We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of The Scent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 151 Bophut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We loved this place! We ended up here due to a mistake in bookings, so were only here for one night - but would happily have stayed longer.

The hotel is very simple but elegant and the China room (which we had) is simply fantastic. We loved the food, especially the breakfast (we chose the Asian menu) and found the staff very friendly and attentive.

I especially liked the special touch of choosing your own scent for the turn-down service! We would definately recommend this place to other people and loved the stone swimming pool.

Room Tip: Choose the China room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayuree o, Manager at The Scent Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for your positve compliment and sharing your very positive feedback with us.
I will pass your compliment to our Chef Jutamas who create a wonderful food and to all hotel staff.

We are glad to hear that you like our Chinese style Sea Breez Suite and had a lovely time with us.
I am not sure that you have seen our 3 difference type of room we have. For your next holiday you can try our European style, local style or Beach Front Suite and We wish that you can stay with us longer.
For our scent o we are certainly proud of by 3 choices , moon shadow, morning dew and embrace.I wish that you could try them all.

Please feel fee to contact me if your would like to plan for your next holiday with us.

we are certainly looking forward welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Mayuree Ongcharoen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    115
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
46
219
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sendai, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We first discovered this hotel a few years ago when staying next door. This review is an amalgamation of several visits over the last four years.

The good:

-beautiful design
-very private walled hotel
-only 11 rooms
-wonderful stone swimming pool
-aroma themed hotel
-friendly staff
-good breakfast included in the price
-good location in Bo Phut

The bad:

-dinner is incredibly expensive
-can be noisy -depends on other guests
-expensive compared to other local options

Overall:

This is an extremely stylish and private hotel, very relaxing in a quiet area of Koh Samui. It is one of our favourite hotels in the world and we stay here once or twice a year.

Try the restaurant at the Como Resort next door for cheap food, laundry, and bike rental.

For a couple or family trip, the Scent Hotel is hard to beat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sendaiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Panne, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Nice situated restaurant "Le Jaroen" with a friendly staff.
Good food, but too small portions. A little bit more inspiration should be welcome.


marc and annemarie
16/02/2012 and 20/02/2012

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcetannemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We were caught by the simplicty of the hotel. We thought we would have nothing to here staying in such a little hotel. After staying a few nights, we just realized the comfort and luxury that we had in front of us. It was private, relaxing, comfortable and the staff and food was great! It was like in a movie where living in an old colonial times with people servicing you all day. We could use the pool or even go for free afternoon tea at mid day and still be carefree as everyone was doing the same thing. The beach is clear and always calm that we could walk out to deeper end. I don't think I have ever seen or stayed in a hotel with such a fantastic view which is so relaxing. The room we had was so gorgeous that made us want try staying in the other types that they had but unfortunately it was full. We also had a very unique dinner with some excellent cooking from the chef. Later found out that this restaurant had a following on the island with great food and wine to it's name. Overall was great unlike the other big hotel that would need to becareful and behave and to follow the many policies that they have but over here it's luxury with a class coz we got the same treatment and everything that you could find in a hotel but with a touch of class and care! My wife and I will not go back to those big hotels anymore for sure after what we had found and experienced. This hotel has my vote for any recommandation and we will definately return with a few friends it will be like a little private hotel for friends to gather in a faraway place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmzlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed at Scent Hotel with my husband when we went on holiday in Thailand. We stayed there for three nights.

We experienced a few disappointments with them: they did not waiting for us at the airport to pick us up when our plane was delayed, they did not give us the room they promised and their forgot our spa appointment. The spa departement is not really a spa, rather a massage departement. I got a manicure and pedicure there, which was not really excellent, in addition, it was a little bit pricey.

Except for that, the room we got was very spacious after all, and it had a private balcony with direct access to beach. It had all necessary in-room amenities and then some more. The hotel arranged a guided tour for us on Samui for a good price. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

This is a hotel for couples getaway, where you don't have to share the hotel with noisy families with small children or hipster youths at around 20. It can be a little difficult to find the hotel, but it doesn't matter as I felt very well taken care off at the Scent Hotel. Will definitively give my best recommendations to this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I was looking at the pictures I took here in November. I had a really nice time since it was my surprise get-away for my birthday.

It was nice to chill out by the pool, go for a stroll on the beach. And we took awesome pictures jumping in the pool and on the bed.

However, the breakfast was one of the worst I have ever had. Sorry to say. The toast was the saddest.

I had some pasta with tomatoes, splashed with oil (too much I am afraid) for lunch. Around five, I was getting really hungry. I asked kitchen to make me a pancake and we will pay for it as much as they want. They said they can't... Well we had to go "out" to eat, which was a pity.

I rate The Scent Hotel a 4 out of 5 because I spent only one day (and one night) there but I think they should seriously do something about their cooking....

Room Tip: We booked by the beach. That was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

a beautiful surprise trip by my then-boyfriend *now fiance* as he proposed to me at the hotel!...from start the end, the service was immaculate. we were greeted by hospitable staff whom asked us for a scent we would like for our room...5 mins later, upon reaching our - we had a seamless medley of scents infused! from the aromatherapy oil through to the amenities...i was head over heels in love with this place! highly recommend it to couples who are looking to spend quiet time with their other half....

Room Tip: boutique hotel with 25 rooms so all rooms are beautifully located
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnmchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bophut hotels
1.5 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.4 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,077 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 186 in Bophut
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scent Hotel

Property: The Scent Hotel
Address: 58/1 Moo 4 Bangrak Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as “ a Secret World” ...The Scent Hotel is located on theisland of Koh Samui and is situated on the most tranquil and serene part of Bangrak Beach northeast of the island. The hotel is 4km drive away from airport and 6km from the famous Chaweng Beach.With 12 rooms and 3 suites, this beach front hotel was built with a warm atmosphere of the ancient Indochina and Colonial cultured look to give all a nostalgic stay. A choice of European or Chinese or Local styling in any of our units will bring you back in time and a taste of living the elegant era. All rooms and suites come with either a pool view or the ocean view. With the exclusivity of the pool and the beach within the property, you will be accompanied by the great cuisines of French, Mediterranean and local Thai dishes from Le Jaroen Restaurant.As part of Relais & Chateaux every stay is designed to awaken your senses with our secretly blended aromatic fragrance, elegant looking colonial beach front building, suites that bring back the elegant old living style and a restaurant with a sublime setting serving up tasty local cuisines combining contemporary and traditional creations. So set aside a date with us and make it your most peaceful and memorable stay.Be enchanted and come to our world......” A Secret World...” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Scent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scent Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing