We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location for the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Montecallini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montecallini
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“good location for the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is a relatively new hotel, close to the water, but away from crowds. It is clean, spacious with lovely grounds. The staff was very polite and helpful. The only down side was the restaurant wasn't open and neither was the pool. Two of the reasons we chose to stay at this establishment. We ended up going to the beach for the after noon to relax and get some sun after our long car travel from Matera. We were there in May, and there were only 4 other rooms occupied, so, perhaps this is why the restaurant and pool weren't open.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillandjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    57
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
42
113
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria di Leuca, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotels located in most wonderful landscape.
Very close to a good restaurant that serve seafood with best quality.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor on the North-South Wing. Every morning while waking up you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mottibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hotel is great from many standpoints. New, with all possible facilities one might desire (swimming pool with garden around, restaurant, sea view, air con, wifi).
Location is ideal: close to ss274 you can move around the whole of Salento very easilly (rent a car). The sea is very close and the hotel benefits from a great view.
Staff speaks good English and German, we did not verify French: International client base.
Staff is very friendly, gave us advice on restaurants, olive oil producers and beaches. There is a culture of hygiene, staff cleans the room twice per day and they even washed and dried out our own beach towels.
Given all this, prices are good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luisa82uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

The other reviews of hotekls in this area seem mainly to have been contributed by non-English speakers, and we selected Hotel Monte Callini on the pin in map basis.
The hotel is set on a hill overlooking San Gregorio one of the small seaside villages dotted along the Salento coastline. It is not far from the southernmost tip of the Itlian mainland.
The hotel itself is very modern clean and functional. The service was helpful but not overly-so. For example, we asked about a boat trip to see the local grottos - this was booked for us but we weren't told that there would be a swimming opportunity as well as snack/drinks thrown in which would have been useful.
Rooms are decently sized, and very clean. Our also had a mutli-jet shower which was a treat.
We did feel that maybe it was the kind of hotel which was normally marketed through package holiday operators. In other words it was clean and the service OK, but a bit impersonal and definitely overpriced for what it was. We did however enjoy eating out in the local restaurants which were within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snufflehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina San Gregorio
2.8 mi away
Messapia Hotel & Resort
Messapia Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Santa Maria di Leuca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
9.7 mi away
Robinson Club Apulia
Robinson Club Apulia
#2 of 26 in Ugento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Selenia Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Hotel Gallipoli Resort
Hotel Gallipoli Resort
#18 of 23 in Gallipoli
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masseria Ruri Pulcra Hotel & Resort
Masseria Ruri Pulcra Hotel & Res...
#3 of 3 in Marina San Gregorio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
25.0 mi away
Degli Haethey Hotel
Degli Haethey Hotel
#27 of 38 in Otranto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecallini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecallini

Property: Hotel Montecallini
Address: Via Provinciale 192 Patu | San Gregrorio 21, 73053 Marina San Gregorio, Patu, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Patu > Marina San Gregorio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marina San Gregorio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Montecallini 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montecallini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montecallini Italy/Marina San Gregorio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing