We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Samui Pier Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samui Pier Resort
Ranked #59 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good but!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Third stay here for my wife and we have also sent friends here.
We stayed in beachfront room number 19 a step from the beach which we enjoyed immensely.
We always hire a scooter so the relatively quiet area suits, hired a brand new scooter next door at very competitive rate.
Dined on several occasions at restaurant ok.
Did not see Yaniv until day of our departure otherwise would have raised a couple of issues that we believed needed improvement, these being the bed linen was dirty and stained even when changed.
The young girl on front counter needs attitude adjustment as mentioned on early report not very customer focused, the guy that may have been a manager could also brush up on public relations, treating staff harshly in front of clients is not a good look.
Hotel pricing high especially as they require payment upfront with a surcharge for credit card.
Noisy piers either side can be very noisy some nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    102
    29
    15
    9
See reviews for
34
142
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The resort is nice, with very nice views from every villa. Also the beach is nice. I liked the nets and places to lie down during the day...
The manager is always around and hotel staff all very friendly (except managers wife was a little bit unfriendly on the first day - however all others were nice).
They want the money for the stay on the first day (we were in six places altogether and 3 wanted money before, 3 didn't).
They don't charge things in the restaurant on the room (this was the only place that didn't).
You need to rent a motorbike (we suggest one next door - they also have insurance and they just got new bikes).
The food in the restaurant in expensive (I would really like the breakfast to be included). There is a place across the street that is nice...
If you would like to have a market in the evening and pubs and restaurants next door that is not a place for you. Here is a a peaceful stay with nice views...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petra55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

WE recently spent 3 nights here in a beachfront room which was only metres from the water.
The sound of the waves at night was very soothing and peaceful.
Now the room....... was quite small, but adequate with tv, coffee making facilities and water each day. WE had a little verandah with 2 chairs and table. The bathroom had smelly drains, but if you kept the door closed it was bearable... the view was worth the smell! The one thing that really spoilt our stay here was the woman in the front office who had "ATTITUDE" !! She didnt smile and gave the impression we were lucky to have her show us to our room, or answer any other questions for the 3 days we stayed. On our last day we asked if we could have a late checkout (and offered to pay) She said NO before even checking. On the day we checked out at noon and stayed around the gardens and pool , knowing we could have a shower before we left for the airport , our room wasn't cleaned until 3pm.... so we could have stayed for a few more hours???? All other staff there were lovely, in fact in 7 trips to Thailand i have always found
Thai's to be beautiful caring people.

Room Tip: All rooms have seaviews but Beachfront are a lot closer to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayhopefuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in June this year and can only echo the other positive reviews. The owner Yanis couldn't have been more friendly and helpful - sincerely wanting us to enjoy our stay and his staff too were lovely. The hotel was small, beautifully situated right on the beach with a choice of places to sit,lie and generally relax. Although it was quiet there was always something to watch with the boats coming and going from the piers. Our room was lovely, clean , great bathroom, and balcony with stunning view. We hope some day to return- it was 'Just perfect'

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23 - end room first floor. Room was great and view was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hender1j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I can only echo the positive reviews of so many others. This is a small friendly hotel in an idyllic situation and the owner Yanis couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We both thoroughly recommend Samui Pier Resort - hope to return someday,

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23 which was lovely - second floor quiet and private and stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailaway33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was my second trip to Koh Samui, and my first time at Samui Pier Resort. The location is perfect, it's close enough to Chewang for all the shenanigans but far enough away to be the quintessential relaxing picturesque place you see on postcards.

The owner, Yun, is, to put it simply, amazing. He is extremely accommodating and proactive in making sure our stay was enjoyed by all (we stayed there with a group of 7 friends).

The price we paid was about $40 (Australian) per night for the beach front room. Between us we had every variety of room available and they all seemed to have water views and be comfortable.

To top it all off Yun organised for a complimentary seafood BBQ dinner on the beach for our whole group.

The eight of us on our trip unanimously agreed that it is a great place to stay.

It's highly recommended.

Room Tip: Beach front works out to be about $5 (AU) extra per night. Just do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captaincool01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at the Samui Pier Resort with a large group of friends recently and we all enjoyed the experience. We were tossing up on this or a larger more western style resort but were glad that we chose this as it felt warm, friendly and spirited, unlike the sterility of some of the bigger places we had stayed at before.
overall
Positive- excellent location on the Bophut Beach, peaceful but only a short trip to Chaweng and Fisherman's village, avoids the noise and fast pace of the more tourist driven Chaweng, owner, (Yun) is eager to please arranged mopeds and travel around the island for us, all staff helpful and friendly, lovely ambience with huts on the beach, more authentic than the big resorts. Food, especially Thai food, is excellent.
Negative- bathrooms could be better.

Room Tip: the beach front ones are worth the extra money, we stayed on the bottom floor but our friends stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieGreer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.3 mi away
Samui Mermaid Resort
Samui Mermaid Resort
#121 of 187 in Bophut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#81 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
#69 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Pier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Pier Resort

Property: Samui Pier Resort
Address: 30/5, Moo 4, Bangrak Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 8304, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Pier Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a funky and young beachfront resort that is located on the main pier that departs to Koh Phangan and the full moon parties. Our rooms are modern and the resort was completely renovated in October 2008. We offer a wide variety of services for your holiday needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Pier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Pier Hotel Bophut
Samui Pier Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing