We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable Small Boutique Resort in Samui”
Review of The Scent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 151 Bophut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Suitable Small Boutique Resort in Samui”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

There's completely call SMALL LUXURY RESORT...Just 13 rooms are uniquely by the design. Restaurant are the best in Samui. Best ABF ever I had in my life. Not far from airport & Chaweng Beach. Every convenience stay especially you can buy Karmakamet. You can walk throughout the hotel with fabulous aromatic scent. FAbulousssss

I will be back soon :-)

Room Tip: Choose beachfront room will make you memorable stay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t_fabbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    115
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
46
219
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I traveled on my own to Samui for some quiet time. I knew nothing about the layout of the island, towns, or beaches. What I did know was that I didn't want to stay in a touristy, dirty, and noisy area.

The Scent ended up being a great choice. Architecturally speaking, it is very attractive and quaint. The pool is not large, but great for a cooling dip. The rooms are well-appointed and styled with panache (and a great scent). The restaurant and bar area are open and well attended - but not cheap by Thailand standards. Frankly, the breakfast is priced way too high. I chose not to include it in my rate (long-haul jet lag always messes up my eating schedule for a few days, anyway).

If you are looking for a hotel with a great beach to swim, this is not it. The coast off of Bangrak is very shallow and mostly clay. The beach itself is great for a lay-about, and the water is warm, but walking on the clay-sand to get deep enough to swim is not a great experience.

Just up from this hotel I found one of those great family-run seaside restaurants that keeps bringing me back to Thailand. Though you CAN walk to many restaurants near this hotel, I gave in after two days and rented a scooter. I thought it was a dangerous idea at first - but I ended up having a great time riding all around the island.

The old Fishing Village is just up the road - with many restaurants to keep you satiated. If you want to day trip over to Chewang, it takes about 15 minutes by motor scooter. I wasn't impressed with Chewang - it met all of the bad criteria I listed at the start of this review.

Thailand... it has a way of taking you far outside of your comfort zone while simultaneously relaxing you more than just about any other destination.

Room Tip: Spend the extra cash and get a sea-side room with outside access. They weren't available when I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasG1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I cannot add much more to Jewels_Gva review below it pretty much sums up this hotel. It is beautiful in a lovely location and the food is excellent. We also found it strange in such a small hotel we did not once meet a manager. Although the staff try very hard they don't really seem to know what to do. There is a touch of Faulty Towers about this hotel.
They offer afternoon tea and we asked for coffee - we were told NO it is afternoon tea you get tea. To be fair some time after they returned and said the invisible manager had approved coffee.

The other thing we liked was that all prices for food and drink were inclusive not the usual ++.
We did not swim in the sea but enjoyed the pool.

Overall I would return for another short stay (we stayed 2 nights) as it offers great value in Koh Samui and we did enjoy our stay but the management need to improve.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is what a boutique hotel should be. A small, charming and well-appointed hotel, it only has a few units all overlooking a pool. Each room has its own theme and is decorated as such, down to the small details.

Sure, perhaps the lighting is a bit too dark. And perhaps there isn't enough water pressure coming from the antique brass piping. But this hotel is about mood and ambience and it gets the proportions just right. Its total opposite is the Holiday Inn, where you can have the conveniences you want, but stripped of all charm.

It also has quality toiletries and incense (it wouldn't be the scent hotel otherwise).

It sits on a beach in Boput; perhaps not the nicest beach on the island, but definitely among the quietest and far from the crowds of Chaweng.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lefrogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for one week in the Scent, and I have to say this is a particularly difficult review to write, as I have some very strong mixed feelings about this place, and particularly the way it is being managed with low regard for its clients.

LOCATION




The hotel is located on Bophut Beach, more particularly in Bangrak, which is a quieter area than Chaweng Beach. The beach itself is rather narrow, and the sand is not very fine. If you have sensitive feet, jelly shoes might even be necessary in some places. On the road side of things, there are some shops, massage places, restaurants within walking distance (try the first one on the left down the beach), but you'd be better off renting a scooter. With no means of transportation, it could feel a little isolated. The first surprise is how close to the road the hotel is located. Barely a couple parking spots, and you are inside the property, so you can quite clearly hear traffic no matter where you are in the hotel, and it is a road that is quite busy. The airport is located 10 minutes away, so you can also hear (and see) the airplanes, but I did not find this too disturbing, and Samui is a small island, so almost everything is near the airport!


AMBIENCE



From the entrance, to the rooms, common spaces and every single leaf or flower, this hotel is exquisitely decorated. Not a single detail is missing and everything has been carefully thought out to convey an atmosphere of understated luxury of another era. Day and night, everything that meets the eye is beauty and serenity and the hotel is flawlessly maintained. There are three themes to the rooms: Chinese, Thai and European, but basically, it all turns around a colonial theme. The design is basically one courtyard that is mainly occupied by the pool, with the restaurant installed at its end, beach side. The rooms are arranged in a U shape around the pool, on two stories. Obviously, this was done to make the best use of the limited space, but it has several drawbacks. First of all, there are no comfortable loungers by the pool, only a few chairs in colonial style, but not ones where you would enjoy staying for a few hours. There are some loungers near the sea, but not necessarily convenient if you enjoy dipping in the pool a lot. The second problem is the noise, which has a tendency to reverberate around the pool area. Although as described above, the theme and general decoration of the place (definitely not child proofed) seems unsuitable to children under 12, this is not the policy of the hotel. Therefore, it can get quite noisy if there are several families enjoying the pool and can result in some loud wake up "calls" at 7 am…


ROOM



We chose a beach side suite (221), with a large private balcony, complete with sofas and hammock. Although we absolutely loved our terrace, which provided a safe haven from the sun, we found the room quite small. To note that we could still hear some traffic noise, and that the box for the kitchen air conditioner is located against the bedroom's outer wall, and can be quite loud during the day, particularly on the terrace. Fortunately, it is turned off at night. Another drawback of the hotel is the fact that it has obviously been designed by a gifted decorator, but one who did not bother for the practical side of things. The room was absolutely beautiful and filled with antiques and little artefacts, but there was only little closet space (1 drawer, a few hangers), definitely not enough to get comfortable if you stay for a week. Among other design flaws: hardly any electrical sockets, no towel hanger near the sink, they were all next to the toilet, rain shower that was beautiful, but hardly practical, water temperature close to boiling point, wc shower leaking, etc. One nice thing to note is the perfume diffuser, which added a very nice touch to the room.

As for other rooms, the way the courtyard is designed, unless you have a beach facing room, you are basically facing the pool, with no other source of light. To maintain privacy, you need to keep your blinds closed at all time, otherwise anyone passing by can see inside your room. I would definitely not recommend to book any of these rooms, which would feel like unlit "caverns".


BREAKFAST & FOOD



The breakfast was excellent, composed of a fixed part: toasts, croissants, jams and fresh fruit, and an "à la carte selection". A special mention to their eggs Benedict, which are fabulous, but we also appreciated the granola, French toasts, waffles, etc. The choice is quite vast, and everything we tasted was really good. They definitely have an excellent cook there, but we did not sample the restaurant, as we were interested in local food, rather than French. However, judging on breakfast quality, I am sure the offering is excellent, although the prices are pretty steep. In our package, we also benefited from a complimentary afternoon tea. On our first day, we were told that there was only one tea choice per room… meaning that my partner and I had to select exactly the same tea, although our tastes are different. We found that completely cheap and tacky, and definitely out of line with the standard they are trying to give to the hotel! They should either NOT serve complimentary tea, or serve Twinnings and allow you to choose whatever tea you like. However, a few days later, we witnessed the restaurant manager giving a hard time to the staff about the number of teabags remaining in the box, which put the entire first day episode in a new light. Very classy behavior in front of guests I must say…


SERVICE




This is where things get a bit complicated. In general, the charming and immaculately dressed staff was very nice and attentive, although sometimes slow. However, you could see that there was a clear lack of guidance from management, which was basically completely absent. The restaurant manager showed up once, never even bothered to say hello to clients, and made comments to the staff about how paying or complementary services should be given differently, again, within earshot of hotel guests. In general, we received attention from management only when they desperately tried to convince us to have dinner at the restaurant, which was completely empty a few nights in a row. This obviously did not make us feel valued as guests, but rather considered as walking wallets. One day, they undertook very noisy renovation work in the hotel, which can of course happen, but never bothered to warn guests in advance or even apologize for the inconvenience. On the same day, they set to repair blinds on our terrace, and although I was reading on a sofa, saw no problems at having 5 staff members (including 2 standing on the rail of the balcony risking breaking their neck!) work right under my nose for more than half an hour… again, a lame and vague apology from the front desk manager who also did not even have the presence of mind to carry out this not urgent reparation when we were away. To me this demonstrates a poor service mentality on the part of the management. Again, the rest of the staff, and particularly housekeeping, was very attentive and nice.


VALUE




As we were at the hotel during the low season, the price was very reasonable for Samui.


IN SUM



Extremely beautiful and well maintained place, with a fantastic potential, but plagued by poor (when not rude) management.

Room Tip: Only two rooms in the hotel are worth your money: the beachfront suite with a terrace on the 2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewels_Gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trnava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Beautiful hidden gem that has a breathless view and an incredible lunch menu with service that was first class.
Stumbled upon this diamond and was immediately reminded how tranquil Koh Samui is.
Lunch there in the afternoon and a guided tour of the grounds by a lovely staff member, Miss May.
Kind, knowledgeable and truly a leader in the way Thai hospitality is presented.
Next time I will stay here and not on Chaweng Beach.
Nice to know magical places like this still exist.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Thank you Scent for an amazing 3 night stay. The hotel truly is a secret, magical place, hidden behind a plain looking street facade. I adored the hotel's style l, staying in one of the beautiful beachfront suites. The beach is really quite good!! Not as shallow as other areas, but less polluted and very quiet which is great :)
The reception staff were incredibly attentive, always willing to assist an nothing was a hassle for them. The food was also great, we enjoyed particularly the breakfast choices, and a seafood soup from the lunch menu. We also had dinner at which the main course was very good, although there was only 2 other options on the menu other than fish (I think five different types of fish) - so
If you didn't feel like fish not a lot of options. Having said that, my fish was amazing :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 22Anon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
1.5 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.4 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,077 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 186 in Bophut
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scent Hotel

Property: The Scent Hotel
Address: 58/1 Moo 4 Bangrak Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as “ a Secret World” ...The Scent Hotel is located on theisland of Koh Samui and is situated on the most tranquil and serene part of Bangrak Beach northeast of the island. The hotel is 4km drive away from airport and 6km from the famous Chaweng Beach.With 12 rooms and 3 suites, this beach front hotel was built with a warm atmosphere of the ancient Indochina and Colonial cultured look to give all a nostalgic stay. A choice of European or Chinese or Local styling in any of our units will bring you back in time and a taste of living the elegant era. All rooms and suites come with either a pool view or the ocean view. With the exclusivity of the pool and the beach within the property, you will be accompanied by the great cuisines of French, Mediterranean and local Thai dishes from Le Jaroen Restaurant.As part of Relais & Chateaux every stay is designed to awaken your senses with our secretly blended aromatic fragrance, elegant looking colonial beach front building, suites that bring back the elegant old living style and a restaurant with a sublime setting serving up tasty local cuisines combining contemporary and traditional creations. So set aside a date with us and make it your most peaceful and memorable stay.Be enchanted and come to our world......” A Secret World...” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scent Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing