We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach front. Great value. Inconsiderate front staff.”
Review of ibis Samui Bophut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ibis Samui Bophut
Ranked #43 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed at the Ibis for 3 nights in Koh Samui. We choose this hotel to have a cheap hotel to use for the Full Moon party, but also to have a hotel that was safe, average and had a breach front.

The hotel is a very good price for Koh Samui, which mostly offers expensive isolated resorts, or budget hotels without air conditioning. The ibis is on the upper scale of budget hotels. The lobby was completely open to the outside, had a large couch, and a direct pathway to the beachfront. Near the beachfront is a large pool area, with poolside bar and free Wifi. (There is no free Wifi in the lobby or rooms - only paid wifi in rooms).

The beachfront is nice, with sun loungers and tables for the hotel guests. The beach is open to all the other hotels along the shore, but is still very clean. Occasional locals selling drinks, ice cream and barbecue will walk by to sell to you on the beach - try their grilled corn on the cob, it's excellent.

The break buffet brunch was an extremely cheap add-on and well worth it for a quick morning bite.

Rooms had a nice small balcony overlooking the grassy open lobby of the hotel, 2 beds that were sleepable, but not plush, a room safe, tons of tv channels and a small but decent size bathroom. Great air-conditioning. With Ibis you know you are always going to get a quality clean above budget average hotel room. As far as I could see, there was no elevator for the rooms at this hotel. The side I was on only had stairs for the guest, but I think there was a service elevator for the staff, so that may be available for guests with disabilities.

Nice perk of the stay was they put complementary large water bottles in our mini-fridge every day, which is needed in Thailand.

The hotel is not located that close to the downtown area or the fisherman's village but is a quick ride by taxi. The hotel is also an ideal stay for the Full Moon Party, which has a pickup as the hotel and the Full Moon Party has boats running until 7/8am in the morning back to Koh Samui, with van transport back to the hotel.

The hotel staff however was not very helpful when my iPhone went missing in a taxi I had used on the island. The staff actually laughed on the phone to the police when they told them I was trying to recover my iPhone from a lost taxi. I felt highly insulted by how the staff treated the scenario. The hotel did not give me any further assistance or empathy. On my own I searched down many taxi's on the island, talked with taxi drivers, until I could describe the driver I had, and then was lead to his home where I recovered my iPhone under the seat in the taxi. When using Taxi's always write down their ID #. I did not and the whole scenario could have been easily avoided had I remember the taxi ID #.

Average choice for Koh Samui overall.

Room Tip: The break buffet brunch was an extremely cheap add-on and well worth it for a quick morning bite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at ibis Samui Bophut!

We appreciate that you liked our hotel in many ways and enjoyed your vacation in Thailand :)
ibis Samui Bophut is one of our most beautiful ibis hotels offering an international accommodation and great services at great value for money!

For Wi-Fi internet, we have just introduced our free Wi-Fi service from 1st of May onwards for guest's convenience. The service also includes free internet at the hotel's internet corner.

For visiting Samui's attractions, we would recommend to you our shuttle service, please contact the hotel's reception for more information on the schedule of the service.

We truly apologise for the unexpected experience during your stay with us and we will improve staff's training in order to provide a quality service to our guest!

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

When you stay at an Ibis, you know what to expect. Well in that case, the resort totally exceeded my expectations.
Very clean property with amazingly nice staff. I loved to spend my afternoon around the pool drinking fresh fruit cocktails.
The hotel is directly on the beach, where you can have a massage. There are plenty of activities to do, like Ping Pong, mini Golf...
I will definitely be back to this great value for money property

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DidiSamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments on our TripAdvisor profile!

ibis Samui Bophut is one of our most beautiful ibis hotels offering an international standard of accommodation and warm services at great value for money! It is also located in the beachfront area which is one of the most preferred aspects of the hotel. It is great to know that you will be our future returning guest!

We look forward to welcoming you at ibis Samui Bophut soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Shortcomings:
sometimes wi-fi does not work;
no umbrellas to rent (limited number);
no access to the elevator from the ground floor;
no help with luggage even if you are staying on the third floor

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ogb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for your feedback!

We are sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay and will convey your comment to the hotel management for improvement.
Please be advised that all ibis hotels offer essential services at great value for money.

We hope to see you again at any ibis hotels in Thailand for another ibis experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

we stayed here on a little business trip to samui and im happy to say we really enjoyed the ibis, we had our 5 year old with us and he loved the fact he had a wii in the room free of charge, the restaurant food wasnt up to much but this is normal i find with big hotel chains i have visited before ,very clean, excellent service, would definately use again when im in samui (which is very often due to living on the next island),well done to the ibis resort and members of staff

Room Tip: i dont think you can go wrong with this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andyrduggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at ibis Samui Bophut on our TripAdvisor!

Please note that we are pleased to welcome our guests for both business and leisure trip to make your trip convenient at great value for money :)

We are glad to know that you and your family enjoyed staying with us and liked our hotel, cleanliness, services and our friendly staff. We will surely share your compliments to our team for encouragement.

We appreciate to know that you will visit us again in the soon future! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MumbaiPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had a family room, and it was nice. The rooms are small, but manageable. Swimming pool was nice, could have been a little cooler to counteract how hot it was. Hotel staff was helpful. It is close enough to walk in to town, and along the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alison2550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on a wonderful stay at ibis Samui Bophut!

We are glad that you liked our Family Room :) Our Family Room can accomoodate friends and family of 2 adults and 2 children as well as 4 adults! We also thank you for your compliments on our friendly staff and we will surely share this with our team for encouragement :)

Thank you for choosing ibis Samui Bophut for your wonderful vacation and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I had a one day stop in Koh Samui. If you are looking for a few days on a nice beach, this is the place to be. Chaweng Beach does not have very clean water, and it is quite stagnant. Bophut was the best beach I saw in Koh Samui, and Ibis Samui was lovey. It was very clean and well manicured. The breakfast was quite nice, and the staff were very friendly. There are several restaurants and massage ladies all down Bohput. ALSO- I read reviews that the Big Buddha Pier is accessible from this beach - it is NOT!. There is a tiny pier on this beach, but the main pier is a taxi ride away. (50-100 baht). You can walk to the pier on Bophut and buy tickets for the ferry to Koh Phangan/Koh Toa/ other locations, but the departure pier is not on this beach! Enjoyed my stay, bed was a bit hard, but seemed to be on par with other hotels I stayed in while in Thailand. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adeogba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJaroonteeravanitch, Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for your nice review :)

We appreciate that you had a great experience with us. ibis Samui Bophut is one of our most beautiful ibis hotels offering an international standard of accommodation and warm services at great value for money! It is also located in the beachfront area which is one of the most preferred aspects of the hotel. It is great to know that you will be our future returning guest!

We look forward to welcoming you at ibis Samui Bophut soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.8 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
460 reviews
4.4 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
7.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#19 of 185 in Bophut
994 reviews
9.9 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Samui Bophut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Samui Bophut

Address: 197 Moo 1, Rob Koh Road | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#34 Family Hotel in Bophut
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#55 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: $33 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Samui Bophut 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, bold and trendy, with an idyllic beachfront location and views, ibis Bophut Samui has it all.250 modern rooms, each with WiFi. 24 hour reception. Food and drink, day and night.Ten minutes from the airport and five from the pier, the hotel is packed with things to do.Sunbath on the beach, sip a cocktail at the pool bar, spoil yourself with a massage or explore the authentic fishing village nearby on a bike...The first international three star hotel in Bophut Beach, ibis Bophut Samui, is a refreshing island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your ibis Samui Bophut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bophut Samui Hotel Bophut
Ibis Samui Bophut Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing