We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks all the boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ibis Samui Bophut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Samui Bophut
Ranked #48 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The Ibis Bophut is perfect for Samui due to its high international standards and reasonable prices. It is clean, modern, has free wifi, nice pools, a bar, a restaurant and a beach. I'm pleased to have found this place and would gladly stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina S, General Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear James H,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences that you had with ibis Samui Bophut. We are very pleased to receive such positive feedback and are happy to hear that ibis Samui Bophut has satisfied your needs and lived up to all your expectations.

We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Katharina Schex
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    678
    243
    73
    35
See reviews for
331
586
126
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This property is an amazing place to relax and rejuvenate yourself.. Lovely location in Koh Samui.. The layout of this property is just beautiful. With a lovely pool, a private beach and good restaurants, this is one of the best places to stay in Koh Samui. Just loved my stay in this property. The rooms though small but are yet very cozy and well maintained...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alok125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina S, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Alok125,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Bophut Samui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are happy to hear that your time here was relaxing and that you were able to take home pleasant memories. Please don't hesitate to visit other ibis Erawan Thailand hotels in Bangkok, Hua Hin, Pattaya & Phuket!

All the best to you, we look forward to welcoming you back at the ibis Samui Bophut in the future.

Warm regards,

Katharina Schex
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Good budget hotel for backpackers staying for couple of days but not so good for a longer stay due to the total lack of cupboard/ wardrobe space in the rooms. Six hangers for two people and one half wardrobe and a small shelf above means you basically live out of your suitcase. It feels a bit like camping but with a room. Rooms are basic but clean with a small balcony. The staff in the bar and restaurant are really friendly and attentive but it's difficult to get info or problems sorted by the front of house staff because of the language barrier. It's unreasonable to expect guests to learn fluent Thai for a two week holiday and a hotel is a service industry so I think a bit more work on this by the management would be helpful. The grounds, bar and pool area are immaculate and well tended and easy access to the beach is great. Barely enough sunbeds round the pool but because the beach is so close it wasn't a problem most of the time. The breakfast is fine without being outstanding but the specials nights can be a bit expensive if you eat at the hotel ( we didn't ) £7 for a BBQ chicken breast is pushing it when you can go outside and get a starter and main course in any restaurant for the same money. The walkways and corridors are very barren and unappealing with beige walls and beige tiles with no relief. It looks like a barrack block and I should know, I've been in a few. Basic doesn't have to mean austere so again, we're meant to be in Thailand, let's see it! In contrast, the foyer is a very attractive, comfortable place to sit and people watch in. The vast majority of the guests were Russian so if you think you're going to meet people at the bar and make friends think again. Apart from one notable exception we chatted to, they are as graceless, charmless and humourless as they are anywhere else. So, to sum up, fine for a few days stay if you're not expecting to spend too much time in the hotel and use it as a base but I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay .

Room Tip: They're all much of a muchness
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were lovely, pool is great, however the food is TERRIBLE and the staff were all rude (apart from one possibly English man that worked at the front desk)

The food was frozen rubbish that was always served cold as if it had been sitting there for an hour (other reviews say this!) and it's really overpriced.

The staff couldn't have been ruder. No one spoke English and the ones who did would answer questions with 'no.' Or 'I don't know'. The best one was when we were told to leave the breakfast hall very rudely when it hit 10am (when it ends) and we had nearly finished our food anyway (there were still about 10 tables eating). The member of staff just came up to our table with a stern face and yelled 'please finish'

Very odd seeing as Ibis is a well known hotel company.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferGormley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSamuiBophut, General Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear JenniferGormley,

I would like to thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor and please receive my apologies for the terrible service rendered.
I am nevertheless pleased to read that you have enjoyed the rooms and pool area.

In regards to food quality I have discussed with the concerned teams and rectifications have been put in place.

As for the service and friendliness of the staff, please know that your comment was passed on to them and acknowledged in order to avoid future occurences.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Ivan B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for nearly 3 weeks had COUNTLESS problems. Firstly rooms need repainting & attention detail

We found long hair (both male with short hair) in the shower, sick in the bins, some random cheap toiletries we've never seen before appeared our quality products??? This, as could many other things couldn't be explained

There are holes all over the wooden thoroughfares connecting the pool / restaurant which caused us injuries.

Staff were trying to initiate illicit meetings with my partner in front of my face. Food is ALWAYS cold & comes incorrect. Breakfast is meagre & never fresh.

We asked for help so many times and were completely fobbed off. DONT BE FOOLED BY THE FAMOUS NAME this place upholds no standards you'd expect from Ibis Or Accor. They completely ignore you, shout at you, proposition you & ultimately laugh at you.

Honestly stay on one the slightly more expensive hotels on Bophut itsa beautiful place

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sunseekers2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSamuiBophut, General Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear sunseekers2405,


I would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review of our hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am pleased to inform you that we have already rectified the issues that you’ve mentioned. The room had undergone maintenance and the footpath has since been replaced. Our staff are undergoing constant training to ensure smooth and friendly service. At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrence of these issues. On the more positive note, I am glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed beautiful Bophut and had an opportunity to experience what it has to offer. I would like to thank you again for taking your time to comment on your stay. Please don’t hesitate to contact me to discuss any of the concerns by email: H6688-GM1@accor.com

Warm Regards,

Ivan B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

stayed on ground floor and room smelt of sewerage although kids room next door was fine. They tried 3 times to fix the smell coming out of bathroom but to no avail. was so strong it stunk out out bedroom as well. finally moved us and kids to 3rd floor after 3 days of complaining only to find out no hot water from shower! final night/day here was only one with no problems. good area and nice beach, good breakfast but evening meals dissapointing however other excellent restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyyoung69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSamuiBophut, General Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear tonyyoung69,

Thank you for posting a review and letting us know about your experience with us. Unfortunately we are sad to read that you encountered a discomfort with the bathroom pipes. Please accept my sincere apologies for this matter. We have concluded that in days of heavy raining, the main pipes of the island have an impact on the hotel pipes and few rooms are affected. We have raised the issue to the local authorities and I am pleased to say that the problem is now solved.

Other than that I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed our breakfast, garden and beach.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the future,

Best Regards,

Ivan B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Away from the main part of Koh Samui this hotel offer great rooms although small and on the beach. Included buffet breakfast was excellent with different items everyday. Pools were good and many restaurants in walking distance. Shuttle bus to town in the evenings was good if you wanted even more shopping and eating options.

Room Tip: Friday night is street market at the Fishermans's Village walk just up 15min walk from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank our56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.8 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
5.0 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#24 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#16 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Samui Bophut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Samui Bophut

Property: ibis Samui Bophut
Address: 197 Moo 1, Rob Koh Road | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#34 Family Hotel in Bophut
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#55 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Samui Bophut 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, bold and trendy, with an idyllic beachfront location and views, ibis Bophut Samui has it all.250 modern rooms, each with WiFi. 24 hour reception. Food and drink, day and night.Ten minutes from the airport and five from the pier, the hotel is packed with things to do.Sunbath on the beach, sip a cocktail at the pool bar, spoil yourself with a massage or explore the authentic fishing village nearby on a bike...The first international three star hotel in Bophut Beach, ibis Bophut Samui, is a refreshing island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Samui Bophut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bophut Samui Hotel Bophut
Ibis Samui Bophut Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing