We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anthong Marine National Park Kayaking”

Blue Stars Kayaking
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Longtailboat at Koh Sam Sao, National Marine Park, Bluestars
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed September 12, 2013

An amazing day! Very well run and had a great time...remember to cover up and apply sunscreen by the gallon as got badly burnt but was amazing anyway

Thank StephAndrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 342 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I chose to book with Blue Stars for our day trip out to Ang Thong and it was the best decision. I would recommend waiting until you get to Koh Samui and book with one of the (hundreds of!) travel agents along the main street of Chaweng, as it's slightly cheaper than online (about $10 AUD).

The day was perfect. We got picked up in a deliciously air conditioned mini van and driven to the boat. The tour isn't packed with people - there is the perfect amount of tourists. We got a great spot on the back of the boat and the trip was so relaxing. Just don't forget your sunblock........... i ended up with very sunburnt shins! :-S

The kayaking was fantastic - the boats are in great condition, as are the life jackets. The staff are awesome - they take photos of you in your kayaks, so don't forget your camera!

Despite what some people are saying about the "hike" to see the green lagoon - it's not as hard as what some people make out!! It's a steep staircase, but only took us about 5 minutes to climb. It's defintely worth it, as the lagoon is stunning.

This is a great trip and HIGHLY recommended! :-)

1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueStarsKayking, Owner at Blue Stars Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. Your comments and recommendations are very much appreciated. Our guides do do a great job and it is pleasing to have another review confirming this.

In regard your recommendation to wait until you arrive to Samui to book, during the high seasons we would definitely suggest to book early as we can be fully booked for several days in advance. It is also suggested that if you are booking through an agent that offers a large discount that you be a bit wary of this. Be sure that they are in fact selling you Blue Stars and not another tour. Unfortunately some agents will give the impression that they are booking our tour but in the end send you to another operator. We would always recommend booking online to avoid any disappointment.

Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very much enjoyed the trip to Angthong Marine Park. Anthong itself is gorgeous and it was a real privilege to get to visit. The Blue Stars crew were friendly and helpful, and it was great to have the mix of activities - kayaking, snorkelling and a climb to the green lagoon. If I had to make a criticism it would be that the group was rather large which somewhat de-personalised the experience. I would also say that the timing of the climb to the green lagoon - in the hottest part of the day - could have been better. However it was reasonable value and a very enjoyable experience.

Thank Caroline_Porter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueStarsKayking, Owner at Blue Stars Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We thank you for your honest review and are pleased that you enjoyed the tour. The number of customers we take is limited to what we believe is a comfortable number. Other tours may take double the number of people, which we could do but we are definitely against being tempted to follow suit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyable! Tour guide spoke fluent English and German. He was organised but not militant and very pleasant. The kayaking guides were also brilliant and very happy, cheerful and helpful. We had low expectations for these packages from all the different reviews but we had such a good time. During the morning period we didn't see any other tourists. The snorkelling wasn't out of this world, sure, but we still saw loads of different fish between the coral. The kayaking took us all over and through many different cracks and caves in the beautiful rock features. We were given plenty of time including a quick trip to the lagoon and some swimming and jumping off the boat. Would recommend

Thank 4besie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was one of the best days of our vacation. Over dinner that night, we couldn't stop talking about what a great time we had! Blue Stars did a great job organizing the trip. I liked how they told you everything that was going to happen. I also liked how small the kayaking groups were. The staff was wonderful, very helpful, and took pictures for us. Highly recommend!

1  Thank 123567travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueStarsKayking, Owner at Blue Stars Kayaking, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

It is wonderful to get positive feedback and recommendations from our customers. We are pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of the tour and that it will be a nice memory of your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Stars Kayaking also viewed

 

Been to Blue Stars Kayaking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing