We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was Nervous at First but a good Overall Experience”
Review of Absolute Sanctuary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Absolute Sanctuary
Ranked #21 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Now normally I'm not into the whole Detox Yoga thing but after living 7 years in a polluted mega city I decided that my body needed a recharge. So the misses and I signed up for a signature 7 day detox here and I must say it was not the most fun I've had in Thailand but it was totally worth it. The location is isolated and in the middle of nowhere but that actually works to your advantage as you're far removed from the temptations usually associated with the area. They do however offer a free shuttle to the beach if you need to be on the surf. The rooms were simple, big, clean and comfortable with some interesting Moroccan inspired decor. The staff was absolutely amazing everyone smiling and friendly and attentive. As far as the Detox program goes it went great the food options were very fresh and healthy and the juices were delicious the facilities were clean and had the latest equipment I ended up losing almost 7kg and I feel amazing... if you're gonna do a detox on samui this is the place to do it. Its a bit more expensive than some of the other options on the island but its totally worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bed-lessBirthdayBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 151 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Positives: Very Comfortable Rooms, excellent programs (Yoga Holiday, Be Fit, Detox Juice Fasting, Detox Vegetarian and Detox Raw Food), great massage/detox treatments an facilities, excellent yoga teachers and facilities, beautiful pool perfect for a read and a nap and delicious kitchen.

We were on a 5 day Modified Detox (Raw Food for my husband and Veg for me) program, the schedules from Morning Juices, to Yoga, to Lunch, on to treatments including Colon Hydrotherapy and Massages and an afternoon swim led to a full and relaxing day. The Colon Hydrotherapy can be intimidating and off putting, but the open ended machine at Absolute is really the best method. Should be noted that results are not going to be obvious until day 3 so detoxers should try to do at least 3-4. WIth the modified diet, juices, treatments and colon cleansing both of us were practically shining by Day 3. Not to mention we were sleeping like babies too!

I thought the Moroccan layout would be a touch strange in Samui but actually it worked quite well with the feel and theme of the resort. We rented a scooty and within 7-10minutes were at Chaweng or Bo Phut beaches. The resort is not on Bophut it is really near Cheong Mon.

Downside to leaving the resort was you could be compelled to cheat on your detox when you see the cheery bars/restaurants with cold beers/wines and delicious food so best to stay in the resort which has everything you need!

Nice touch is no major food smells to make fasters too hungry in the kitchen and the pool bar juices are excellent.

Next time though I feel I would like to stay at Absolute but undertake an al a carte stay. The room rates are very reasonable the crowd is lovely with like minded health conscious people, the environment very relaxing. Staying here for a couple of weeks, enjoying the healthy food and treatments, people and yoga without committing to a strict regimen might make for a more enjoyable holiday.

Must dos: Definitely try the Cacao Balls and Chocolate Cookies (Raw food) and Carrot Cake! Yoga classes are excellent highly recommend with Kez. Even with a Yoga background the Ashtanga and Power Yoga are very challenging. If on a detox do not try the Hot Yoga (I did and almost fainted). Do the Colon Therapy its worth it.

Shuttle service and airport service is good. Samui airport is actually one of our favorites in the world one always feel like its going to be a good week and a fun stay with the vibe of the place. We actually left for Bangkok due to work and returned home on day 7. However we both felt we'd really gotten into the groove of the island and the detox regimen by Day 5. Moral of the story - don't leave if you don't have constraints and stay a full 7 days at least. We would have stayed for 2 weeks if possible and perhaps spent another week on Bophut at a hotel or villa post detox.

Downsides: Bathrooms are dark, showers could be better, we had to ask for duck pillows, normal ones are not comfortable, menu for detoxers on the vegetarian or raw food modified diets are limited and need to be expanded and more enjoyable for those not wanting to juice fast and simply eat well. It really doesn't impact the colon hydrotherapy experience and would improve the experience of customers to have a more interesting menu. Yoga downside: Even if you have a yoga background you may not be prepared for the 90minute sessions that are the norm for Advanced Yoga. 60mins is quite enough when you’re detoxing. What I didn’t like was being told I couldn’t leave the room after 60minutes and had to stay an extra 30minutes sweating and uncomfortable - even if I wasn’t up to it or didn’t want to lie down and needed some air.

Location is not on beach where as Samahita is but I feel the facilities here for first time detoxers might be better and more hotel like. If you're used to beach hotels such as villas on Bo Phut beach the experience is different but we still loved waking up to the pool and beautiful sunrise over the complex. One annoying fact I had spoken with staff (2nd stay here) to reserve a 1st Floor Pool View Room several months ahead. When we arrived we were given a ground floor room facing the wall and recycling and garbage. Super annoyed I asked the staff to change the room immediately which they did but I didn't like being shafted just because the resort was full with teacher training. Bottom line don't be afraid to ask for what you need. Unfortunately the communication ability of staff is very low, the Supervisors Buay and Apple were fantastic but asking for anything off the regimen was a pain in the neck because they would not understand what you are saying and the poor supervisors would have to be called in. Might be better to write things down. My husband changed his detox to 3 days from 5 - and every time he made an order for normal food at the kitchen the staff would go into shock. We asked for duck feather pillows one night and the staff was completely lost until Buay had to be called in to help.

Most important of all We left with all our boxes checked and very content. At 600 dollars USD per night we feel we got good value for 3 meals, juices, broths, supplements, 3 massages each, 5 colon therapies, Yoga every day and of course great accommodations for 2. Thank you to Mai, Tina, Will, Apple, Rose, JeeJee and Buay for making our stay memorable!

Room Tip: 1st Floor, Pool View Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zjabbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

No alcohol onsite reduces temptations! The food is really delicious & is prepared to be as healthy as possible. Swimming pool good for laps, plenty of exercise & yoga workshops daily.
Location is not so good, away from beach but there are free shuttles. We rented a car & visited different beaches. Rooms are basic but comfortable. I certainly feel fitter after 10 days here!

Room Tip: Try the healthy food & fresh juices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you are looking for a detox holiday this is the place to go. All the treatments are very good and the staff is very attentive and keep you on schedule with all what you have to do as your dialy detox routine in a very friendly way. They have yoga and pilates on a dialy basis too which is very good and teh pool is a good size for a quiet swim - if you still have any energy left!
Rooms are lovely although on the basic side, but confortable enough and you can even hire a DVD player for your dialy early nights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I checked in on my own for a 5-day yoga program.

Rooms are great.

Food is really amazing and after the first meal any thought of eating meat passes completely. In fact on returning to civilisation I struggled to want to eat meat.

The yoga and meditation sessions are awesome. Loved Jana. I had probably only done 100 hours of yoga all up in my life and she made me feel very confident and supported me through some of the advanced classes. You are made to feel really welcome.

Had my first colonic whilst at the resort too which was an awesome experience and would definitely have another.

I left feeling totally refreshed and rejuvenated.

All the staff are fantastic and very very attentive.

Room Tip: You want to be on the first floor with a pool or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Excellent yoga classes. Range from restorative/stretching, gentle beginner's hatha yoga, to more intense 90 minute hot/flow/ashtanga classes. See website for full schedule. I recommend classes by Jana or Kez, both very experienced teachers.
Nice big swimming pool. Restaurant has tasty healthy food.
Travellers & new students (Samui residents) can ask about special introductory rates.

Room Tip: only went to yoga classes, gym, pool, & restaurant, without staying at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidkstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Joined their 7-day fitness program. Yoga and personal training were very good.  I enjoyed it thoroughly. Food in the only restaurant here was surprisingly tasty. It proves healthy food doesn't need to be boring. Too bad they were weighed down by the hotel side. The room was decent but services were mediocre. They let me in my room before it was made up after the last customer. The staff left so quickly that he didn't even see the room wasn't made. It was pretty disorganized. They still used hand writing invoices when you ordered from the only juice bar. Same for massage appointments. Every staff member at the restaurant and the juice bar decides what is or is not included in the package. It was inconsistent sometimes. Staff tried their best but it's very obvious they aren't properly trained to receive hotel guests. Just go bearing in mind it's a 3-star hotel with only the basics. You will enjoy it then.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stace y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
9 mi away
Health Oasis Resort
Health Oasis Resort
#17 of 30 in Mae Nam
204 reviews
5 mi away
Kirikayan Luxury Pool Villas & Spa
3.5 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Samahita Retreat
Samahita Retreat
#2 of 13 in Taling Ngam
196 reviews
6.5 mi away
Saree Samui
Saree Samui
#2 of 468 in Ko Samui
723 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Sanctuary

Address: 88 Moo 5, Tambol Bophut, Amphur Koh Samui | Suratthani, Surat Thani, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Price Range: $70 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Sanctuary 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Sanctuary is a wellness resort specialising in Detox, Spa and Yoga holiday programs. Lifestyle programs such as Pilates reformer, Core Blast and gym classes are also on offer to ensure you receive a complete and rejuvenating experience for a healthier body and mind. Furnished with Moroccan-inspired decors, Absolute Sanctuary is a tranquil haven of cleansing, recharging and revitalisation. With a wide range of detoxification programs, healing spa therapies, inspiring yoga, pilates reformer and gym classes and a healthy gourmet cuisine restaurant, the Absolute Sanctuary caters to those seeking a journey back to a long-term rebalancing of their bodies and minds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Absolute Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Sanctuary Hotel Bophut
Absolute Sanctuary Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing