in & opened the kitchen just for us... We had fantastic lobster overlooking the beach again.
Just a fantastic place with such lovely staff... I would recommend it to anyone! And it is very reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly_Mayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Reasonable food with a nice view”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We found the restaurant online when looking for a last night romantic restaurant. We walked down Fishermans Village and this one definitely seemed to stand out. It was quiet season so none of the restaurants were busy. We were able to sit at a table right next to the beach, it was a beautiful view.

We ordered two dishes to start. The language barrier was an issue and they brought one dish out incorrect. They fixed it right away and brought out the correct dish, which was pretty good. Overall all the food was good, but not great. Also this was our last night so we were comparing the food to a lot of other meals we had. One dish my wife loved was the fried rice with coconut in it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvanF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We debated about visiting Starfish and Coffee based on reviews it seemed to be a bit hit and miss. Its also arguably one of the largest restaurants in fisherman’s village with a sprawling indoors, balcony and beach area. I decided it was worth a try so in we went and choose to sit on the balcony.


Its actually a very nice place to be in with quality furnishings and what appears to be an army of staff to make sure you are cared for. Prices for drinks were reasonable and the food menu was huge with lots of seafood on offer.

We didnt have a starter for no other reason than not feeling it necessary. I went with a massaman beef curry and my wife for a prawn curry. Both were very good. Both the best on the island but Starfish and Coffee was absolutely worth a try in our experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice venue & reasonably priced”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We tried this restaurant as we had good memories of this place from last year. Pleased to say it's still very good. We had a green chicken curry & a red chicken curry and both were delicious. The restaurant is overlooking the beach or you can be seated actually on the beach - either way, there's a nice atmosphere here and we found the service good. The manager came over and welcomed us to the restaurant and gave us tips about places to see. He also helped out by calling our hotel to organise our taxi home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starfish and Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Starfish and Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing