We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Samui”
Review of The Scent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 151 Bophut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Samut Prakan, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Samui”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from our long weekend trip in Samui and already longing to go back! We stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed everything from the moment we stepped in the hotel. Friendly and attentive staff. Great dining spot by the sea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misskyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    114
    26
    16
    8
See reviews for
45
218
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

very charming hotel and great service!:)great cuisine.great room.small and comfy.little french touch.the manager in the restaurant very "simphatique"!!sometimes it felt like heaven...I would go back.they had a service for pick up at the airport.in the reception...great smell...nice and quiet ambiance...really resting...

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank irabarbieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScent s, Executive Assistant Manager at The Scent Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Irababieri,

Thank you very much for your great compliment and sharing your very positive feedback with us.
I will pass your compliment to all hotel staff.

Please feel fee to contact me directly if your would like to plan for your next holiday with us.

we are certainly looking forward welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Mayuree Ongcharoen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Returned back to the Scent after a month..This time a heavenly week in the hotel. Tried both the European suite and the local Thai suite..prefers the Thai suite. Spent most of the time swaying in the hammock..swimming leisurely and having meals at the wonderful Le Jaroen. The service is excellent..Friendliest group of people you can have..May and her team is just phenomenal.

This is definitely one of the best boutique hotel experience you can have. Wish could stay longer.

Room Tip: Rent a car..can get a car for about Baht1,000 per day..definitely better than paying the exorbitant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ab7882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheScent s, Executive Assistant Manager at The Scent Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Abdulla,

Thank you very much for your compliment and sharing your very positive feedback with us.
I will pass your compliment to all hotel staff. We really glad to have you back.

This time you stay European and Local style with the Balcony but you really in love with the same room.

Please feel free to contact me for your plan for the next trip anytime. it is only 1 hour from Malaysia.

we are certainly looking forward welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Mayuree Ongcharoen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

First impressions not great, they failed to send a driver to pick us up despite their email confirmation. And when the transfer arrived, the driver had a death wish on the road - tail gating, speeding, overtaking around corners and cursing at other cars. Quite frightening.

Hotel itself was full of character, yet lot of small things that just didn't add up to the comfort we're used to from other boutique hotels n villas. Here are some of the downfalls:

- Gorgeous balcony & view but were eaten alive by mozzies.
- Not enough lighting to read in the room.
- Shower head looked great, fitting the decor of the room but not actually practical to use.
- Bed mattress too soft.

- Lack of toiletries, remember to bring ur own toothbrush cos they don't provide (althou to be fair, they went to 7-11 to buy one for me which was appreciated), and best to buy a sml Pantene conditioner from FamilyMart as the stuff provided was pretty useless for my long hair.

- Only a handful of staff actually know what they're doing & talking about so careful who advises you. Eg: one girl told us Peace Tropical Spa was 20mins away but actually it's only less than 10mins, and they told us it'd cost 400 bht to return from Hansar resort Fishermans Village by taxi, but it's closer to 100 bht if you bargain.

- And we had a big cockroach turning up in our bed on the last morning! Gross!

And now to the highlights of our 4 night stay:
- Complimentary kayaks to use & definitely worth taking them out to the nearby sandbar which was gorgeous and private.
- Excellent breakfast (althou lunch menu was very disappointing in comparison).
- We received a complimentary dinner with our package and that was excellent too.
- Local spot for a very cheap, authentic thai meal was only a convenient 3 min walk along the beach to the left side (we ate there everyday due to lack of alternatives).
- Flexibility of a late check out was also very much appreciated since we flew out in the evening.

Possible Improvements: suggest the hotel provides some portable fans as surprisingly there was hardly any wind, making it hot and uncomfortable being outside for our meals. Providing complimentary shuttle rides nearby would be valuable as taxis really are a rip off on the island and unpleasant to deal with.

Overall we liked it but didn't love it. Value is there for the size of our room & view, but nxt time, we may try Hansar which we visited for a meal (higher sense of service standards, & ambience).

Room Tip: Rm 221 Beachfront Suite on upper floor is the best room in the entire property by far (in terms of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chezong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel was sheer bliss in every way. We were only able to stay for 24hours in a busy travel schedule in Malaysia and Thailand,but this hotel was exceptional.The atmosphere was utterly serene and the staff so delightful we wanted to stay for weeks. Everything was perfect and it outclassed any other hotel on our trip for sheer comfort and caring. Staff were never overbearing but always around and always charming. The Manager at the time,Mayuree, who was so professional and capable,even taught me some basic Thai which helped during our stay in Bankok. We long to go back and our children are there now on our recommendation!

Room Tip: All are excellent and fill one with serene calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

I cannot remember a better hotel, boutique b&b or whichever category this hotel falls under experience my family and I have had. From the moment we arrived the service, attention to detail, serenity and experience was second to none. The food from the restaurant was sensational and the setting overlooking the water at the restaurant stunning. If you don't like large resorts/hotels and long for a more intimate and personalized experience this should be your place of choice. Thanks again to May and all the friendly staff at The Scent Hotel! We hope to be back one day. Rob, Hope & Eli ox

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Scent Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Rob and Eli,

Thank you very much to sharing your expeiences.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comment with our staff member and we will keep it up,

We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,

Mayuree Ongcharoen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We couldn't be happier with our recent stay at The Scent Hotel to celebrate our honeymoon. We are from the States, so we had a fairly long journey to Koh Samui but we were warmly welcomed at the hotel when we arrived. We requested, and got the Beachfront Suite, local style on the 2nd floor which we highly recommend. It definitely is the best room in the hotel as it is the only one with a private balcony. My wife and I really enjoyed our afternoons sipping on drinks on our balcony enjoying the view.
The positives: amazing room, great staff (May and Ahn were extremely helpful in planning out our days and the restaurant staff were incredibly helpful ... Jack, Jack and Wan to name a few were particularly great also), 2 for 1 happy hour in the afternoon, great maid service, beautiful pool, close to airport, scents and candles everywhere, AWESOME breakfast selection complimentary
The negatives: it's a $10 USD taxi ride to pretty much all the nicer restaurants on the Island ... we thought it was worth it b/c we didn't want to stay at a busier place in Chaweng with party people ... we enjoyed the serenity and calmness of our place ... also, the hotel beach isn't the best one (it's still pretty awesome though) on the island and again, we just taxi'ed over to the nicer ones for $10 USD when we wanted a change in scenery

Our stay:
Day 1 - relaxed at the hotel, had dinner at the hotel restaurant - La Jaroegn (B+ restaurant)
Day 2 - went to the sister hotel, Peace resort which had a very nice beach and then had lunch at Sea Wrap (B restaurant). Had dinner at Ocean's 11 (A+ restaurant)
Day 3 - Did the Island tour which was great .. and then spent Friday evening at Fisherman's Village which we highly recommend. Had dinner at Krua Bophut (A- restaurant)
Day 4 - took ferry to Koh Phangan and went to Haad Rin beach ... probably one of the best beaches we have ever been to ... awesome day ... had dinner on the beach at the Peace Hotel, personal chef cooked for us ... pretty expensive, probably around $120 for everything .. it was very romantic but probably not worth doing b/c the food was OK (B- grade)
Day 5 - spent the day on the island, went to Silver Beach .. beautiful beach, definitely recommend it ... dinner at 9 Gems .. expensive but great view and amazing food (A restaurant)
Day 6 - did snorkeling tour to Koh Tao - amazing time ... again, highly recommend it .. dinner at The Spirit House, probably the best food at any restaurant and affordable .. (A+ restaurant)
Day 7 - shopping in Chaweng .. dinner at Dining on the Rocks at The Six Senses Hotel ... probably the best view of any restaurant we have been to in our lives ... make sure to go before 545 so you can enjoy the sunset and the view .. food was OK (A- restaurant, mostly b/c of the view .. food was probably a C)
Day 8 - relaxed, had dinner at The Library on Chaweng Beach (A restaurant)

Overall, highly recommend The Scent Hotel and Koh Samui as a great place for a honeymoon or a romantic vacation.

Room Tip: Local Style, Beachfront Suite on 2nd floor ... best room in the hotel ... no guarantees that you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CKP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
1.5 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.4 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
2,277 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
1,062 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 187 in Bophut
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scent Hotel

Property: The Scent Hotel
Address: 58/1 Moo 4 Bangrak Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as “ a Secret World” ...The Scent Hotel is located on theisland of Koh Samui and is situated on the most tranquil and serene part of Bangrak Beach northeast of the island. The hotel is 4km drive away from airport and 6km from the famous Chaweng Beach.With 12 rooms and 3 suites, this beach front hotel was built with a warm atmosphere of the ancient Indochina and Colonial cultured look to give all a nostalgic stay. A choice of European or Chinese or Local styling in any of our units will bring you back in time and a taste of living the elegant era. All rooms and suites come with either a pool view or the ocean view. With the exclusivity of the pool and the beach within the property, you will be accompanied by the great cuisines of French, Mediterranean and local Thai dishes from Le Jaroen Restaurant.As part of Relais & Chateaux every stay is designed to awaken your senses with our secretly blended aromatic fragrance, elegant looking colonial beach front building, suites that bring back the elegant old living style and a restaurant with a sublime setting serving up tasty local cuisines combining contemporary and traditional creations. So set aside a date with us and make it your most peaceful and memorable stay.Be enchanted and come to our world......” A Secret World...” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Scent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scent Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing