We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
$55
View deal
SuperTravel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveler rating
305
131
31
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
305
131
31
20
13
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 500 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Returned back to the Scent after a month..This time a heavenly week in the hotel. Tried both the European suite and the local Thai suite..prefers the Thai suite. Spent most of the time swaying in the hammock..swimming leisurely and having meals at the wonderful Le Jaroen. The service is excellent..Friendliest group of people you can have..May and her team is just phenomenal.

This is definitely one of the best boutique hotel experience you can have. Wish could stay longer.

Room tip: Rent a car..can get a car for about Baht1,000 per day..definitely better than paying the exorbitant taxi fares.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ab7882
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheScent s, Executive Assistant Manager at The Scent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Abdulla,

Thank you very much for your compliment and sharing your very positive feedback with us.
I will pass your compliment to all hotel staff. We really glad to have you back.

This time you stay European and Local style with the Balcony but you really in love with the same room.

Please feel free to contact me for your plan for the next trip anytime. it is only 1 hour from Malaysia.

we are certainly looking forward welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Mayuree Ongcharoen
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

First impressions not great, they failed to send a driver to pick us up despite their email confirmation. And when the transfer arrived, the driver had a death wish on the road - tail gating, speeding, overtaking around corners and cursing at other cars. Quite frightening.

Hotel itself was full of character, yet lot of small things that just didn't add up to the comfort we're used to from other boutique hotels n villas. Here are some of the downfalls:

- Gorgeous balcony & view but were eaten alive by mozzies.
- Not enough lighting to read in the room.
- Shower head looked great, fitting the decor of the room but not actually practical to use.
- Bed mattress too soft.

- Lack of toiletries, remember to bring ur own toothbrush cos they don't provide (althou to be fair, they went to 7-11 to buy one for me which was appreciated), and best to buy a sml Pantene conditioner from FamilyMart as the stuff provided was pretty useless for my long hair.

- Only a handful of staff actually know what they're doing & talking about so careful who advises you. Eg: one girl told us Peace Tropical Spa was 20mins away but actually it's only less than 10mins, and they told us it'd cost 400 bht to return from Hansar resort Fishermans Village by taxi, but it's closer to 100 bht if you bargain.

- And we had a big cockroach turning up in our bed on the last morning! Gross!

And now to the highlights of our 4 night stay:
- Complimentary kayaks to use & definitely worth taking them out to the nearby sandbar which was gorgeous and private.
- Excellent breakfast (althou lunch menu was very disappointing in comparison).
- We received a complimentary dinner with our package and that was excellent too.
- Local spot for a very cheap, authentic thai meal was only a convenient 3 min walk along the beach to the left side (we ate there everyday due to lack of alternatives).
- Flexibility of a late check out was also very much appreciated since we flew out in the evening.

Possible Improvements: suggest the hotel provides some portable fans as surprisingly there was hardly any wind, making it hot and uncomfortable being outside for our meals. Providing complimentary shuttle rides nearby would be valuable as taxis really are a rip off on the island and unpleasant to deal with.

Overall we liked it but didn't love it. Value is there for the size of our room & view, but nxt time, we may try Hansar which we visited for a meal (higher sense of service standards, & ambience).

Room tip: Rm 221 Beachfront Suite on upper floor is the best room in the entire property by far (in terms of size and views).
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chezong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel was sheer bliss in every way. We were only able to stay for 24hours in a busy travel schedule in Malaysia and Thailand,but this hotel was exceptional.The atmosphere was utterly serene and the staff so delightful we wanted to stay for weeks. Everything was perfect and it outclassed any other hotel on our trip for sheer comfort and caring. Staff were never overbearing but always around and always charming. The Manager at the time,Mayuree, who was so professional and capable,even taught me some basic Thai which helped during our stay in Bankok. We long to go back and our children are there now on our recommendation!

Room tip: All are excellent and fill one with serene calm.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I cannot remember a better hotel, boutique b&b or whichever category this hotel falls under experience my family and I have had. From the moment we arrived the service, attention to detail, serenity and experience was second to none. The food from the restaurant was sensational and the setting overlooking the water at the restaurant stunning. If you don't like large resorts/hotels and long for a more intimate and personalized experience this should be your place of choice. Thanks again to May and all the friendly staff at The Scent Hotel! We hope to be back one day. Rob, Hope & Eli ox

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 671RobertM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Rob and Eli,

Thank you very much to sharing your expeiences.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comment with our staff member and we will keep it up,

We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With Kind Regards,

Mayuree Ongcharoen
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We couldn't be happier with our recent stay at The Scent Hotel to celebrate our honeymoon. We are from the States, so we had a fairly long journey to Koh Samui but we were warmly welcomed at the hotel when we arrived. We requested, and got the Beachfront Suite, local style on the 2nd floor which we highly recommend. It definitely is the best room in the hotel as it is the only one with a private balcony. My wife and I really enjoyed our afternoons sipping on drinks on our balcony enjoying the view.
The positives: amazing room, great staff (May and Ahn were extremely helpful in planning out our days and the restaurant staff were incredibly helpful ... Jack, Jack and Wan to name a few were particularly great also), 2 for 1 happy hour in the afternoon, great maid service, beautiful pool, close to airport, scents and candles everywhere, AWESOME breakfast selection complimentary
The negatives: it's a $10 USD taxi ride to pretty much all the nicer restaurants on the Island ... we thought it was worth it b/c we didn't want to stay at a busier place in Chaweng with party people ... we enjoyed the serenity and calmness of our place ... also, the hotel beach isn't the best one (it's still pretty awesome though) on the island and again, we just taxi'ed over to the nicer ones for $10 USD when we wanted a change in scenery

Our stay:
Day 1 - relaxed at the hotel, had dinner at the hotel restaurant - La Jaroegn (B+ restaurant)
Day 2 - went to the sister hotel, Peace resort which had a very nice beach and then had lunch at Sea Wrap (B restaurant). Had dinner at Ocean's 11 (A+ restaurant)
Day 3 - Did the Island tour which was great .. and then spent Friday evening at Fisherman's Village which we highly recommend. Had dinner at Krua Bophut (A- restaurant)
Day 4 - took ferry to Koh Phangan and went to Haad Rin beach ... probably one of the best beaches we have ever been to ... awesome day ... had dinner on the beach at the Peace Hotel, personal chef cooked for us ... pretty expensive, probably around $120 for everything .. it was very romantic but probably not worth doing b/c the food was OK (B- grade)
Day 5 - spent the day on the island, went to Silver Beach .. beautiful beach, definitely recommend it ... dinner at 9 Gems .. expensive but great view and amazing food (A restaurant)
Day 6 - did snorkeling tour to Koh Tao - amazing time ... again, highly recommend it .. dinner at The Spirit House, probably the best food at any restaurant and affordable .. (A+ restaurant)
Day 7 - shopping in Chaweng .. dinner at Dining on the Rocks at The Six Senses Hotel ... probably the best view of any restaurant we have been to in our lives ... make sure to go before 545 so you can enjoy the sunset and the view .. food was OK (A- restaurant, mostly b/c of the view .. food was probably a C)
Day 8 - relaxed, had dinner at The Library on Chaweng Beach (A restaurant)

Overall, highly recommend The Scent Hotel and Koh Samui as a great place for a honeymoon or a romantic vacation.

Room tip: Local Style, Beachfront Suite on 2nd floor ... best room in the hotel ... no guarantees that you will get it but request it when you book
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CKP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews