We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
92
49
18
6
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
49
18
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfisherman's villagerooms have sea viewcharming hotelbo phutkoh samuiwalking marketair conlocation is fantasticbophut beachsmall hotelstar servicehotel managerincluded breakfastrecommend staying herecouple of nightsthe main roadthai food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 177 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

During a trip to KOH SAMUI i went several times to "fisherman village" at bophut area ..a bit touristic but nicely done ..searched for a nice place to sit, not too big and peaceful...and I found it at the lodge ...first only for a drink but was so nice that i took dinner ...stayed their several hours and enjoyed the sunset...the food was very nice and the service also ..i came back here several times and the same experience ..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbxl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby O, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

It sounds like you got the experience that we are aiming for. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again! Thanks for the great review - it really helps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The first time i went to samui was in 2005 and i thought it was heaven on earth,but now it seems to have become too commercialised.However the fisherman's village in Bophut is still a great place to get away from it all.The Lodge is a fantastic place to stay if you want a relaxing peaceful holiday.The beach is just outside the back door if you happen to have a room downstairs and there are lots of restaurants and pubs nearby.The staff are extremely helpful and charming and all in all this place cannot be faulted.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in the room next to the Frog and Gecko pub as it can be a little noisy if you want an early night.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Anyone going to Koh Samui for a relaxing break should stay here. It's situated in lovely area called Fishermans Village, which has a market on a Friday, which is great.

It's really reasonably priced, very confortable, rooms are great and air conditioned. It's a genuine stones throw from the sea (I tested it after a beer or 2). If you can get a sea facing room you have an amazing view from you room and the balcony is great for a beer before you go out.

The staff were amazing! genuinly lovely, they 'made' our stay. Always polite, happy to help at all times, food was great, people coming in to eat from other hotels.

I would recommend the Lodge to anyone going to Samui. I'd go again, no questions asked.

Thanks again for having us.

Nick :-)

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank NickW694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby O, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments about our staff are always good to hear and the staff particularly enjoy the compliments.

Please note that all our rooms have a sea view. Those on the ground floor enjoy easier access and a small garden area that views out onto the beach. All other rooms are on higher floors and have balconies over looking the beach.

We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have stayed here twice now and would stay again. The location in fisherman's village is great. Central and directly on the beach. The rooms are big and clean and nicely done. The staff and friendly, the food good and the MaiTai's are fab!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nickii G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby O, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

We are delighted that enjoyed your stay with us again!

We trust that you are both well and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

First, a paragraph about Koh-Samui:

I have been visiting Thailand for almost a decade, but this is my first time here. To judge from post everywhere, one would be forgiven to think that Samui is a giant dumpster, a discussing place full of drunks and broken bottles. Believe me, Samui is (still) very nice. As any other big island, from Oahu in Hawaii to Phuket, it has nice and even nicer areas, and it has not so nice areas. You can easily figure out for yourself which is which, and still have a great time here.
Samui is not the last tropical paradise on earth. Unfortunately, this mythical place no longer exists, and we are to blame for much of it. However, after a long British winter, Samui will still look very, very nice. It is lovely here.

Which brings us to The Lodge. I call it the perfect “anti-resort” hotel. Eight rooms, on the sands of Bophut beach. You are literally two steps from the beach. From your room to the sand is about 2 meters, and since the beach is rather narrow, another 5 meters and you are wet.

The hotel does not have a pool (and by definition no pool bar either), does not offer “activities”. It only invites you to spend your entire day doing nothing, contemplating the sea, and reading a book.

The basics:
Room:
I stayed one night in the standard room, and 4 nights on the top of the line pen-hut. The quality is pretty much the same. Elegant and simple rooms, overlooking the ocean (all of them do): very nice hardwood floor and matching furniture. The pen-hut has an oversized bathroom, and a day bed. It is about 50% larger than the standard room. If you are looking to save a few bahts, the standard will do nicely. But the extra space of the penhut is definitely a premium.

(quick note: the stairs on the hotel are very steep. The pen-hut will require you to go up two floors. If you have a mobility problem, this is not for you)

Food:
Only tried the breakfast. It is also of the “anti-resort” type. No queues, no buffets. Just a few a la-carte sets, ranging from the full english to a delicious banana pancake. They all cost a reasonable 180THB. That is a good price not to see your shirtless neighbour piling up on the french toasts and pancakes at the buffet line.

Overall:
If you are looking for a simple, elegant, and not too expensive place to stay in the middle of the Fishermen's Village, this is it. It has that ever satisfying feeling of having found something most people miss. This is what travelling (and researching on TA) is all about.

Services:
From the airport, you can take the ac bus, which costs 130THB per person to the hotel. The Samui airport is owned by Bangkok Airways, and it is pretty organized. No taxi mafia here. Back from the hotel, you have to surrender to the taxi. It is 500 THB to go to the airport before 10am (rush hour), and 400THB after. There is a taxi rank very near the hotel.

Bophut beach is quiet; the sea is not clear (because of the darker sand), but it is clean and calm. Lots of families around. Food around the Village (and Samui) is more expensive than the rest of Thailand, but if you look hard enough, you could still find the 70THB pad-thai. The Eden Bungalow, across the road from The Lodge does good food cheap (not 70 THB, but two can eat for 300 THB). That place is also one of the many alternative accommodations in the village, which are worth a look if you are trying to save money. Besides the Eden Bungalow, I saw two interesting ones: the @Bungalow (right on the sand), and the Carpe Diem Hotel. I have not entered them, but they look nice from the outside, and location-wise, they are very good.

Tours:
Don't do the “around the island” tour. Rent a car, or a taxi instead, go to Chaweng to see how other people spend their vacations, see the “Big Buddha” and the Wat Plai Laem temple, and go back to the beach. The “around the island” tour offers (besides the three attractions above), an uncomfortable van ride, and some of the lamest stops ever, including an embarrassing “Monkey Show” that consists of watching a monkey go up the tree and get a coconut. And another one to see rocks shaped like male and female genitalia, lovely named “grandfather” and “grandmother” rocks. Please...

The Ang Thong Marine Park boat tour is a tougher call. The obligatory snorkelling stop verges on the lame too: a lot of people, for not a lot of fish. If you have done one snorkelling trip in your life, it was probably better than this one. The other stops are ok, but not spectacular. All in all, it is a day on the sea, again, with a whole lot of people around you, but it is probably worth.

Almost perfect:
The "almost" goes for my two pet peeves: lack of a kettle in the room, and the lack of wifi in the room. You can get a "reflection" of the general wifi signal from the common areas, but it is weak. My problem with the setup at The Lodge, is that any free loader walking by the beach, can stop, enjoy the signal to make a skype call (I saw many people doing it). In the meantime, I am in my (well paid) room, watching this scene from the balcony, and not able to get a signal. The hotel should setup a wifi to cover all the rooms, and add a password to be given at checkin. Down with the free-loaders!

Conclusion:
Go to Samui, stay in Bophut, and definitely stay at The Lodge. You will not regret doing it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jcn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews