We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful, nice facilities”
Review of Absolute Sanctuary

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Absolute Sanctuary
Ranked #28 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We didn’t stay here but we had several hours before our flight departed so we
spent the afternoon at Absolute Sanctuary. It’s only 5 min from the Koh Samui airport so it was really convenient. For 650 Baht you can use their beautiful infinity pool, sauna, lockers and you can take a yoga class in one of their nice studios. We had lunch at the Love Kitchen and while the food was good- it’s all organic and detoxer friendly- but it was overpriced in our opinion. Very peaceful place to spend an afternoon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 151 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

I needed a break from everything, but also a place that offered lots of yoga classes and Absolute Sanctuary was the perfect place.

What did I like?
- The service was outstanding
- Excellent choice of yoga classes offered. Great teachers. Kes was one of the best yoga teachers I've ever had. Very hands on. I learnt a lot.
- The spa was nothing short of amazing. I couldn't wait to go for the 90 minutes daily Thai massage. Other treatments were just as great. The therapists were great and the so was the atmosphere.
- The juice bar was great.
- Rooms were spacious and nicely decorated

What I didn't like so much?
- Why a Moroccan themed resort in Thailand???
- Not enough lounge chairs around the pool
- There are several reasons I wasn't a fan of the Love Kitchen. The menu on the web site looked great, but upon arrival I quickly realized that only a small selection of dishes were offered to guests on the yoga holiday program. There was not enough Thai dishes on offer. Seriously, who goes to Thailand to eat burritos and Cuban delight??? Also, I was disappointed that the only tea that was included in the breakfast was Lipton black tea. Also I was not a big fan of the location and set up of the restaurant. The outside space is not big enough to cater to all the guests. Who wants to sit inside in an air conditioned room with bad lighting? It would have been nice to be able to eat around the pool
- The resort is lacking a cozy area for guests to hang out after dinner

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank EmsterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed there for 3 nights with a friend who has gone back there 6 times in the past 4 years.

The service was tip top from ALL their members of staff. They were all very attentive and friendly; well groomed and knowledgeable and confident in their areas of responsibilities.

The resort has only 38 rooms so it was very peaceful - perfect for a yoga state of mind.

Rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Their restaurant, the Love Kitchen, (cute name), serves very healthy and organic dishes and health juices - not all fab but were all very well prepared, presented and wholesome. I enjoyed the complimentary veg broth which is highly recommended for anyone on a detox. Yums!

They screen movies nitely at their function room where we were each provided with a wide comfortable deck chair with a pillow/bolster and blanket each.... superb pampering.

They are 12 mins car ride away from shopping belt, Chaweng, and complimentary shuttle is available several times a day. Also about 15 mins away from the airport so visiting Absolute Sanctuary was really of very little effort.

It's a resort that has everything you need: yoga, massages, talks, etc... I'd definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCinSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This place is absolutely amazing! It's so extremely thought-through. All their treatments are top notch, the staff is so friendly, the yoga teachers are great, and the food is delicious. Their raw food menu is the best in Thailand! I would really recommend it to anyone!

This video gives a good understanding of how nice it is!
http://www.novasans.com/blog/2011/05/absolute-sanctuary-on-koh-samui-thailand/

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kallandso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

this was an amazing 5 day yoga retreat. I had just finished a really intense business trip and needed to unwind. The first 2 days i was still in work mode, scheduling our days, planning which yoga class to attend and what time lunch would be at. At the end of the second day i succumbed to the relaxation and pampering. You get treated really well at the Absolute. The people are so nice, the massages are incredible (try Nan or Em), the food is delicious and makes you feel really good, the juices are awesome, and the yoga classes are challenging. I got exactly what I came for. At the end of 5 days I felt leaner, lighter, more energetic, relaxed and healthy. I am no longer slouching and, a month later, still practicing yoga everyday and not having any caffeine. This is the perfect way to reboot. the beach is a 20 min. walk which I found really pleasant. The resort is not too chichi, but not too hippy either. It was perfect for me and I am already planning when to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zushmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

As the plane started to descend, my sleepy head woke up when i saw the islands and the big, blue sea surrounding this place called Samui. I was met by the sweet and friendly Absolute Sanctuary staff/driver and was immediately brought to the place. A breath taking place in a quiet corner of the island. The Absolute Sanctuary will be my home for the next 5 days for the yoga bootcamp that i had enlisted in.
the Island is a charming community peppered with resorts and inns going around the island. there is one main road also circumventing the island. ..so many resorts to choose from. if you're in the investing mood, they also have property planners and developers with property investments that will surely make you dream of retiring sooner.
if you want a very laid back and quiet getaway, Koh Samui ...and for a detox, yoga experience...with very sweet and friendly staff..Absolute Sanctuary is the place to be...i could keep on going back to Samui and to Absolute...

Thank purplesoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I had a five night stay at Absolute Sanctuary a couple of months ago and loved every minute of it. As I was travelling on my own, I wanted to stay somewhere where I felt safe and comfortable, but didn't want to be surrounded by families and honeymooners. I also wanted to stay somewhere where I could completely relax, and escape from reality for a while. My "Rejuventation Holiday" at Absolute Sanctuary was the perfect choice. The resort is beautiful - from the room, to the restaurant, to the pool area, to the spa. The food was fantastic and the massages/spa treatments were amazing. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful as well.

If you're looking for a busy, action-packed holiday and love to party/shop/sightsee, this isn't the place for you. But if you're wanting to get away from it all - to enjoy some peace and quiet in a gorgeous tropical setting, where you can take some time out to focus on your health and wellbeing, and "recharge your batteries", I would highly recommend Absolute Sanctuary.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KF2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
9 mi away
Health Oasis Resort
Health Oasis Resort
#17 of 30 in Mae Nam
204 reviews
3.5 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
11.8 mi away
Samahita Retreat
Samahita Retreat
#2 of 13 in Taling Ngam
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Saree Samui
Saree Samui
#2 of 472 in Ko Samui
732 reviews
1.1 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Sanctuary

Address: 88 Moo 5, Tambol Bophut, Amphur Koh Samui | Suratthani, Surat Thani, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Bophut
Price Range: $88 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Sanctuary 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Sanctuary is a wellness resort specialising in Detox, Spa and Yoga holiday programs. Lifestyle programs such as Pilates reformer, Core Blast and gym classes are also on offer to ensure you receive a complete and rejuvenating experience for a healthier body and mind. Furnished with Moroccan-inspired decors, Absolute Sanctuary is a tranquil haven of cleansing, recharging and revitalisation. With a wide range of detoxification programs, healing spa therapies, inspiring yoga, pilates reformer and gym classes and a healthy gourmet cuisine restaurant, the Absolute Sanctuary caters to those seeking a journey back to a long-term rebalancing of their bodies and minds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Absolute Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Sanctuary Hotel Bophut
Absolute Sanctuary Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing