We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for 'older' families and groups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Idyllic Samui Oceanfront Resort & Villas
Ranked #18 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our first visit to Koh Samui, despite living in the region for five years. Yes we will be back, especially after staying at these Villas. Located in a quite area, at the top of the island. They are located around 10 minutes drive from the airport. We stayed during the low season, so for most of our nine day stay we were the only family staying there….even quieter. There were five of us and we stayed in 'Lime Villa' This Villa was located midway between the entrance and the beach, less than one minutes walk to the water edge. The Villa was large, clean and well serviced. It consisted of two buildings. A main building with a lounge room, full size kitchen/dinning, bathroom and master bedroom equipped with a queen size bed. The other building had two bedrooms. One with a double and single bed with bathroom. The other with two singles and bathroom. Both buildings were separated by a good size pool and garden. Our children are older, 9 to early teens. I would not recommend this villa for younger children, due to the separate buildings, unless you secured a ‘roll away’bed and placed it in the main building or had the children sleep on the lounge.

There is no restaurant/bar on premise, however within a short walking distance there are two other resorts with very good food/drink options. One up market and one very reasonable. We ate at both on several occasions. You can also buy ingredients at the local supermarket (Tesco) and eat at home. We did this each morning to keep it simple. The resort can also arrange a chef to cook for you in the Villa.

The resort has a ‘hotel shuttle’ service that can be hired for transfers around the island. It is relatively inexpensive for around US$4-5 per person for distances up to 30 minutes away. There are no major transportation options passing, so without this or private transport you could become 'trapped'. As we were the only family, we used this service regularly, booking at the last minute. For our return visit (generally from busy areas) we used either taxis or other transport to travel home. The price was generally around the same or less. Many of the taxis are metered but if you can get one to turn it on, buy a lottery ticket and/or make a wish. In busy times it may be more difficult to rely on the ‘hotel shuttle’ so would recommend booking well in advance, hire a car or motorbike/scooter. On this note if you choose a motor bike please be careful, the amount of tourists sporting injuries as we ventured around the island and at the airport for our flight home was astonishing.

The beach out the back of the property is fine. Okay for swimming but not the best due to seaweed/rocks – very natural, although there are some clear areas. The resort has a couple of Kayaks (no charge) that we used on a couple occasions.

All in all, this is a great place to stay for a family holiday. Especially for older families and/or groups. The service is excellent. From the managers, house cleaning, maintenance staff, drivers and gardeners. Absolutely no complaints. There were even a few of special touches e.g. a fresh baguette delivered each morning or when we asked the team to book a restaurant for a special occasion we were treated with something additional.

Room Tip: If you have younger children check the bedding situation in advance to ensure you are comfortable as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephenfamilyofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 90 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

After 8 days in Phuket we looked forward to a weeks stay in the relatively tranquil bliss of Koh Samui. We wanted a large Vila where a family of five adults and teenagers could enjoy some space after the cramped-up living of hotel rooms common to overseas holidays. We searched hard and were surprised few vilas in Samui. Fortunately we saw the TripAdvisor very positive reviews for the gorgeous Idyllic resort and locked in a week of rest and solitude. Organising with Hans and Lana, the owners, and Boomie the manager during our stay was both straight-forward and simple. Transfers, numbers of rooms, vehicle hire, meals etc. was all done online prior to arrival. Immediate response made for ease of planning. We were welcomed to a beautifully clean and large villa complete with the first day's breakfast, and esentials including beer and wine and some delicious fruit. Boomie spent time explaining he resort and 'must-do' activities on the island. She also negiotiated for a vehicle to be ready for some sight-seeing. We had a small issue with an accident and Boomie was amazing in organising and negotiating with all parties including the hire-car company. Boomie made the stay so easy!! I must also add that no request for advice was ever ignored by anyone at the resort - all very helpful. Our pool and rooms were cleaned beautifully each day, and resort staff were always welcoming with a smile. The owners, Hans and Lara were like family - loads of advice and recommendations, and no effort too challenging. The beach was welcoming although most of our swimming was done in our own personal large, crystal-clear pool located in our villa. We didn't need to leave the resort except to stock our fridge with beer and alrge kitchen with food. We did venture out and enjoyed some of the shopping and eating on the island. Idyllic is tucked-away so is peaceful and quiet. Travel to the shopping and eating is as close as 1-2 minutes at Thong Son Bay but more extensive choices are a short shuttle or drive of 10-15 minutes. That said, it was welcome to leave the bustle of the 'touristy' parts of Samui to escape back to our little piece of 'heaven' at Idyllic. If you are tired of staying in the typical box of a hotel room then Idyllic villas are perfect particularly if you have children or are staying for a long period of time. Having your own rooms to retreat is a blessing! We could not fault the staff or the rooms, the location or the service. This has to be one of the best resorts in Thailand!! We'll be coming back!!

Room Tip: All the villas looked perfectly located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed for two weeks as a family with two teenage boys. Accommodation was a villa with double bedroom and a separate block with two bedrooms for the boys. In between is a beautiful garden with a private pool. Well equipped, modern and attractive. Beach is one minute away, sandy and often deserted. Owners were friendly and helpful, giving ready advice and helping with reservations and transport arrangements. Most memorable was the peace and quiet, tucked in the far corner of Koh Samui but close enough to shops and restaurants to be convenient. A wonderful holiday location which we plan to return to.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank larry0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were met by the lovely manager who told us to leave our luggage and walked us down the concrete private road to our villa. She unlocked the wooden-carved gate and we entered a little bit of paradise. A lush garden with beautifully manicured hedges and bushes, flowering trees, and palm trees greeted us. To our immediate left is our guest house that has two bedrooms, one with two twin beds and the other with a full sized bed and a twin bed, and each room has its own private bath facilities. The garden area located between the main building and the guest house has its own private swimming pool. The swimming pool is lined in a Caribbean blue tile and has a little side pool for babies or just to sit in while reading. There is exterior lighting for the tree area and the pool has multicolored lighting inside the pool. Lovely at night. There are also up to six lounging chairs with an umbrella or two available on the grassy area by the pool. Our villa has outside fans on the patio to keep the area fresh and bug free. This time of year there aren't many bugs, so that is good. Our patio is about 18'X14' clay tiles with a 6' wooden bench, a 'wicker' wrap around couch and a caned chair and footstool and is edged with flowering hibiscus bushes. Sliding doors lead into the living are, and sliding doors lead into the bedroom, and a front door leads into the center of the villa. We have a casual wooden dining set that seats 6 with room for more, a fully equipped kitchen ready for whatever food you bring in, a fridge that has a freezer on top, and a freezer drawer on the bottom. There was a bowlful of mangoes, a watermelon, and some other type of fruit that was harvested from the area in the center of the kitchen table. This morning we heard someone call good morning, and found a fresh loaf of bread on our patio. Leaving our villa through the gate, we turn left and walk down the concrete roadway a bit and enter the walkway to the beach. This walkway is arched with green bushes in full flower. The beach is shared among the three resorts located here. It has beautiful sand, a crescent shape that is plenty big. There are two good restaurants accessible via the beach area or you can have the chef come into your villa and prepare meals for you. The owners, Hans and Lana, are gracious hostesses and obviously love Idyllic. They enjoy running this fabulous resort and the results show in the details. The staff were very attentive and friendly – absolutely outstanding. We loved our relaxing 6 night stay here. A warning for those who are looking for big parties and loud music, you won't find that here. Idyllic is located at the tippy tip of the island and is remote to the crowded 'popular' places. A cab or renting a motorcycle or car will get you around the island to party, to shop, or just to explore. Returning to Idyllic will take you back to paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planningrnexttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The main reason we chose Idyllic Samui was because there were no negative reviews for the place. Not even one! Now I am happy to add my 5 star review about this wonderful resort.
We spent 10 days at the Beach Rose Villa in February 2013. I can't praise Idyllic Samui enough! Our villa was BEAUTIFUL! The pictures don't do it justice at all. There were four adults and two little kids in our company. I loved it how private all the villas are. They are also all fenced in, which is great if you have kids. I didn't have to worry about the kids wandering off, and at the same time our villa property was big enough for them to explore, with a big lawn to play on. The swimming pool was great, ours had a little kiddie pool area. The rooms were very clean. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we could possibly need. You can arrange for your meals to be cooked and served right at your villa, and we used this service for our breakfasts. It was super convenient to wake up to a nice breakfast and not to worry about cooking and cleaning first thing in the morning. The villa was cleaned daily and this was the best cleaning service we've seen so far in a hotel (and we've been to many hotels all around the world). The beach is minutes away from any one of the villas. The best place to go into the water is to the left of the beach, no rocks there. The staff is super friendly and helpful with anything from an airport transfer to a barbecue, to a massage arranged right at your villa.
You do need a car if you want to explore the island (it takes a little time to adjust to driving on the other side of the road). The resort provides car rentals. There is also shuttle service (to a grocery store, etc.), but I don't know the details since we had a car.
Overall it was a wonderful vacation. We have already recommended Idyllic Samui to a few of our friends.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Lana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

On the 1st of July I departed from gloomy, rainy and cold St. Petersburg, Russia to the sunny and, in my opinion, the best place on the whole planet- Samui Island.
At the airport I was met by endless amount of palms, blooming bushes, hot sun beams and with the strongest feeling that my unforgettable holidays began. So everything around me was telling that I am going to spend really great time there and get priceless memories.

In the airport I was picked up by the owner of the Idyllic Resort (Hans Beeftink) and his lovely wife (Lana Beeftink). The whole trip from the airport to the Resort takes about 10 minutes. Usually guests are met by a driver of the Resort on the roomy bus with conditioner and comfortable chairs inside.

In the Idyllic Resort I was living in the Orchid Villa. That villa is located approximately 100 meters away from the shore. And the whole way from the Villa’s door to the beach is pure pleasure: at the beginning you overcome a short distance among palms and blooming bushes of orchids and then the rest of the way it is a long tunnel covered with many coloured flowers and in the end of your short trip to the beach you are met by white, clean sand and by a blue stripe of South China Sea. Probably I should mention that the beach is private and there is no access for strangers.

The Orchid Villa consists of two buildings. One building includes a big fully equipped kitchen which is integrated with a cosy living room, a bedroom with a double bed and of course a toilet and a shower. As well that building has a big terrace and a summer bed outside. Another building consists of two bedrooms with toilet, shower and everything what you need for sleeping and nice time being inside of the room. Those two buildings are separated by a swimming pool with two beach beds and lawn.
As well the name of the Orchid Villa came from really big amount of those blooming flowers on the territory of the Villa.

The Resort consists also of other Villas, they are all different but made with great taste and love in order to make you feel yourselves as at home.
In the main office which is located right next to the entrance to the Resort, you can find a nice small library which is there because some people have left there many books after their holidays. There are many books in many languages, plus, DVD disks with movies and music. As well in the main office you can find a coffee machine, a fridge with fizzy drinks, high quality alcohol and chocolate.
Also the Resort provides so many other services/ options which make you even happier there than you are at that moment of time!

As well another reason why I completely fell in love with the Idyllic Resort is that the place where the resort is located is the best place for running; after not so long running up hill, eventually you reach the top point where is the best view ever on the sea, beaches and nature. Usually I organised my morning trips approx. at 6 am before the moment when all people were awake, while the air was fresh, nature is quiet and the sun is tender.

For this day on I am planning that one day I will come back to the Samui Island, Idyllic Resort. There I got everything what I needed: I had my own apartment/ my privacy/ my own small paradise; the beach was in step-by-step availability, so clean and free of people; thai massage is the best for improving body flexibility, get rid from back pain and to sweep away all negative thought and feelings from your head; cleaning ladies made order in my room everyday but at the same time it was possible to schedule their appearance in my apartments how it is more comfortable for me; if I needed a ride to the centre of the city it was possible to agree with the driver of the Resort; all working staff was extremely polite and friendly.

When I left the Idyllic Resort and my plane took off from the land of the Samui Island I was crying. Bye bye, my tiny private paradise, and hopefully see you in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juulia_Koroleva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in the condominium where they placed a porta cot for our daughter.

Very good service in general and wonderfull breakfast which was cooked in our kitchen.

We went with our daugther to the Elephant centre whereby transport was arranged from the complex. Next to the complex there are some good restaurants (Six Senses for example)

We definately will go back there!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
5.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
790 reviews
3.6 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
4.9 mi away
Khwan Beach Resort
Khwan Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 185 in Bophut
2,405 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Passage Samui Villas & Resort
0.5 mi away
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idyllic Samui Oceanfront Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idyllic Samui Oceanfront Resort & Villas

Address: 6/16 Moo 5, Ban Plai Laem, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Price Range: $72 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Idyllic Samui Oceanfront Resort & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach resort with very luxurious villas with private pools and gardens. Some villas have also a kids pool The villas vary from three bed room villas till 5 bed room villas. The resort has also a seaview condomenium The resort is very luxurious The villas have all fully wquipped kitche fans and air conditioning in all rooms, covered terrace and can offer all services like food, butler, nanny massage shuttle bus, breakfast lunch and dinner The resort has a shuttle bus to Chaweng, Tesco Choen Mon beach Fisherman Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Idyllic Samui Oceanfront Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idyllic Samui Hotel Bophut
Idyllic Samui Oceanfront Resort & Villas Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing