We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location but good hotel”
Review of ibis Samui Bophut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
ibis Samui Bophut
Ranked #47 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best location but good hotel”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at the hotel, we had a connection flight from bangkok and arrived late.
The hotel was really ok- clean, nice staff members , great pool and private beach, great break fast.
Though i felt it was a bit deserted( no places to hang out at night nearby)
The hotel was ok and really nice for a one night pitstop before going to ko tao / koh pangan

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    687
    245
    73
    36
See reviews for
338
591
127
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weaverham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in August 2013 and found the hotel as you would expect with an Ibis hotel, Very clean, comfortable and great staff. Room is small but adequate with A/C and safe, on the beach and a really good bar which serves great Thai food. People who have moaned about the staff must be the sort of people who expect instant service and complain if they don't get it. If thats how you react DON'T go to Thailand , the Thai's are the nicest, friendliest race i have ever met but like everybody, they like to be treated in a friendly way in return. If you do that you will have friends for life and brilliant service. Try the Ibis hotel in Bophut, it's close to the Fisherman's village where all the bars and restaurants are and you will have a great time with great people without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte B, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Neil W,

I would like to thank you for taking time to write a wonderful review about our hotel!

Thank you very much for mentioning the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel! However you described very well the Thai spirit and their way of working: also I am not surprised to read that you found our staff very friendly!
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay in Bophut Beach and that our friendly staff made it a success.

Thank you again for telling us about your experience at ibis Bophut Samui!
We hope to welcome you back soon !

Best regards,

Charlotte B
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Ono
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The pools are nice, and are good for the kids, come early to find shade though. the beach next is OK although Lamai is better.
It's close enough to walk to Fishermen’s village where you can find a lot of eating options and to the main road, where you can find other and minimarket.
Breakfast is nice.
The rooms are tight, not space for luggage. the rooms are clean if you remind the staff to do it. the towels are smelly.
Taxis in the island are not cheap, and there are no tuktuks.
1+1 drinks between 5-7PM.
As Koh Samui became expensive, this is a good budget option for a family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank efsharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed for 5 nights in a handy adjoining room. There was a wii in the kids room, which we didn't use as we were too busy swimming in 1 of the 3 pools or getting a massage by the beach. It is a good walk to the fishermans village, but nothing wrong with a bit of exercise. Breakfast was well stocked and plenty of variety. Some good restaurant options around the hotel as well as down at the fishermans village. Rooms were clean and all staff we dealt with were friendly. Overall a good budget winner for a family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucjay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte B, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear lucjay2,

I would like to thank you for writting a very nice review about our hotel!

You summed up perfectly what our hotel is all about: cozy and clean rooms that cover all the needs for a peaceful night, a big comfortable bed, a hearty breakfast, a nice location near to the fisherman's village. That plus the charming pools and beach make for a great combination at a very attractive price

Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about you experience

We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Samui in the near future, and please don't hesitate to also visit other ibis Erawan Thailand hotels in Bangkok, Hua Hin, Pattaya & Phuket.

Best regards,

Charlotte B
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Ibis at Bophut beach was an average hotel. The hotel rooms at stripped down to the bear minimum. Bed, Shower, TV, Bar Fridge (not stocked), Soap dispenser in bathroom. For the price we paid we weren't expecting much. I was happy with the stay as the location was quiet and peaceful. The hotel is right on the beach so only a 1 minute walk from my room to beach. They have Buffet breakfast everyday but the food was all very average. Hotel is great if you are looking for a beach stay which is peaceful and quiet. If you want to be where the action is then I suggest stay somewhere in Chawang.
24 hour Convenience store across the road (Sells Alcohol).
5 Minute cab ride to Fisherman's Village with some good restaurants and only a few shops.
15 Minutes to Chawang. Lot more to do in Chawang.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Black_Thunder307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are clean, the buffet breakfast was GREAT, and the pool area was really nice. My 3 year old niece had a blast; they have 3 different pools! Lots of families/kids at the resort while we were there. They also have an outdoor ping pong table. The beach was lovely and clean but the sand was a little coarse and was hard to take a long walk on. Also, the water is not as clear as a beach at Samet Island (for example). I'm not sure how the sand/water are in other areas of Samui. I loved all the food vendors who walk along the beach, you can get a coconut right on the beach for 50 baht and they throw in some pieces of fruit for free! Some of the vendors who sell merchandise can get a little annoying, though. Overall this hotel provides pool/beach for a great value, and a tasty Western/Thai breakfast, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mapleaflove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Travelled here with friends and we enjoyed it here, staff were friendly too, however we did feel on one or two occasions that they were very laid back and tend to ignore us. Breakfast was good, reasonable for 250baht. The BBQ buffet they advertise was not what we thought, we expected an actual BBQ with someone cooking food on it...like at home...however we got to the restaurant about 8.30ish to find only 4/5 others in the restaurant and a huge selection of food laid out to help yourself, with our meat or seafood choice coming from the kitchen, not what we would call a BBQ! All the same it was nice! Room was great for the few days we stayed, and liked the location too, beach and pools were fab, overall it was an enjoyable few days at the ibis and we will definitely be back for a visit :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank J0c89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte B, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear JOc89,

Thank you very much for taking time to tell us about your experience at ibis Samui Bophut!

It is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the location of the hotel, the charming pool, our breakfast and that the whole team was able to contribute to your nice holiday!
Concerning the BBQ Buffet, we use to organize it on the terrace outside the restaurant but when the weather doesn’t allow us to do so, we don’t have any choice but to cook the meat and seafood in the kitchen.

Thank you very much for choosing ibis Samui Bophut as your domicile for your stay on the island and for taking the time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

Charlotte B.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.8 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
5.0 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#23 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Samui Bophut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Samui Bophut

Property: ibis Samui Bophut
Address: 197 Moo 1, Rob Koh Road | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#34 Family Hotel in Bophut
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#55 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Samui Bophut 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, bold and trendy, with an idyllic beachfront location and views, ibis Bophut Samui has it all.250 modern rooms, each with WiFi. 24 hour reception. Food and drink, day and night.Ten minutes from the airport and five from the pier, the hotel is packed with things to do.Sunbath on the beach, sip a cocktail at the pool bar, spoil yourself with a massage or explore the authentic fishing village nearby on a bike...The first international three star hotel in Bophut Beach, ibis Bophut Samui, is a refreshing island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your ibis Samui Bophut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bophut Samui Hotel Bophut
Ibis Samui Bophut Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing