We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends what you are looking for”

Shades Beach Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #342 of 444 Restaurants in Bophut
Price range: $3 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Depends what you are looking for”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We were doing a Happy Hour beer and cocktail pub crawl of a few places in the old fishermans village. Cocktail was small, the beer was warm and the chairs uncomfortable. Probably give this one a miss next time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    95
    68
    65
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor but perhaps we were unlucky...”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had to wait ages and ages for our steaks which were being grilled on the barbie just outside the restaurant. My steak was excellent, my husbands was like leather. And that was after we waited about 50 minutes for the food. But we might have been unlucky - this restaurant is obviously popular

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsHoneychurchTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible place in bo phut”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We came for a dinner we ordered still water not cold for our son and wait about 20 minutes the food was like food fro frozen packet in supermarket. Jumbo prawns looks like a dead shrimps. Never again

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slavaspitsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice thaifood on beach”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Location supernice, you can sit on the beach or inside with open walls and view on beach. Nice and simple thaifood. Not expensive. We were there for lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrible service, okay food, great location - go to Krua Bophut instead”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We went here for dinner and sat at a table on the beach which was lovely. Food was okay but nothing spectacular. The beach side location is what sold us but there are other restaurants in the area that were better at the same price point. We were two couples. The girls ordered a bottle of wine and the guys ordered beer. The first round came out no problem, but when our food came, the guys ordered another round which only came to our table 15 minutes after ordering it, and then only because my husband went up to the bar to try to get it himself. Also, the meals are not served with steamed rice (which is standard) but usually in Thailand you are offered steamed rice for a small additional charge at the time of placing the order if this is the case. We were not offered any and so when our meals came we put in an order for steamed rice. We waited a good 10 minutes for it to arrive, all the while our hot food was becoming less and less hot. The wait staff seemed to be running around in circles at times and just hanging out, doing nothing at other times. The wait staff needs some major training and better management. If the service had been better, this restaurant would have met my minimum expectations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank I_love_to_travel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shades Beach Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Shades Beach Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing