We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round hotel”
Review of ibis Samui Bophut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Samui Bophut
Ranked #47 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a standard double room (breakfast not included). This was a lovely all round hotel, good sized clean rooms with a decent shower, a small balcony but with the nice addition of a discrete washing line to hang items out to dry on. The pool area backs onto the beach and is lovely. Food and drinks not too overpriced given it is a hotel. Reception desk staff were helpful, printing out airline boarding passes for us free of charge and giving us pool towels to use after checkout while we waited for our transfers. Fishermans village (about 20min walk away) has plenty to offer but there are some fantastically good value restaurants on the road close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cslimings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for choosing ibis Samui Bophut for your vacation in Thailand!
We are happy to know that our hotel met your expectation and to learn that you enjoyed our cleanliness, room, facilities, the best value for money and friendly staff. We will maintain our quality of service to meet our guest satisfaction and will pass your compliments to our team for encouragement. At ibis, we aim at providing our guests with warm welcome and services at great value for money for a wonderful experience.
Thank you once again for giving us the valuable comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the soon future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights and have to say you get more than you pay for. Its always clean and tidy, the grounds are well maintained and the staff are very friendly. The food is very reasonable priced and the drinks are cheap. If you order your cocktails and eat during happy hour you can get a dinner for 2 for less than €20!! That has to be a good deal for a hotel!! The message by the pool overlooking the beach is great. The rooms are clean and bathrooms spotless. This is not a 5 star resort but it is totally worth the money you pay. I would recommend to travelers on a budget that still want a decent level of comfort!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mth84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your nice comment and recommendation on our hotel :)
ibis Samui Bophut is a perfect place for family and friend getaway for relaxation and fun moment. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and had a pleasant stay with us. We will maintain our quality of services to meet our guest satisfaction and will pass your compliments to our team for encouragement.
We thank you once again for spending your time on giving us your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back again at ibis Samui Bophut or at any ibis hotels in Thailand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at the Ibis for two nights.
Property itself is new, on the beach with a nice feel
Rooms are simple but new, and I think good value for money
No room service, but expected for the price.
Food was very nice and the quality was very good, and a good price
Used my Accor Advantage Plus card as well which gave us even better value.
The only downside was the initial check in when we got NO help what so ever from the Duty manager and front desk personnel.
I know this is the budget line of Accor, but there is no excuse, being that it was 2130 in the evening, we had been traveling for something like 12 hrs in total, and to unload the car, look for a trolley, load it and bring to the front counter whilst two employees only a couple of meters away ignored me.
We then checked in, then more delay in taking us to the room, then the room key cards did not work, so then waited again for this to be rectified before we could get into our rooms.
Not good enough, unfortunately that put a sour taste in my mouth from the start.
Though really I could not really fault anything else with the property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickyb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for your comment on our TripAdvisor!
We are glad to know that enjoyed staying with us and that you liked our facilities, room, food and the best value for money.
It is good to know that you enjoy the benefit of Accor Advantage Plus card which is applicable at any
Accor and ibis hotels around the world.
We apologise for the inconvenience you might have encountered with our services. We are improving our service quality by providing continuous trainings to our staff to ensure our guests are well taken care of. At ibis, we aim at providing our guests with warm welcome and services at great value for money for a wonderful experience, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We hope to welcome you again at ibis Samui Bophut and any other ibis hotels in Thailand (Bangkok, Pattaya, Hua Hin and Phuket)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I really enjoyed the time in Samui and in IBIS Hotel Bophut. Its a lovely hotel with a lots of green trees and flowers. I have been here 4 years ago, when it was just opened and now it looks much nicer because, all the palmtrees and flowers are bigger and you can find your own area for a relaxing and quiet time.

The 3 pools and also a small pool for children are right in front of the beach and you have a lovely view. The beach is very clean, quiet and has fine white sand. The hotel is on the other end of the Bophut Beach, so you need 20-30 min by walking to Fischermann's Village, which is quite nice walk along the beach. Around the pool area and also at the beach are a lot of sunshades and pool chairs, which are not so comfortable but ok.

The Hotel also has a nice beachbar, which served good drinks, especially great Cappucino with a lot of milk foam (70 THB / 1,80 €) and Banana Smoothies.

The Hotel-Restaurant, called "Taste" is absolutely fantastic! I tried a lot of food in Thailand, but here its also very authentic and tasty! They have a selection of all famous and traditional dishes of Thailand and the great thing is, if you like, you can order 3, 4 or 5 tastes in one dish. So you can try different dishes in small portions. I recommend everything! They also have a few european dishes and also desserts. (See pictures for the food-menu) You also can order 24 hours food from a special menu and you can take this into your room or eat in the restaurant. There is no room service.

Along the beach are a few other restaurants from the resorts around IBIS Hotel. The food is good, but more expensive than IBIS and the same quality. So I often ate at IBIS. You can eat inside the restaurant or outside or at the beachbar area, which has a lovely view on the ocean.

The staff is always very nice and helpful. Some of them are speaking very good english. There are always some staff around the hotel to clean up and make the hotel looks nice.

The room is very nice. The bed is big and comfortable. You will have a flatscreen TV (with several english and also a german channel), a fridge, 2 bottles of water every day, a coffee-tea corner with a water cooker, a small but nice terrace where you can sit or dry your towels ;-)
The bathroom looks lovely and you will get fresh towels every day, also a pool towel, aircondition, free shower gel and hand soap, a big shower with hot water and a hairdryer.
They clean the room everyday and make the beds.
If you have a problem, you can call reception 24 hours and there will be come within 15 Min, they guarantee and it works, I tried!

You can get a massage next to the pool with view on the beach for 350 THB (9 €) for 60 Min. oil massage. It was ok, but nothing special, but there are a few other massage points along the beach and you can give them a try.

I have been here in Oktober for 3 weeks and there were not many people in the hotel, which was great, because so it was very quiet and relaxing.

Every Saturday evening, they have from 6 to 10pm a lovely BBQ, where you can choose as much as you like from the salad buffet and than you choose you meat or fish, and they will put it on the grill and serve it to you within a few minutes. The tenderloin steak was soooo tender and tasty! It was just 450 THB in total for steak and all you can eat buffet!

They have a small area for children with a slide and a swing and also a few toys for the pool.

Just outside of the main entrance of the hotel is the main street, which goes around the Island. The next small supermarket is just 1 min. walking on the other side of the street and has a the stuff you need.

To go around by taxi can be very expensive, around 400 THB (10 €) for a 10 km ride, which is the distance from IBIS to the airport. To go to chaweng beach from here is nearly the same price. You also can take the lokal TukTuk, which is a red small bus, where 10 people can sit at the back. The distance to chaweng cost about 100-200 THB, half way 50-100 THB and a very small trip, maybe to Samui Town Center or Fischermanns Village cost just 20 THB! Prices for the TukTuk are per person and dont pay more. Just wave your hand up, if you see the red bus coming, tell the driver "sawadee" which means "hello" and tell him your destination, if he tells you a overpriced price just tell him you just pay less and normally they accept it and you can jump into the car.

I booked online on the hotel website and I was lucky, because they had a promotion, where you only pay for 2 nights, but you will get 3 for it. So i Just payed 1000 THB per room and not 1400 THB. The price is per room and night and if you stay with 2 people, its just 500-700 THB per person, which is very cheap, for all that you will get here!

Fischermanns Village is just 30 Min walking away. Its a lovely small shopping area with a lots of restaurants and souvenir shops. I would recommend you to go on friday evening, because every friday from 5pm there is a great market with many food stands and other nice stuff. Try the coconut ice cream with sticky rice and pumpkin!

So I will come back here and I really recommend this hotel, if your are looking for a lovely and clean place to stay at Bophut Beach. I already booked Ibis in Bangkok (Nana and Riverside), where I will go next and I think I will be not dissapointed. Thanks a lot for everything!

If you have any question, just contact me and I will help you with your travel plans to Thailand! CoolAngel_20@web.de

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

We are glad to welcome our regular guest at ibis Phuket Patong!
We are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us and to learn that you enjoyed our friendly staff, services, facilities and location. We will maintain our quality of service to meet our guest satisfaction and will pass your compliments to our team for encouragement.
We apologise for any inconvenience that you might have experienced and we will inform the hotel management to improve the quality of service to meet our guest satisfaction.
We are happy to know that you will come back as one of our regular guests, see you soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our second time there and still great value. Rooms clean and tidy and modern but only a small wardrobe and no drawers but we piled the "foldables" tops, shorts etc on the bench which had to be kept tidy to prevent chaos. Our room was on the second floor with a view of the pools and gardens, we sat on our balcony for our early morning coffee and "people watched" the early birds. Breakfast was a dissappointment as it was often run out out food and we had to ask for what we wanted and then wait and wait not good enough for a buffet meal. Also a lot of the food catered for asians plain rice, plain noodles, boring pasta and chinese porridge, but the Chinese, Thai and Indians wanted and ate the european style food so there was always dishes run out and not refilled nobody checked. The queue for the fresh cooked eggs was always long but worth the wait, if only he could have cooked two at a time. This Ibis is good value, clean and well maintained with great staff who would do their best to help you. The pools are great but need more umbrellas and at the beach. Lots of places to eat in the area outside the Hotel Ibis and in Fishermans Village a cheap taxi rideaway. Yes! yes we would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a garden or beach view or you may get one overloking the next hotel and the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rbunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We are glad to welcome our regular guest and to know that you had a memorable stay at ibis Samui Bophut. We thank you for your compliments on our hotel and for taking attention on our beautiful location, cleanliness and the best value for money.
Please note that ibis hotel is a 3-star hotel brand with international standard offering a great stay at an affordable price. Regarding hotel facilities, our hotel is an economy hotel brand that offers quality accommodation at great value for money for our guest. We provide the necessary items in our hotel.
Thank you for your comments on our services and sorry for any inconveniences that might have caused during your stay with us. We will take them into discussion with the hotel management for the best solution and for improvement of our service quality. At ibis, we aim at providing our guests with warm welcome and services at great value for money for a wonderful experience; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for 13 nights in September and had a great time. We had a sea view room and the view from the balcony was fantastic.
Hotel was spotlessly clean,lovely gardens and pool area, towels and beds changed daily, most staff were very friendly and helpful, Breakfast was great with lots of choice and was served from 4am till 12.
Hotel was in a great location - a quiet spot and a short trip by taxi or bus to fishermans village which was a nice place to eat out. Well away from all the seedy girlie bars in Chaweng and Lamai.
Lunch most days if we were at the hotel was from the locals on the kayaks on the beach. They would barbecue sweet corn, spring rolls or fresh fish or crab from the cage behind the kayak and it was so cheap and so delicious.
Don't miss the local market at fishermans village on Friday night or Mae Nam on Thursday- don't eat out just eat street food from the stalls, its cheap, fresh, tasty and you can also get cocktails for 50baht.
We ate once in the hotel resturant, food quality was very good and was good value for money.

Very few complaints which were minor and did not spoil our holiday.
Storage space for clothes was too small so had clothes all over the room.
No power socket near a mirror.
Variable service at the bar depending who was on. Tea time staff were generally poor.

If we went back we would stay here again and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other people .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

ibis Samui Bophut is one of our most beautiful ibis hotels offering an international accommodation and great services at the best value for money! We appreciate that you enjoyed staying with us. Besides, it is our brand promise to offer great services and good location at great value for money and we are glad that you enjoyed this advantage.
Thank you for your advice regarding our services and we will surely improve those points accordingly.
Please note that ibis is an international 3-star hotel that is well-equipped with necessary amenities and facilities for our guest's convenience at the best price. Please kindly note that there is a power socket near the mirror which in the toilet.
We thank you once again for spending your time on giving us your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back again at ibis Samui Bophut or at any ibis hotels in Thailand! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was booked on my behalf. When I saw 'Ibis' on the confirmation, I was thinking tidy concrete block with average tidy rooms somewhere in the town. So this was a nice surprise!
This Ibis is right on the beach. It has two lovely swimming pools and a modern beach bar. The gardens are beautifully landscaped (although it is a bit of a maze to navigate at the beach end).
The room is what you would expect from an Ibis - tidy with all the facilities. My room also had a small balcony.
Service was friendly and helpful. My friends had already checked-in the day before, so the girl on reception found a room in the same block right next to them. I didn't even have to ask!
Breakfast was good, although a bit of a fly fest. The hotel could do something to get rid of the flies because they were all over the food and rather annoying.
Overall, a very good place to stay (apart from the six-legged invasion at breakfast).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveladdict42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing comments on your wonderful stay at ibis Samui Bophut!
We are glad that our hotel meets your expectation and that you enjoyed our room, facilities,
services and friendly staff. Thank you for your compliments and we will forward to our team for encouragement :)
We apologise for any inconvenience that might have caused during your stay with us and will inform the hotel management to improve this matter immediately.
ibis Samui Bophut is one of our most beautiful ibis hotels offering an international standard of accommodation and warm services at the best price ! We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.8 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#14 of 30 in Mae Nam
484 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 184 in Bophut
1,004 reviews
7 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
1,683 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Samui Bophut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Samui Bophut

Address: 197 Moo 1, Rob Koh Road | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#28 Family Hotel in Bophut
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#55 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $38 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Samui Bophut 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, bold and trendy, with an idyllic beachfront location and views, ibis Bophut Samui has it all.250 modern rooms, each with WiFi. 24 hour reception. Food and drink, day and night.Ten minutes from the airport and five from the pier, the hotel is packed with things to do.Sunbath on the beach, sip a cocktail at the pool bar, spoil yourself with a massage or explore the authentic fishing village nearby on a bike...The first international three star hotel in Bophut Beach, ibis Bophut Samui, is a refreshing island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Samui Bophut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bophut Samui Hotel Bophut
Ibis Samui Bophut Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing