We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bophut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Grove Samui
Ranked #176 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
the world
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Ive been staying at Mandalay a few times, and aprox 30days total.
The rooms have everything you need, AC or fan, fridge, TV
Clean rooms.
The cleaning is good and the laundry service is fast and cheap.

Saftybox in reception (you cannot acess your box between 22:00 - 07:00 because the reception is closed)
Free Wifi in reception (and some rooms near reception). Or you can use the computer they have for a 1bath/minute.

If you have a guest over the night you have to pay 200bath to the guard, and they take name etc on the ID-card on your guest.
The location is great, near beach near bars near everything :).

The only thing i did not like was that breakfast was to expensive. but you can easly bargain and get the breakfast included in the price of the room.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JurgenVonSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    7
    0
    4
See reviews for
1
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I'm reluctant to give a review for this place because it really is a hidden gem. The first time I stayed here was a couple of years ago, the first time I visited Thailand. I arrived in Samui late at night with no accommodation and the taxi driver suggested it. We were a group of fella's and we paid for one night just to bed down until we found somewhere else. That night we got involved in the famous Wednesday party outside Ark Bar next door The following morning we paid for the next 10 days and didn't budge. But let's get one thing straight from the offset; the charm of the Mandalay isn't in the no-frills, rustic bamboo bungalows that the venue is comprised of; it isn't the small little dunking pool next to the kitchen that serves the mediocre food; it isn't in the fact that the lights or the air-con or the fan don't always work, or the shower might not always give you hot water. The charm of the Mandalay is that once you've settled in, realise that you're in the heart of Chaweng with a cash machine, chemist and moped rental on your doorstep, with the best beach party in the resort going off every night next door at Ark Bar; you genuinely feel at home. It's jsut so casual and relaxed (as long as you don't act like a complete d**k)

The head guard (spitting image of Jackie Chan) doesn't say much, but once he get's to know you he'll protect you from rogue traders and ensure any goods you lose that are found are then returned. Puyi, the head receptionist is just an angel. The big double beds in the room are comfy, and the air con (once it's working) does the job. I guarantee you won't find anywhere with aircon and a location like this for the price in such a good location on Chaweng. There's even free safe storage in the reception. The one downside about this place is that, although the beach is nice by standard standards, by Thai standard's it's not the best. Sure the sea is clear and blue and rushes right up the hotel doorsteps in the morning, but the seabed outside the Mandalay is rocky, so be warned. if you're going to go swimming out to see, stroll on up 20 meters or so or you're going to stub your toe! That said, it's perfectly good to go our for a dip when you've been laying out in the sun for hours (did I mention that even the sunbeds are free?)

This is definately not the place if you're away with the wife or girlfriend and want that low priced Thai paradise comfort; but if you and your mates want your own individual bungalow at a price that you can afford for a few days, a week - a month (I met a young Australian guy who'd been living their for 18 months) you can't do much better... Sorry I mentioned it now, I bet it's full next time I go ;-)

Room Tip: Don't be a d**k, show respect to the owners and they'll look after you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeasleyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuau
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I found this place by mistake in 2005 it was great then and has now upgraded it's rooms and area around the hotel as well. Had small room but it's own house. Had good a/c but broke but was fixed asap when I told Manager, she was awesome. Rained like crazey for 2 days but my room very dry. Close the the beach and the Ark Bar. They have killer food and good drinks. Love the nite dining in front on the beach w/fireworks and all. Also close to all night life there is in town and food at all hours of the night. Since 2005 I have stayed here 4 times and will always stay here when in town. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieSUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Location wise, great for beach and main street! Friendly owner but a hard bargainer. Only got it down to 750 baht not including breakfast.
Had all the amenities like fridge, air-con and fan. No hot water working in either our cabin or our friend's. Were due to be fixed the day after we left, of course.
Make sure you change the Red/Green coloured signs for them to clean your room. They leave them on Red and will only clean room if you swap it to green. Sneaky.

Both us and friend had our bags rummaged through. We always set our combination locks to a particular code ie 007. If its changed much then you know someone's had a go at cracking it.
My own locks had been tampered with as one was pretty much falling apart.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fox C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Longtime here (I mean Samui)
this year try to rent house. But anyway back here.
Reasons-not need motobike-beach 20meter, food anytime around
Cheap.
Good stuff (not Thai-Myanma people)
Only not too good- in the night some people prefer to drink and talk and make party. Till 6am.
Also if wanna take thai girl with you - tell the stuff before so they put you in the special list or security ask to pay for guest visit.
Also the next hotel-arkbar with beautiful restaurant and party

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Me and my friend arrived here for our first night on Koh Samui and after much anticipation we were pleasantly surprised! Samui mandalay is about a 30 sec walk to the beach and 30sec walk to the main road... Chaweng is very touristy, not our cups of tea.. but if you like to be in the admist of it all then Samui Mandalay is perfect.
We had a twin room with shower,a/c, tv and mini fridge for 600 baht a night (£12). You do really need a/c or a fan in the heat and the mini-fridge was so good to keep our water in. We realised after staying at many other places after Samui Mandalay during our trip, that this hotel was the most expensive (only by like 100 baht) but definitely one of the nicest and most comfortable. We only stayed 2 nights and moved onto Lamai beach. Overall it was basic and clean, what more can you ask for really.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I stayed at the Cocount Grove Hotel not the Samui Mandalay part. We paid 800bht for a large room with a double and single bed. Air con, hot water and cable tv. Clean room looks recently done up though it appears bathroom wasn't! No issues with bugs or noise (except planes during day) Very close to beach, just a quick walk through to the Ark bar which is a awesome place to chill/party on Chaweng Beach. Equally close to the Green Mango and other clubs/bars. If all you want is a clean simple hotel then this is the place

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BLiCK5BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
2,089 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Baan Rom Mai
Baan Rom Mai
#18 of 65 in Chaweng
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Samui

Property: Coconut Grove Samui
Address: 159/5 Moo 2 Bophut | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Samui Mandalay Hotel Bophut
Coconut Grove Samui Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing