We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
SuperTravel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveler rating
305
131
31
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
305
131
31
20
13
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 500 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

very charming hotel and great service!:)great cuisine.great room.small and comfy.little french touch.the manager in the restaurant very "simphatique"!!sometimes it felt like heaven...I would go back.they had a service for pick up at the airport.in the reception...great smell...nice and quiet ambiance...really resting...

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank irabarbieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheScent s, Executive Assistant Manager at The Scent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Irababieri,

Thank you very much for your great compliment and sharing your very positive feedback with us.
I will pass your compliment to all hotel staff.

Please feel fee to contact me directly if your would like to plan for your next holiday with us.

we are certainly looking forward welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Mayuree Ongcharoen
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Returned back to the Scent after a month..This time a heavenly week in the hotel. Tried both the European suite and the local Thai suite..prefers the Thai suite. Spent most of the time swaying in the hammock..swimming leisurely and having meals at the wonderful Le Jaroen. The service is excellent..Friendliest group of people you can have..May and her team is just phenomenal.

This is definitely one of the best boutique hotel experience you can have. Wish could stay longer.

Room tip: Rent a car..can get a car for about Baht1,000 per day..definitely better than paying the exorbitant taxi fares.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ab7882
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheScent s, Executive Assistant Manager at The Scent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Abdulla,

Thank you very much for your compliment and sharing your very positive feedback with us.
I will pass your compliment to all hotel staff. We really glad to have you back.

This time you stay European and Local style with the Balcony but you really in love with the same room.

Please feel free to contact me for your plan for the next trip anytime. it is only 1 hour from Malaysia.

we are certainly looking forward welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Mayuree Ongcharoen
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

First impressions not great, they failed to send a driver to pick us up despite their email confirmation. And when the transfer arrived, the driver had a death wish on the road - tail gating, speeding, overtaking around corners and cursing at other cars. Quite frightening.

Hotel itself was full of character, yet lot of small things that just didn't add up to the comfort we're used to from other boutique hotels n villas. Here are some of the downfalls:

- Gorgeous balcony & view but were eaten alive by mozzies.
- Not enough lighting to read in the room.
- Shower head looked great, fitting the decor of the room but not actually practical to use.
- Bed mattress too soft.

- Lack of toiletries, remember to bring ur own toothbrush cos they don't provide (althou to be fair, they went to 7-11 to buy one for me which was appreciated), and best to buy a sml Pantene conditioner from FamilyMart as the stuff provided was pretty useless for my long hair.

- Only a handful of staff actually know what they're doing & talking about so careful who advises you. Eg: one girl told us Peace Tropical Spa was 20mins away but actually it's only less than 10mins, and they told us it'd cost 400 bht to return from Hansar resort Fishermans Village by taxi, but it's closer to 100 bht if you bargain.

- And we had a big cockroach turning up in our bed on the last morning! Gross!

And now to the highlights of our 4 night stay:
- Complimentary kayaks to use & definitely worth taking them out to the nearby sandbar which was gorgeous and private.
- Excellent breakfast (althou lunch menu was very disappointing in comparison).
- We received a complimentary dinner with our package and that was excellent too.
- Local spot for a very cheap, authentic thai meal was only a convenient 3 min walk along the beach to the left side (we ate there everyday due to lack of alternatives).
- Flexibility of a late check out was also very much appreciated since we flew out in the evening.

Possible Improvements: suggest the hotel provides some portable fans as surprisingly there was hardly any wind, making it hot and uncomfortable being outside for our meals. Providing complimentary shuttle rides nearby would be valuable as taxis really are a rip off on the island and unpleasant to deal with.

Overall we liked it but didn't love it. Value is there for the size of our room & view, but nxt time, we may try Hansar which we visited for a meal (higher sense of service standards, & ambience).

Room tip: Rm 221 Beachfront Suite on upper floor is the best room in the entire property by far (in terms of size and views).
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chezong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel was sheer bliss in every way. We were only able to stay for 24hours in a busy travel schedule in Malaysia and Thailand,but this hotel was exceptional.The atmosphere was utterly serene and the staff so delightful we wanted to stay for weeks. Everything was perfect and it outclassed any other hotel on our trip for sheer comfort and caring. Staff were never overbearing but always around and always charming. The Manager at the time,Mayuree, who was so professional and capable,even taught me some basic Thai which helped during our stay in Bankok. We long to go back and our children are there now on our recommendation!

Room tip: All are excellent and fill one with serene calm.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I cannot remember a better hotel, boutique b&b or whichever category this hotel falls under experience my family and I have had. From the moment we arrived the service, attention to detail, serenity and experience was second to none. The food from the restaurant was sensational and the setting overlooking the water at the restaurant stunning. If you don't like large resorts/hotels and long for a more intimate and personalized experience this should be your place of choice. Thanks again to May and all the friendly staff at The Scent Hotel! We hope to be back one day. Rob, Hope & Eli ox

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 671RobertM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Rob and Eli,

Thank you very much to sharing your expeiences.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comment with our staff member and we will keep it up,

We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,

Mayuree Ongcharoen
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews