We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and comfortable stay in the vineyard”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
29 reviews
View
The pool
Garden
Valle San Giovanni
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Calamandrana, Province of Asti, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
ooostbooo
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Beautiful and comfortable stay in the vineyard”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We spent a week at this beautiful place. It is quietly located among Piedmontese vineyards, but still in walking distance to at least 2 great restaurants. Hanging out by the pool and relaxing, or day trips to Asti or Alba, everything is easily available. The apartment (we stayed at "Alba") is very tastefully furnished and the hospitality of the owner (and his super-cute dogs and cats) is more than perfect. We can definitely recommend a stay there.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M
1 review
“It was beautiful”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We really enjoyed our holiday over there.
The apartment is very nice, friendly owner, good central location and we enjoyed the pool.

Date of stay: August 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peggyvell...
Wetteren, Belgium
1 review
“Great place to explore Piëmonte”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Nice welcome, great place, cooling swimming pool, super restaurants nearby, relaxing atmosphere, friendly people

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulr79
1 review
“Lovely!”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very nice place, nice apartments and excellent service! Good restaurants just around the corner. Would love to visit this place again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaL...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring gastronomic capital of Italy”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Arriving (after a few wrong turns) at this rustic stone guest house at the top of a hill, we were delighted when we walked into our apartment and our host, Veit, opened the balcony doors and we gazed out over rolling vineyards and breathed the country air. There was a little kitchenette with a dining area, patio with another table and set of chairs, two bedrooms (one of which opens onto the kitchen/dining space) and two bathrooms. It was very spacious and simply furnished; the bed linens and towels were worn but clean.

As we went back outside, Veit invited us to help ourselves to whatever fruit and vegetables we came across on the property, explaining it is all organically grown. (We used fresh basil in our breakfast omelets and enjoyed the figs, apples and walnuts). He showed us the lovely pool and introduced us to his two dogs, Puck (inspired by Shakespeare) and Lizzie (named after Elizabeth Taylor) who spent the first four years of her life as a very talented truffle dog.
.
Piedmonte is called the "gastronomico” capital of Italy and while this house feels like it is in the middle of nowhere, it is only a short walk to a couple of amazing restaurants, including a one-star Michelin. There are several towns a short drive away and quiet country roads for cycling and running. Calamandrana is a good base from which to drive through the Langhe region to the enchanting and vinticulturally significant towns of Barbaresco and Barolo.

Veit provided a thorough list of area bakeries, grocery stores, local sites and restaurants – which he divided into Mama’s cuisine (we tried one), Michelin starred restaurants (we tried three), and casual restaurants in the nearby towns. His recommendations were all spot on. He made reservations for us, let us use the laundry room and was extremely accommodating with all of our needs and requests.

We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Helpfulness of the host
Liked least: Spotty Internet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amongst the Vines”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a week in Piemonte and stayed at Residenza Ca D'Masseu.
We had seen and heard so much about Piemonte that we wanted to take our time touring around the local area and getting a feel for the culture and lifestyle. We wanted accommodation with some "rustic charm" and we got that with Residenza Ca D'Masseu.
The accommodation is a renovated 17th century farmhouse located reasonably high on a hill amongst the grape vines of the property. It is a lovely peaceful setting. The rooms are (ours was the only one on the ground level) a good size and have adequate facilities. It's not 5 star accommodation but it works and Veit the manager is a terrific young guy always willing to provide help and advice...and some good discussion. If you like a nice pool area with a view this place has it. Plenty of produce around with apples, figs, tomatoes available to pick.
Early September was a great time to go as it's harvest time. Just be prepared for a few hold ups on the narrow roads as the local growers cart their crop to the winemaker.
We visited all the main towns/villages, Asti, Alba, Barolo, Barbaresco, Moasca, Nieve, Canelli, Nizza monferrato etc. plenty of eating options around. Our most outstanding evening was at Moasca for anti pasti and aperitive with majestic views, lovely food and typically delicious Piemonte Barbera...the place is only new and sorry I can't remember the name or locate it anywhere but you can't miss it at the top of the hill in the old fortress!
Piemonte is a stunning area and if you like wine you will be in heaven. It's much less touristy than you would expect and if you don't speak Italian there will be a few challenges but you get by.

Date of stay: September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbwhite
lucerne
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“wonderful location”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2012

I stayed here for just one night with 2 friends, and it was lovely. We arrived early and were able to check into our room. spacious is an understatement. The old rustic furniture was awed at by my Canadian friends. The view from the room was breathtaking, of the nearby vineyards. Unfortunately it was October so we could not longer use the lovely pool. A bottle of wine welcomed us, a great surprise.
The heating wasn't turned on, but there was wood outside that we used to build a fire in the fireplace in our room (everything smelled smokey afterwards, but it was part of the adventure.
Breakfast was lovely, brought to us in our room- had some problems with ants in our bread, but I guess that was a problem from the bakery- otherwise I would rate this with 5 stars instead of 4.
The owner (can't remember his name) Adreas maybe? was helpful with internet problems, and to help us find a place to eat. It was all quite perfect, just what I hoped for while traveling through Piemont.

Date of stay: October 2012
Traveling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing