We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place for a romantic dinner”

Dining on the Rocks
Ranked #37 of 444 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $200
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dining on the Rocks presents innovative food concepts, great service and of course that famous view and atmosphere. The brilliant architecture is ten terraced decks of weathered teak and bamboo.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing place for a romantic dinner”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is part of the SixSenses hotel, an immense and stunning resort in the nature and in front of the sea. We had a great dinner, waiters were extremely nice. Price are high but definitely worth it given the quality of the food, reaching 1 star Michelin standards. Unfortunately we could not enjoy the view due to too much wind but the place is truly amazing

Helpful?
Thank paypod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    118
    77
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food with a view!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The food was a fantastic experience. throw in that panoramic view, and you've got yourself the perfect venue for any special occasion! A little expensive when compared to other Thailand restaurants, but well worth it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_Robbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome view and beautiful food”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went there as one of our memorable dinner during our way-too-short Samui vacation. We booked via email about 5 days in advance and received very kind and prompt replies. We stayed in Hua Thanon (north side of Samui) and since we have a car driving 45-min is not an issue. Be warned Six Senses is kind of isolated so if you are self drive look up on the map first and cushion the driving time.
As most of other fellow travallers have talked about, my hubby and I chose "Experience" tasting menu. Beautiful and tasty and you will be wowed over 10 dishes along the way. Both of us discussed a bit about some restaurants who do gastronomy are trying too hard, which in most cases, make the whole dinning experience exhaustive and tiring.

Finally, we can't reiterate enough that go there earlier to catch the daylight. We were little late but very fortunate to have 10 minutes of sunset view which will stay forever in our heart.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBCBUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very different”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We ate at DinIng on the Rocks as a honeymoon treat. If you call ahead of time then Six Senses will come and pick you up and take you back. The view is breathtaking - definitely get there early as we only had about 10 minutes left of sun and then we couldn't see anything! You feel as though you are in your own private restaurant as there is lots of space between tables and lots of staff who are all very attentive. We had the 'Experience' menu and although it was very costly it was worth it. The food was like nothing we have tasted before - its to be recommended! The Campfire dessert was awesome.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_BBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“speechless”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were told to go to this restaurant before we left for our holiday, and we were not disappointed! Ok - so it is a lot more pricey than your average thai restaurant, but it is well worth it! The views are to die for. Better to get their early (before sunset) to take full advantage of this. The service is wonderful and the food is great too. we had a 7 course meal, a little over indulgent but why not!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining on the Rocks also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Dining on the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing