We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Highly Recomended”
Review of Samui Pier Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samui Pier Resort
Ranked #66 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Highly Recomended”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at Samui Pier in a Beach front room and our 1st impression was wow, this feeling stayed with us our entire stay. The beach is literally on the door step & amazing views. The room was very clean with great air con, TV with lots multi cultural / language channels , safe, comfortable bed, etc etc etc. Reseraunt food was good and even the western was value for money. Staff are great & very friendly. My partner & I travelled all over Thailand in last few years and Samui Pier is in the Top 3. Thanks to all at Samui Pier resort we miss you already & see you soon. Love Mark & Joy

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visageuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    103
    29
    15
    9
See reviews for
34
141
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

This was our first port of call on arriving in Thailand and was very nice. The rooms were very clean, all with a view of the beach. Staff were helpful and pleasant. We only used the restaurant for breakfast, which was good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Even if i have already travelled in many places, i found Koh Samui an unbelievable island where you can do anything! And Samui Pier Resort is a fantastic place to be,
when you have holidays in Samui. Fantastic location near to everything, absolutely great
value for money, apropiate for backpackers, families, singles and couples, and it's staff ready to make anything you need to enjoy your time there, simple don't miss it when you travel there!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikos81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH,
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2009

RICH.WHITE UNITED KINGDOM,SOLO TRAVELLER.
I stayed at the Samui Pier Resort at the end of June 2009 for a week. I was met at the airport by one of the owners (Istak) and taken to the resort. Immediatley upon entering the resort the views strike you, 100m from the beach with access to 2 piers from which sppedboats take you to the neighbouring islands on day trips and full moon parties.
The staff were exellent, very friendly and nothing was too much for them to do, if asked.
The food at the restaurent was very good and great value for money.
The room was cleaned daily, fresh towels daily and they even gave me a separate towel for the pool everyday!
I would definatley stay at this resort again and highly recommend it to solo travellers like myself.
Thankyou to Istak, Yaniv and the Team

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNOCKERPlymouth_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

My Fiancee and I stayed at the Samui pier resort for 6 nights in late July after two weeks in Thailand. Our first impressions were excellent. You walk off the road into the resort and the beach is 100m in front of you with views to Koh Phangan and other smaller islands. We had a friendly welcome and the room was very clean and well equiped. We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms located directly behind reception and closest to the road. There was however, no road noise or anyhting else to bother us. The room was also equipped with air con, a safe and clean towels daily. Beach towels are available on request and I am confused why a previous reviewer did not have the same, as we were in the cheapest rooms and had all the facilities mentioned above. The resort is well designed in that each room has an excellent view of the beach through large (but luckily tinted!) patio doors.

The resort has a very classy feel about it, with lovely shaded beach huts, hammocks, a pool, fountains, palm trees and of course the beach. We spent several days just relaxing in the resort as it was so nice. Staff are on duty at the beach and pool to bring you drinks and food whenever you need them.

The staff are excellent. As with most Thai people, they are friendly, smiley and talkative, and always willing to help with your Thai if you want to practice. The manager is also very friendly and attentive and we were asked daily if everything was ok with the room/resort. Food is also to a high standard, especially the thai food. The only reason I have given a four for value is because breakfast is not included and we thought maybe a small buffet would be a good idea as the cost adds up.

In terms of the hotels location, I have to disagree with a previos review about needing independant transport. Mopeds are cheap anyway, but they are dangerous and most people ride without helments! The best transport we found were the Red Saw thawng trucks which drive around the island constantly. They are converted pick up trucks with a covered seated area in the back. They are cheap, much safer than mopeds and you can drink till your hearts content knowing a big red truck will take you home! Simply stand on the road outside the hotel and within minutes you can flag one down, agree a fare with the driver and off you go. Typical fares: to Chaweng 50 Baht, and the same for fishermans village. Lamai or further is slightly moreand at night fares go up a bit. Bangrak itself has a few bars, but Fishermans village is much nicer and has some great restaurants. Chaweng beach is very romantic at night, the same cannot be said for the town itself!

Another good feature of the hotel is that it is situated between two piers. From one pier the boats to Koh Phangan leave every few hours, and from the other the Scuba boats leave every morning for the dive sites to the north. If you plan on doing either, this is very handy. It also means there is a naturally sectioned off piece of beach for the resort. Five minutes down the beach there is jet ski hire and also sail boats if you want a bit of excitement.

The airport is ten mins drive away. There are only a few flights a day and it is quite impressive watching the planes come in over the sea. Taxis from the airport counter are ridicously expensive as all prices are set by the airport. If you can arrange a pick up or walk to the same road and catch a taxi or saw thawng you can save a few hundred baht.

Overall, I recommend this hotel without hesitation. If i was going back to Samui I would book in here again, which i think is the best test.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We would like to thank Yanni & his staff for a fantastic 10 day stay, everyone was so friendly & polite nothing was too much trouble, the room was very comfortable with a great sea view right on the beach, after travelling for 3 month and arriving from Bandkok with a tummy bug Yanni & his staff took great care of me , this was a very welcome break we would highly recommend a stay here , and some day we would like to go back,

thanks Yanni
Pat & John

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilburn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed in the Samui Pier for 5 nights after staying in the Samui Bayview for 6. Both were more or less the same price. The Samui pier didn't provide breakfast, or towels, or a safe, (all of which we were used to from the Bayview), and the bathroom was at a standard below our expectations, mainly because the shower was cold, (not necessarily a bad thing on hot days, but its nice to have hot water available), and because the tap water supply had a slight yellow colouring, (although drinking water was provided).
The final negative was that the pool was tiny. We didn't use it.

However, we had a wonderful stay at the Samui Pier, and are very glad we chose this hotel. Most rooms have seating outdoors facing the sea, and small stretch of beach. The hotel is situated between 2 piers, one serving regular trips to Koh Phangnan, and the other seemed to be a private pier for use of charters and dive trips. This meant it was the perfect spot to relax and watch the world go by. The beach was relatively empty and therefore private, and watching the boats come and go was interesting. There was a fridge in the room, so you could buy a couple of beers from the 7Eleven and spend the evening sitting outside your room.

The hotel's restaurant overcharged us on the one morning we had breakfast there, and so it was best avoided, but there were plenty of decent local places to eat.

We hired a scooter, because it would have been expensive to go everywhere by taxi/bus, but the scooter was fun and cheap. I'd just recommend getting a lesson before you go. The island is full of scooter novices driving around. If you have transport, its fun to get to Big Buddha, and to Bophut, but too far to walk practically. We actually drove most of the way around the island on the scooters, and would probably have felt isolated without them because there isn't much going on around the Samui pier, (apart from a couple of bars and restaurants).

If you have the independent transport, and want a quiet getaway, then the samui pier is fantastic. It was amazing sitting out watching the world go by, and falling asleep to the sound of the waves every night, and when the rains came, it was fascinating watching the boats doing their thing, and a brilliant spot to watch the power of nature. I would go back in a heartbeat to this hotel.

It might be best to avoid this hotel during full moon parties, because it is the best pier to set off for Koh Phagnan, and therefore would probably be rammed with party goers at this time.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanivThailand, owner at Samui Pier Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2009
Hello sir

Thank you very much for your positive review , we strive to make all our customers happy and comfortable.

In response to your review , it is impossible that you were not supplied with towels as we have a strict check list and clean towels are provided on a daily basis.Big blue pool towels are always available at reception. we are a boutique hotel with 23 rooms and our pool is sized accordingly.

All our air conditioned rooms are equipped with an in room safe free of charge. This is located i the cupboards . (impossible to miss).

In response to you being overcharged for breakfast , it was not bought to our attention or i would have gladly rectified the problem , unfortunately mistakes happen and can be fixed.

During the night of the full moon we are usually fully booked as we have a great location and are close to koh phangan , we have had no complaints about noise from our customers , although we do warn our customers that there might be slight noise disturbances which is natural given the status that it is full moon period .

Our resort is not far at all from all the hustle and bustle. We are 5 minutes drive from the airport and 8 minutes from the centre chaweng.

I thank you very much for staying with us and we would love the opportunity to have you back at our resort.

sincerely
Yaniv Nagar
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.6 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#73 of 186 in Bophut
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samui Mermaid Resort
Samui Mermaid Resort
#119 of 186 in Bophut
255 reviews
2.9 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Laem Set
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
#71 of 186 in Bophut
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Tanamera
Villa Tanamera
#53 of 186 in Bophut
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Pier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Pier Resort

Property: Samui Pier Resort
Address: 30/5, Moo 4, Bangrak Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 8304, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Pier Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a funky and young beachfront resort that is located on the main pier that departs to Koh Phangan and the full moon parties. Our rooms are modern and the resort was completely renovated in October 2008. We offer a wide variety of services for your holiday needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samui Pier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Pier Hotel Bophut
Samui Pier Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing