We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing atmosphere, decent food”

Dining on the Rocks
Ranked #36 of 440 Restaurants in Bophut
Price range: $25 - $200
Cuisines: International, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Dining on the Rocks presents innovative food concepts, great service and of course that famous view and atmosphere. The brilliant architecture is ten terraced decks of weathered teak and bamboo.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing atmosphere, decent food”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Beautiful setting and fantastic service, really interesting food presentation but was not very happy with the actual food. We made our own multi-course menu and the dishes were hit or miss. Favorite thing was the tuna sandwich appetizer. The chef came out to introduce himself which was very nice.

Would definitely recommend to go early to catch the sunset--otherwise it's just a dark view of the water. Book early to get on the platform with one of the 4 tables, but otherwise sitting anywhere in the restaurant is nice too.

Very expensive in the end, at least for Thailand.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenzie452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanOctesa, Executive Sous Chef at Dining on the Rocks, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear jenzie452

i really appreciate that, you write a review about us in trip advisor
it is really good for us to hear all the comment from our guest whether it is
a good or bad one, just to let you know that, about our food concept that we offered
are something different than what you have normally in koh samui
to be honest this is really challenging for me, but no pain no gain right?
anyway, thats again for taking your time in trip advisor
hope we can see again in the future
any concern about the restaurant itself, please do not hesitate
to contact us 1st
thanks

Allan Gusten Octesa
Dining on The Rocks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    117
    74
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“LEGENDARY MUST IN SAMUI”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Every person we know, who has visited Ko Samui, has but one recommendation. The Rocks. Dining on the Rocks is a one of a kind dining experience. Don't expect the expected! Chef Allan Octesa uses the skills he has developed working in some of the top restaurants around the world, to present an unusual and creative menu. Don't expect "chips" in the "fish and chips" option!

He combines amazing flavours that work. On a par with the best Michelin starred restaurants, this is French "nouvelle" at its best. And that is just the food! The location is incredible, as you are dining on a minimalist slab on top of rocks - at the Six Senses Resort. The chef is very involved in his restaurant, and as the great chefs do, personally greets each diner. The is not for those wanting the ordinary. Yes, this has to be the most romantic setting as well. Do it if you visit Ko Samui.

Make certain you arrive before dark!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanOctesa, Executive Sous Chef at Dining on the Rocks, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear buster15

im really happy to hear that you really enjoy while you dine in dining on the rocks
it is good to hear that the concept we offered was really makes you enjoying it
again thank for taking your time to write a review about us in trip advisor
this is really a great way to tell other people that how the restaurant is
and all the compliment you gave, i will pass all of it to our team member
hope to see you back again in samui and dining on the rocks
any concern about the restaurant,
please do not hesitate to keep in touch with us 1st
thanks

Allan Gusten Octesa
Executive Sous Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food was good, service substandard”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

After being to the place and only now reading the reviews I have to agree with quite a few things that have been there. The place becomes quite average for dinner, as the main argument - the view is taken out of the equation. Whilst you can't really complain about the food, other than I would have preferred my Wagyu beef not to be covered in thick gravy-like substance, but have them separate, then the choice was ample and nice. Now the service - we were there as a group of friends 5 of us and we had pretty 2 waiters serving us, so you would expect some service, but these 2 looked like they only met on the same morning and there was no communication. Also - you would expect, when you pay 70-100 euros a bottle for wine, that it would be served at correct temperature - but no! The white wine they served was warm and despite our frequent requests to keep an extra bottle in the ice bucket, they only complied once. I would go back there for a lunch and for food, but only as a couple and I will not drink wine there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank discoking33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanOctesa, Executive Sous Chef at Dining on the Rocks, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear discoking33

thank you so much for taking your time to write review for dining on the rocks in trip advisor
about the comment you mentioned above, as you understand we always keep taking
all the comment whether is it good or bad comment, because for us
our guest comment are for our best, again thank for the review
and hope to see you again in the future, any concern about the restaurant
please do not hesitate to contact us first, hope we can suit your needs
thanks

Allan Octesa
Executive Sous Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere and view, not the same for food”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

It is a very beautiful place for a relaxing and romantic dinner, beautiful view on the rocks and sea, good service but the food is too sophisticated, small portions and too researched for me. I felt very good anyway even if the food was not satisfying and the final high cost.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancescoBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanOctesa, Executive Sous Chef at Dining on the Rocks, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear FrancescoBucharest

thanks for your spending your time to write a review for dining on the rocks,
i really appreciate so much you effort, and hope to see you again in the future
thanks

Allan Octesa
Executive Sous Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location and Great Food”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location, very romantic setting, best Whiskey sour on the Island(always great indicator of whats to come) the food was amazing, creative in design but did not compromise on the taste, very exclusive setting with only 7 other tables, we had the wine pairings with our menu which were generous in size which was great as wine is expensive throughout Thailand.
There is very little light when walking between bar/restaurant/toilet so be careful as there are lots of steps to negotiate. Would recommend for special romantic occasion not for groups.
Not much more I can say but GREAT all round.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanOctesa, Executive Sous Chef at Dining on the Rocks, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Johnsos

it is great to hear that you had a great experience while you are here
and thank you so much for taking your time,
to write a great review about us, it is an honor to have you here
i hope that this is become one of your memorable experience
so that you can share the experience you had to some of your college or family
then, by the time the come here
or maybe it is yourself who willing to come back
please do not hesitate to contact me 1st or our team
so that we can give you a more memorable dining experience in the future
hope to see you back soon
thanks

Allan Octesa
Executive Sous Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining on the Rocks also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Dining on the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing