We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bssic hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Samui Bophut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis Samui Bophut
Ranked #48 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good bssic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Clean and pretty gardens nice beach but basic rooms no clothes storage you live out of your suitcase. That said really enjoying our stay short distance from Fishermans Village you can walk via the beach or road. the hotel has a mini bus service to the village or cherwamg both are a must see on this trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnieiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    662
    240
    72
    35
See reviews for
326
570
124
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Ibis is great for a cheaper alternative or last minute booking. We really wanted to avoid Chaweng and a lot of the busier main beaches so this was the perfect place for us! As a whole, I would say that Bophut is the ONLY place to stay in Koh Samui!
The rooms are quite small with limited amenities and poor lighting, but this only encouraged us to get out and explore the sights more!
We ate at the Taste Restaurant which was amazing value and pretty good food!

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor facing the beach are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foomister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed before in Accor chain of Ibis hotels around Thailand. For the price paid, there's absolutely nothing to complain about. Yes the rooms are small, yes the shower is small, but the room is general is clean. The room decor is pretty much standard throughout the Ibis chain. The only issue I had was that Wi-Fi reception was poor and only certain Internet sites were accessible.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank I_YAM_THE_STIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirill M, Front Office Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Sesto Elemento,

Thank you for taking your time to write a positive review about our hotel. I would like to sincerely apoliogize for an issue with the internet that you've experienced during your stay. I am pleased to inform you that this was a temporary disruption affecting the area that has already been rectified. I'm glad that in overall, you've enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your loyalty to the ibis brand. I'm looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Kirill Mokronosov
Front Office Manager
ibis Samui Bophut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked and paid for our stay at Ibis through Lastminute.com. On arrival we were kept waiting more than 2 hours as they could not find our booking, even though we provided our booking confirmation and 3 separate receipts showing that payment had been taken from our account. We were then told that we would need to contact Last minute.com ourselves to sort the problem, even though there seemed to be no problem from our side, clearly we had paid and made our reservation. We asked if we could call from the hotel and were told that we would be charged to do so. My credit card was taken as security and charged 'accidently' before being refunded. We asked to speak to a manager and were told that no one was on duty at that time. The next day we went to see the manager as we were unhappy with how we were treated on arrival, and the fact that we would not be paying the international fees on my card which was 'accidently' charged.He basically said the problem was ours, not the hotels and their was nothing that they could do. I was highly unimpressed with the attitude of the front desk and management staff. The hotel itself was clean, and comfortable, however 2 out of 3 days the power went off in the hotel for at least 2 hours. It was also very noisy in the mornings which was not very relaxing. We ate at the 'Taste' Restaurant one night and it was hands down the worst thai food we ate on our 3 week stay in Thailand, also the most expensive. The facilities of this hotel are good, however i would not stay again due to the attitudes of the staff, and the other issues which need ironing out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimoraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
We are happy to know that you liked our hotel's cleanliness, facilities and comfy room. Ibis is a 3-star hotel brand with international standard offering a great stay at an affordable price.
We sincerely apologise for any unexpected experience that you might have encountered with our services. We are providing continuous training to our staff to ensure our guests are well taken care of. We thank you for your comment on our service and will improve it accordingly to provide an even better quality of service to our guests.
For your booking at any ibis hotels in Thailand and worldwide, we would suggest you to make your
booking through Accor hotels and ibis website to discover many special offers:)
We hope to welcome you again at any other ibis hotels in Thailand for another ibis experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I spent 6 nights at Ibis Bophut in January 2013. At this time, tourism peak season, the hotel is full. That's the first time I experienced an Ibis in Thailand, but i am a frequent Accor hotels customer. I made my decision for Ibis Bophut based on positive reviews on Tripadvisor. My turn to give my feedback.

PROS points:
* The hotel is located on Bophut, more quiet and family oriented part of Koh Samui. Located only 10 minutes drive from the airport.
* 2 small but nice swimming pools + direct access to a small beach.
* Comfortable beds. I am not sure large beds are king or queen size...
* Considering the price level, quite difficult to achieve a better value for money!
* Free Internet (Wifi) access in rooms

CONS points:
* Service needs improvement. Obviously not enough staffs and all are over busy. I am not sure we should complain about it considering the price level, but service wise there are some areas we clearly feel left alone... On several occasions, there was only 1 staff (pregnant lady) at the busy breakfast time, dealing with the flow of guests, inquiries, administration, cleaning tables (sometimes tables were not even cleaned between 2 guests...). At the reception, you sometimes need to wait for 10 minutes before someone pay attention to your request.
* Standard rooms are really small. Good enough if you do not need to spend much time in your room.
* Not enough beach mats/chairs and no staff attending the beach side. Some guests seem expert in booking beach chairs very early morning, by placing a towel or a t-shirt, but are not physically on the beach before late morning... This kind of practice is really irritating and obviously the hotel does not want to be involved at this stage.

OVERALL...
A very good experience and again, excellent value for money. Maybe this is the standard Ibis level and we cannot expect much more service wise. It would be great to see some improvement in this specific area.

Room Tip: Only 2 room types available: Standard and Family rooms. Prefer the much bigger family rooms for a sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raphael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for selecting ibis Samui Bophut for your vacation on Koh Samui, Thailand.
It is great to know that you enjoyed our location, facilities, comfy bed and the best value for money. Ibis is Europe’s leading economy hotel brand and for that reason our hotels follow an international standard offering a great stay at an affordable price.
We apologise for any unexpected experience that you might have encountered with our service. We have noted your comments and relay them to our hotel management team to ensure future improvement and provide continuous training to our staff to ensure our guests are well taken care of.
Please note that the size of room is designed to provide the necessary service and facilities to the guests at best price.
We hope to welcome you again at ibis Samui Bophut in the soon future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here. It was a pretty good hotel, with nice cuisine, a private beach and a beachside swimming pool. The rooms could have been a bit bigger, but hey no complaints. It is really well maintained

Room Tip: try out the beach facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arunangshu1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing ibis Samui Bophut for your vacation in Thailand!
We are happy to know that our hotel met your expectation and to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At ibis, we aim at providing our guests with warm welcome and services at great value for money for a wonderful experience.
Thank you once again for giving us the valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the soon future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.1 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
9.9 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
3.3 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
5.0 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#23 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Samui Bophut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Samui Bophut

Property: ibis Samui Bophut
Address: 197 Moo 1, Rob Koh Road | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#34 Family Hotel in Bophut
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#55 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Samui Bophut 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, bold and trendy, with an idyllic beachfront location and views, ibis Bophut Samui has it all.250 modern rooms, each with WiFi. 24 hour reception. Food and drink, day and night.Ten minutes from the airport and five from the pier, the hotel is packed with things to do.Sunbath on the beach, sip a cocktail at the pool bar, spoil yourself with a massage or explore the authentic fishing village nearby on a bike...The first international three star hotel in Bophut Beach, ibis Bophut Samui, is a refreshing island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your ibis Samui Bophut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bophut Samui Hotel Bophut
Ibis Samui Bophut Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing