We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coconut Grove Samui
Nearby Hotels
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
P & T Hostel(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$7
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bo Phut Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$205
$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Sawan Samui Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tongsai Bay(Bophut)
$434
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanna Samui(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$107
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
$193
$183
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Dance Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$102
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buri Rasa Village Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$142
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$456
$311
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
2
8
7
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
8
7
0
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 21 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Location wise, great for beach and main street! Friendly owner but a hard bargainer. Only got it down to 750 baht not including breakfast.
Had all the amenities like fridge, air-con and fan. No hot water working in either our cabin or our friend's. Were due to be fixed the day after we left, of course.
Make sure you change the Red/Green coloured signs for them to clean your room. They leave them on Red and will only clean room if you swap it to green. Sneaky.

Both us and friend had our bags rummaged through. We always set our combination locks to a particular code ie 007. If its changed much then you know someone's had a go at cracking it.
My own locks had been tampered with as one was pretty much falling apart.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fox C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Longtime here (I mean Samui)
this year try to rent house. But anyway back here.
Reasons-not need motobike-beach 20meter, food anytime around
Cheap.
Good stuff (not Thai-Myanma people)
Only not too good- in the night some people prefer to drink and talk and make party. Till 6am.
Also if wanna take thai girl with you - tell the stuff before so they put you in the special list or security ask to pay for guest visit.
Also the next hotel-arkbar with beautiful restaurant and party

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Me and my friend arrived here for our first night on Koh Samui and after much anticipation we were pleasantly surprised! Samui mandalay is about a 30 sec walk to the beach and 30sec walk to the main road... Chaweng is very touristy, not our cups of tea.. but if you like to be in the admist of it all then Samui Mandalay is perfect.
We had a twin room with shower,a/c, tv and mini fridge for 600 baht a night (£12). You do really need a/c or a fan in the heat and the mini-fridge was so good to keep our water in. We realised after staying at many other places after Samui Mandalay during our trip, that this hotel was the most expensive (only by like 100 baht) but definitely one of the nicest and most comfortable. We only stayed 2 nights and moved onto Lamai beach. Overall it was basic and clean, what more can you ask for really.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I stayed at the Cocount Grove Hotel not the Samui Mandalay part. We paid 800bht for a large room with a double and single bed. Air con, hot water and cable tv. Clean room looks recently done up though it appears bathroom wasn't! No issues with bugs or noise (except planes during day) Very close to beach, just a quick walk through to the Ark bar which is a awesome place to chill/party on Chaweng Beach. Equally close to the Green Mango and other clubs/bars. If all you want is a clean simple hotel then this is the place

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank BLiCK5BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

800 baht for good room with: TV, big fridge, very good bed, hot shower and small terrace with furniture. Walking distance: To beach 1 min, to city center 1,5 min. Good security despite low budget standard. One of the best bed i slept in during holiday trips.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews