We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for the budget-minded”
Review of Samui Pier Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samui Pier Resort
Ranked #66 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for the budget-minded”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here in June 2013. My friend and I were seeking a quiet location on a nice beach for a reasonable price and found this gem.

Upsides:
The grounds are excellent for a lazy day: little huts with comfy cushions are a great place to spend the afternoon drinking in the beauty of the ocean from the cool comfort of shade; padded hammocks sway in the breeze underneath sky-high palms. Rocking chairs, swings and plenty of beach loungers face a small and meticulously clean private white sand beach. Our bungalow was literally two steps from the sand; right outside in the garden a lovely Hungarian named Melinda offers private and group yoga classes, SUP lessons and for the truly adventurous, yoga on a SUP (highly recommend!). The pool is rather small but plenty refreshing for a quick dip. Though the beach is situated between two piers and sometimes smells faintly of gasoline from embarking ships, the water is actually cleaner and safer than many other beaches in Koh Samui (no corals/rocks/sea urchins to be wary of!). The rooms are comfortable and clean with crisp white sheets and minimalist decor. The AC units are just enough to keep the room cool, and the sliding doors and windows are dark glass to keep out the sun's heat. Relaxing music plays from 9 am - 9 pm and adds to the already chilled-out vibe of this place (also blocks out the traffic noise, which is only noticeable if you train your ear to listen).

Opportunities:
Like many other places in Koh Samui, the plumbing is sub-par and the bathroom sometimes smelled; we fixed this by burning incense, which actually added to the charm :) This isn't the hotel's fault, and was tolerable since we hardly spent any time in the room. The restaurant, although quite tasty, is a bit overpriced, but the friendly and always-smiling owner Shimon will give great recommendations for dining and activities. It's not worth it to take a cab anywhere unless you plan on drinking. We rented a scooter for 200 baht/day instead. Though everything was in good condition, this isn't a place for luxury seekers. Wifi is spotty at times; it's strongest in the restaurant, but I wouldn't recommend drinking there unless you go for happy hour only (all drinks 99 baht). I would have loved for there to be a foot bath at all the beach entrances as I've seen in many other places, but the only station to rinse off the sand is next to the pool on the opposite side of the garden from our bungalow. Another slight downside is the low lighting in the bathroom; brighter overhead lamps or vanity lighting would have made makeup application and sunburn inspection easier :)

Overall we enjoyed ourselves immensely and for a fraction of what we'd have paid at hotel-style resorts. Bring an air freshener and a small lighted mirror and you'll be all set.

Room Tip: It's a very small resort so no rooms are more than a few steps from the sand.19-22 are closest t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IK1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    102
    29
    15
    9
See reviews for
34
142
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived in koh samui and went straight to the resort the staff were so friendly and attentive. We had a standard room which was not standard by any means had a huge bed which was perfect for 2 people, the air con was really good , and the room was really clean! We had only booked for 1 night as we were going to koh phangan for the half moon! But as we loved this place so much were reserved the hotel for another 3 nights for when we returned! The staff were so nice and upgraded so when we returned we had two rooms next to eachother with connecting doors which was so good as there was 4 of us so we could get ready together! The food was really nice there and so was the cocktails ! They have little huts and hammocks to drink in at night! It's right on the beach which is lovely to walk on! Would got back to stay there now and from staying in other accommodation you realise how nice it is! Would recommend this to anyone :-) rachel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racheloc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at Samui Pier Resort in a beachfront room for two weeks, April 25th to May 9th. I hope this honest review helps with those looking to stay here.
Cons:
1. Room: Firstly, we stayed in a beach front room and were disappointed on arrival. The room was not on the ‘beachfront’ as advertised but on the second floor. We asked if another room was available, unfortunately were was not. The room itself absolutely STUNK of sewage and the toilet did not have the top on (See pictures). The aircon was decent, but could only be activated when in the room, thus is was always crazily hot when returning.
2. The pool was extremely small, it also had a lot of broken and missing tiles, I witnessed a small child cut his foot swimming there.
3. The “amazing” helpful owner was nowhere to be seen for the duration of our stay
4. DO NOT order taxi’s through the hotel, you pre-pay and they over charge you!! I believe they have a deal with a local taxi firm, go on the front and flag one down. You can get one much cheaper.
5. The hotel is not in Bophut, It is in Bangrak. Far from Fisherman’s Village and local amenities.
6. BIGGEST COMPLAINT! Whilst we were there the water and electricity went off three times. Whilst this was not the hotels “fault”, they were pre-notified that there was going to be a cut but failed to pass this information onto the guests. If I had known this we would have planned a day trip, rather than a relax day, and not being able to have a shower after sweating around the pool. Furthermore, we had just brought a load of drinks (inc milk), yoghurts etc for the mini-fridge which were ruined! On the last day the water went off at the hotel (this hotel only) we were unable to get a shower and our last night was ruined. The water went off because they are extending the hotel, extremely annoying. We were going to head to Fishermans Village for a last night meal, but were not going to go without having had a shower! However the hotel had generators and a separate water supply to keep their restaurant going??!! WHAT ABOUT THE GUESTS?!
7. The food at the hotel is expensive, go over the road there is a little café with a lovely owner! Very cheap, and excellent for the price 80bht for a curry and rice!
8. Finally the cleaners don’t clean, the shower was DIRTY! Looked like it hadn't been washed for years, we ended up doing it ourselves.
9. On the way out we were accused of pinching a glass?!! By this point with the on-goings of the night before we were both angry and ready to leave.

PRO’S
1. The gardens are lovely, little hammocks, swinging chairs and beach huts! Really gorgeous
2. The beach is private, nice and quiet.
3. Great for day trip right next to the pier!
4. The service around the pool is great, waiters happily bring you drinks and don’t like you to do it yourself 
5. Gorgeous location with the most beautiful sunsets!
6. Cheap to hire kayaks and body boards, also really fun for something different!

HOWEVER!! KOH SAMUI TRULY IS BEAUTIFUL!! I WOULD DEFINATLY RETURN, WE DID EVERYTHING FROM KAYAKING, SURFING, SCUBA DIVING, SNORKELLING, ELEPHANT TREKKING, WATERFALL SWIMMING I COULD GO ON…….AMAZING AMAZING!!
Ok for the price, but not a 4* Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlouex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiYan, Owner at Samui Pier Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear jlouex
Reading you review i am wondering if it is really an honest review as you say.
I will answer every point of your con's, first i did not at any time of your stay at Samui Pier Resort got any compliant direct from you as we are always willing to give money back and let you check out the hotel in any giving time with a full refund but in your case you stayed with us for 2 weeks and did not compliant or ask us to fix anything in your room.
Cons:
1.Definition of beachfront :Situated along or having direct access to a beach... your room was directly on the beach with no building or anything between you and the beach or the sea (we only have 3 rooms on the second floor and they are all true beach front rooms with beautiful view as you can see in other guest photos)
About the air-con not working when not in the room as we are on a small island and we short of electricity supply to the island as you have experienced during your stay with us so our rooms have a key tag to help save electricity when not in the room on our small and beautiful island.

2.Our pool is the right size for an hotel with 25 rooms as we do have beautiful privet beach as will.
We did have some ground movement as our swimming pool is right on the beach that cause some cracks on few pool tiles we did repair our swimming pool already as you can see in the new photo i have upload.

3.I am sorry to hear that you did not see me during your stay as i am ALLWAYS here but as i said before you did not approach any of my staff or myself at any time.

4.Abut Taxi on Samui prices you can read on trip adviser: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g676072-i12382-k4702682-Koh_Samui_Airport_Taxi_s-Chaweng_Koh_Samui_Surat_Thani_Province.html
our price is the same as every hotel if not cheaper and we only use our private minivan so we don't have any deal with any taxi company as you accuse us.

5.Our hotel is located in Bangrak beach as we say in all our website and looking at where your booking have made that the address you see there is: 30/5 Moo 4, Bangrak Beach ,Bouphut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, 84320.
Bouphut is our postal area and we are only less than five minutes’ drive from fisherman village.

6.Electricity problems first i have to say that again you accuse us of things that are not true
we do not get pro notification of electricity cut at any time.(we wish we did)
we did not have water cut only at our hotel and we do not have separate water supply only for our restaurant as when it’s no water is no water for the all village yes we do have separate small generator to run our reception computer and some lights.

7.Yes our restaurant is little bet more expansive than a street cafe overlooking the road as we have professional chefs health department certificate proper kitchen beach front seating and more... saying all of this our price for curry and rice is 120.00 baht only.

8 .Samui Pier Resort as over 115 good reviews and the all talk about how clean are the rooms so really i have no comment there as i know that our number one concern is cleanliness.

9. When you check out of the room the was one drinking glass missing probable got broken we do charge for it as all hotels do if you break something in the room.

Last but not least, we do not in any website or anywhere say that our hotel is 4* hotel.

thank you for the nice PRO’S
And i really wish that you have approach me during your stay and let me know about all the problems you said you have i am sure i could fix it all.

thank you again for staying with us.
Yaniv Nagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Pros : in a quiet location, free hire of kayaks, wifi everywhere although not European speeds, lovely loungers and beach style huts to watch the sun go down, large rooms, good bathroom, right by the beach. Nice chill out music throughout when lazing about (does go on till at least 9pm if you're and early sleeper mind). Bed and sheets all really nice

Cons: staff were a tad unwelcoming compared to other places we're stayed where they will bend over backwards to help you, cockroach in room (only 1 though), taxis to places are expensive, 300 to get to chaweng, restaurant over priced (go to the amazing Thai place over the road she is so lovely - purple front!). The pool is also nothing whatsoever like the website, it was green like a pond, unswimmable and out of use both days which the staff didn't even mention

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monami_SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

A great location close to the airport, the ferry terminals and right on the beach. Spacious room with all the mod-cons. Fantastic bathroom with waterfall-style shower. Don't go for this place based on the pool though, it's rather small and didn't look very appealing. Had a great stay overall, but felt the food was overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights back in February and I completely loved it nice relaxing days sitting on beach. German restaurant up road had lovely breakfast reggae bar up road too and locals across the road did all my dry cleaning and u rented a scooter Off her too. And ferry service to hoh phanyang was up road also. And the owner is the nicest fella over Der he offered to accommodate us on ourway back to koh samoui. Told us we cud take a shower and relax for few hours if we needed

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent two really relaxing nights here at the end of a trip. The grounds are gorgeous, so quiet and loads of loungers and little huts to relax in! We got tuk tuks into chaweng both nights for 100 baht as there's not that much around in the evening. Gorgeous restaurant at the hotel but disappointing that there is a 10% service charge on everything - even a bottle of water or can of coke! So we bought from the shop over the road during the day! Enjoyed our two nights but probably wouldn't stay much longer than this!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesQwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.3 mi away
Samui Mermaid Resort
Samui Mermaid Resort
#117 of 187 in Bophut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#77 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
#69 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Pier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Pier Resort

Property: Samui Pier Resort
Address: 30/5, Moo 4, Bangrak Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 8304, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Pier Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a funky and young beachfront resort that is located on the main pier that departs to Koh Phangan and the full moon parties. Our rooms are modern and the resort was completely renovated in October 2008. We offer a wide variety of services for your holiday needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samui Pier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Pier Hotel Bophut
Samui Pier Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing