We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely health friendly”
Review of Absolute Sanctuary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Absolute Sanctuary
Ranked #24 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I was in Absolute Sanctuary with a colleage and a couple few more media people. The place is decorated in morocan style (but not to the fullest). I kinda disliked the gray cement floor and wall though. Should be a bit more colourful. Felt like something is missing in the room.

However, the place and the service is awesome. The staff were SO friendly especially the therapist at the colon cleansing centre. The doctor or specialist was so kind to take care of me during the whole progress of colon cleansing that I suffered so much due to the hangover..

If you're looking for a general vacation including parties and drink. This is not the place for it since there's no alcoholic bars. The food was pretty much All organic.. However, they care a lot about being healthy. The pool is natural by using running by salts. Yoga centre is great and the massage is amazing too.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 148 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2009

I was rather surprised to read the first review of Absolute Sanctuary. Absolute Sanctuary is primarily a Detox Resort. People go there for health reasons. It is not a 5 Star seaside resort. I have been to several other Resorts like this in Koh Samui and from a price point of view it is very comfortable. They take the Program strictly and that's a good thing. It kept me on track. The Wellness Consultant believes firmly in these principles and gave me some very useful tips which I have been able to take into my every day life. As for his qualifications.... I asked him! He is a Holistic Health Practitioner with qualifications in nutrition and a host of other things. Thailand only grants to title Dr to allopathic practitoners. Thankfully he is not one! Thus the form is correct but only partially the nurses are all medically qualified in Thailand.
I came for peace and quiet and that what's I got. Great and a good job. Thanks for the good experience

Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
2  Thank Bangpo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Absolute Sanctuary is billing itself as a premier detox center and yoga retreat, after a recent weeks stay I would say not so fast. It's a very new establishment and is certainly still experiencing growing pains. Keep in mind if you are going to do a detox problem that's almost all you are going to be doing, even reading was too difficult at times. This is not going to be a "fun" holiday. I'll break down the experience for you...

The staff- The Thai staff is lovely, but needs additional training and the level of English is not great--though we noted that English classes were part of their daily schedule in the spa at least. The detox manager was absolutely pompous and despised by 95% of the people doing the detox program (the other 5% seemed to think he was a qualified doctor, even though the form you sign states that no one at the center is a qualified medical professional). I would certainly hold off going to absolute sanctuary until this person has moved on.

The Spa- Overpriced and not worth it was the overall opinion. The training did not seem there for the prices that were being charged. I live in S'pore and thought the prices were higher than what I pay here.

The rooms- Beautiful decorated and in excellent condition. You could hear your neighbors though and make sure you are on the 2nd floor. Only had a t.v. w/ about 5 English channels, they really should consider adding dvd's as you spend a lot of time in your room and dvd's are obviously easy to get in Thailand. Had both overhead fan and a/c. Would be nice if they all had bathtubs as you're body is hurting during this week and a good soak would be nice.

Facilities- Pool, which would be too small if the resort was at capacity. The loungers also were the unmovable type and I like to move every 20 minutes or so. Yoga classes- the detox yoga was fabulous, but only offered 3 days a week. Many of the classes were too difficult for a beginner. "Movie Theatre" only showed one movie a day. Restaurant- the little I had post detox was very good! Wish there were cooking classes or a cookbook as things looked really yummy.

The Detox- What you really want to know about. The rundown is that you get 4 juices a day filled with psyllium husk and bentonite clay--yum! You also get 4 nutritional supplements a day, 2 broths, and one 1 coconut water. You aren't hungry, but it is tedious and 7 days is a bit much. On top of this you do one colonic a day to empty you of the toxins (and everything else), the nurses were well-trained and I trusted them fully. The colonic is not painful--just weird.

The aftermath- Yes, I lost some weight, yes I felt pretty damn good for not eating. Oddly, that after leaving I'm just not hungry at all and am continuing to eat very little and am exercising daily.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank genkipanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicebF8747NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: le camere al piano superiore hanno bella vista mare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank elide f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank riegrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: второй этаж
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Вадим С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
9.0 mi away
Health Oasis Resort
Health Oasis Resort
#17 of 30 in Mae Nam
203 reviews
3.5 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
11.8 mi away
Samahita Retreat
Samahita Retreat
#2 of 13 in Taling Ngam
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 185 in Bophut
1,125 reviews
3.7 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#35 of 185 in Bophut
1,602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Sanctuary

Address: 88 Moo 5, Tambol Bophut, Amphur Koh Samui | Suratthani, Surat Thani, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Price Range: $69 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Sanctuary 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Sanctuary is a wellness resort specialising in Detox, Spa and Yoga holiday programs. Lifestyle programs such as Pilates reformer, Core Blast and gym classes are also on offer to ensure you receive a complete and rejuvenating experience for a healthier body and mind. Furnished with Moroccan-inspired decors, Absolute Sanctuary is a tranquil haven of cleansing, recharging and revitalisation. With a wide range of detoxification programs, healing spa therapies, inspiring yoga, pilates reformer and gym classes and a healthy gourmet cuisine restaurant, the Absolute Sanctuary caters to those seeking a journey back to a long-term rebalancing of their bodies and minds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Absolute Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Sanctuary Hotel Bophut
Absolute Sanctuary Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing