We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$169
$132
OZOHotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$97
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$157
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peace Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$123
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
$260
$242
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$156
$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ibis Samui Bophut(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$42
$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$147
$124
Amari.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaba Cabana Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$77
$63
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kanda Residences(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$440
$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
96
84
34
8
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
84
34
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssamui burigarden settingshort walk to the beachwet roomthe main roadthai foodmaenamthailandlomprayahkohsongthaewloungerssandtaxis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 222 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Harry's from late Sept. 2009 through early Oct. 2009. We stayed at Harry's based on the recommendation of a friend who has been there twice. First and foremost, we found the people of Koh Samui to be some of the most warm and welcoming we've ever met. I don't know that I can find the right words for the wonderful friends (the staff) that we made there. The staff at Harry's is sterling! We were very pleased with the accomodations and felt as though the resort was ours exclusively, as we were there "off season". We saw perhaps four to five other couples during our entire stay there. The rooms were always clean, the grounds are beautiful without being "overdone". The grounds are well groomed, the pool was always clean, and the FOOD!!! Oh my, still craving my chicken satay with peanut sauce and my cucmber salad! I also recommend the Tom Yum soup(s). I would highly recommend the walk along Mae Nam beach and along the way stop at the Thai Massage right next door to Harry's. She's great! We would stay at Harry's again in a heartbeat, given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldGrizzlybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Everyone was very friendly and helpful at harry's and the resort is small but lovely! It dosent have a beach location so its about a 5 minute walk around dirt road to the beach or they do a free tuk tuk to the pier! We went in October which was a little out of season and it was deadly quiet with nowhere to go or nothing to do in the evening atall! The best place to go on the evening was bophut for all its beautiful beach front restaurants! It has a fantastic massage place next door and the samui buri resort next door lets you use their facilities if you have lunch which was beautiful!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aims2745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Because we are a family with a young child (3) we were looking for a place that has a safe swimmingpool, and accommodation with a seperate bedroom. We found much more than just the above! The superior-rooms are spacious and clean. The restaurant serves tasty food. Every night the 3 of us went exploring around our bungalow to see what kind of animals we could spot (gekko's, toads,birds).The people working here are so friendly! The beach is only a short walk, or you can go by tuk-tuk.
If you're looking for lots of entertainment and a big variety of restaurants all in the vicinity, look again. If you wanna relax, and enjoy the laid-back thai athmosphere, you should definitely come to Harry's.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isolde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

I'd endorse what other reviewers say - the bungalow was good, bed clean and comfy, air con excellent, bathroom basic but adequate. It was only B800 after all. But Mae Nam, despite what the Lonely Planet or Rough Guide might say, is just not a travellor place to stay, unless you have transport. The beach was deserted and the small jetty area only came to life twice a day when the ferry for Ko Phangan was leaving. Expensive beachfront resorst looked like they had about 2 guests on their loungers. Mae Nam is one long strip of drab shops and mostly empty restaurants either side of the main road round the island. Bored looking white couples wandered the streets at night, no doubt wondering what they were doing here. I suppose if you want to stay in a luxury all inclusive beautiful resort and never leave, then KS is the island for you, other than that, its a disappointment. Having hired a car to tour the island, you are struck by the abandoned projects and scarred landscape. There are way too many places and not enough tourists. My taxi driver said the political situation in Bangkok was scaring people away. A particularly disappointing aspect is how the prettiest beaches are lined wall to wall with hotels and chalet parks. Its almost impossible to find a public aspect to the beaches. I found one eventually in Chaweng. I think the prettiest bay on the island is Coral Cove, just south of Lamai. A strip of sand bounded by two headlands of massive granite boulders, not too busy and lovely for a lazy afternoon on. Only access is through a restaurant though, so you have to buy lunch - which is no hardship. The industry has managed not to spoil the natutal beauty yet - although the mega letters saying "Samui Yacht Club" bolted to the boulders on one end do their best! So, hire a car (B1500/day) or a scooter (B200/day) and drive round the island, stopping where you can. The beauty of the scooter is you can stop and park almost anywhere. For me, Samui looks like a place for the younger set to party at night, sleep mornings and sunbathe afternoons. I'd come back for a weekend, no more, and probably stay near Chaweng. Fishermans Village at Bo Phut is best for eating at night if staying at Harry's - nice strip of waterfront restaurants and a bit of life. You need a car....

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotsmaninmalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We booked direct with Harrys after finding it on www.asiarooms.com. As we stayed over christmas and in a superior bungalow we paid a massive £18 per night!!
Anyway we pre-booked an airport pickup - have never been so glad to see my name in big writing. Ko Samui airport is beautiful but very open air and a lot of uphill walking and therefore very hot! Anyway he loaded up the van and off we went down muddy tracks.
We arrived at Harrys about 20 mins later. Beautiful teak "resort" similar to Jim Thompsons house/gardens in Bangkok (if you've been?!) Anyway quick check in to room 8 - a superior bungalow, whcih basically has a mian room with double bed, desk, wardrobe, table and chairs and bathroom with shower, and then a smaller side bedroom with a single bed and large fridge in (also with a door accessing the balcony). Large balcony with drying rack, table and chairs. All in a serene landscaped gardnes with ponds, pots of flowers....Leading down to a reasonable sized pool (plenty of sunbeds and free towels). Chill out zone, which is basically what used to be a bar area i imagine - loads of tables and comfy chairs, tv (with movies at night) and an internet room (plus wi-fi throughout the resort).
Main restaurant is sort of on stilets, some undercover parts as it does rain. Lovely menu, food was always good and reasonabley priced.
Remember not to wear your shoes inside, the staff dont and its rude!
As we were there for christmas we had fireworks on christmas eve and a special gala dinner which included free salads and fruits.
rooms were cleaned everyday.
Spa facilities - we tested these on our last day! Massages, hair braiding (for my daughter NOT ME) and manicures/pedicures - all really good and soooo cheap!
Tuk tuk service to the beach at your request. He di forget to pick us up but its just a 7 minute stroll anyway.
Harrys is surrounded byother resorts, a few restaurants and lots of water.
Mae Nam beach is really quiet, like REALLY quiet. Its lovely. White sands, teeny waves. Harrys have a few sunbeds out too.

The walk to Mae Nam town is about 10 mins (we went to have the laundry done every few days - bargain!!) There are bars, restaurants, car and moped hire (we hired an old VW beetle for £20 per day!!), shops, food ....everything you need and loas of tour/travel agencies!!
The only thing in Samui which is expensive is taxis - £15 to Chaweng!!
Anyway, definately stay at HArrys if you want o chill out. Not much in the way of entertainment except some poor old main who wails Elvis most nights!! Its lovely, friendly and Id go back at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1980mp1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews