We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we have visited!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Savoy Calheta Beach
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Calheta
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best hotel we have visited!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This lovely hotel surpassed all our expectations. Having read the previous review about rooms away from the bar area I totally disagree about any noise as the entertainment finished dead on 2230 and it was not loud. This was one of the good things about the holiday, quiet and peaceful. The entertainment suited the clientele.
The food was superb and the bar service excellent. The two young men behind the bar work their socks off and always with a smile.
The entertainment during the day was very good and unlike some hotels we had been to before, we were not pressurised into taking part. The hotel was quiet and very clean, staff friendly and efficient. Example of this our air con was not efficient but once reported it was fixed within the hour and then the staff checked it was OK.
I would strongly recommend the jeep safari that runs on a Sunday a great day out and lots of fun.
The hotel is relaxing and peaceful. Across the road is a supermarket and chemist so very convenient if you need anything. There is a Marina next door and it was a nice stroll from the hotel. Here you can get a trip to go dolphin or whale watching.
We were all inclusive and could not complain about choice of food or drink. Snacks were put out and ice creams although not free all day were put out twice a day and the quality of the ice -cream was top notch.
All in all this was possibly the best relaxing holiday we have ever had. The beauty of this island certainly took our breath away.
Would we return? Absolutely yes indeed in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caro1NorfolkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    301
    143
    32
    20
See reviews for
157
399
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good clean modern hotel, but full of all inclusive customers, and as there is nothing in walking distant, they stay in the hotel drinking all day!
If you have a car the west end of the island is out standing for walking an wild life, but beware you will be charged parking - at airport rates! You also have to pay for beach towel.
The spa pool is stone cold!
On the plus side the local restaurants are very good, but in is very isolated

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar by the beach the noise goes on until 2 in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen-surreyKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Hotel Calheta Beach is very well situated on a lovely little man made beach. The area itself is quiet so if you are looking for a relaxing holiday this hotel is perfect. It is located just over the road from a supermarket, bank and pharmacy; everything you need is close at hand. The Marina is very close and has five or six bars and restaurants that are very cheap, peaceful and attractive, with lovely views. The average cost for a bottle of beer was about a euro.

The hotel is well maintained, modern and very clean. Our double room was spacious and nicely furnished with lovely uninterrupted views of the sea. I would definitely suggest requesting a sea view as they do have rooms that look onto a mountain and there is a fairly busy road below these rooms.

We were all inclusive and for my husband the food was amazing; the range of fish and meat available was fanatic...if you are a meat eater! I, however, am a vegetarian and have to say that the food i could have was somewhat limited and little repetitive. It is a shame really as it was the only disappointment in an otherwise faultless stay.

The entertainment was interesting! There was something different ever night and some of the music acts were great.

The staff at the hotel are friendly and very hard working. They run an extremely busy restaurant very efficiently!

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CMSW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Calheta is the perfect place to go for a quiet holiday to get away from it all. Our hotel room was spotless and the staff were all great. The pool was quiet and there was no mad rush for sunbeds in a morning, there were plenty to go round. The entertainment and activities were subtle but varied enough in that there was something for everyone and the water aerobics were good fun. Our party included teenagers and they had a whale of a time. The surrounding area is quiet, with just a few shops and café bars but there are a few places offering boat trips to see whales, dolphins and sea turtles. The beach was lovely and clean and very safe for children. The food was good although there was not a huge choice of dishes. The only criticism we have is that the drinks service in the restaurant was very slow but all in all this is a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mamba4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had pleasant one-week stay in Calheta Beach Hotel and recommend this hotel despite some minor flaws.
The hotel is located in part of Madeira that is sunnier than Funchal (at least during our stay we had more sun than Funchal, which was often cloudy). It sits right at man-made but nice sandy beach, popular with the island residents. It’s protected from waves and good for swimming although water was bit on chilly side at around 20-21 Celsius in early July. Across the street from the hotel, there is well equipped supermarket – convenient to buy groceries and other basic products.
The hotel actually consists of two different buildings located on two sides of the street and linked by a closed-roof bridge on the 4th floor. Rooms in the beach-facing main buildings – some of those have sea view - have 100s, 200s, 300s, 400s and 500s numbers while the other building – 600s, 700s and 800s. The latter rooms are more apartments and suites from what I understand although I have not seen them. Some disadvantage of the other building is that all rooms face quite busy street with limited or no sea view.
The hotel is located in quite isolated part of the island – so car is needed if someone wants to move around
The guest mix was quite diverse – we heard mainly French and German, but also English, Polish and some Russian. In terms of types of guests there were quite a lot of families, but also older tourists. I would say that the place is least geared for young adults seeking for bars and nightlife entertainment. For this purpose Funchal must be better option.
On the positive side – friendly staff, nice beach and location. Breakfast and buffet dinner – what you expect from this type hotel. Bit limited choice (particularly for breakfast) but tasty, particularly fish – no complains on food angle.
On the negative side – wi-fi limited to lobby area, but even there it did not work. If someone needs to use wi-fi I recommend cafes/restaurant along the marina (about 100meters from the hotel). I was using Salgadinho cafe – nice people and the connection works perfectly there.
The hotel is already bit dated and has irritating architecture flaws – in our room (319 corner room with marina and sea view) bathroom was quite small and hard to move around. To get to indoor swimming pool/fitness/sauna area one needs to disturb those playing table tennis, etc.
The hotel pool area is also pretty loud. It did not bother us for evening live music- which was of good quality and entertaining. But daytime animations (pool aerobics, etc) were irritatingly loud as far as I’m concerned.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me & my girlfriend wanted to spend a nice, active vacation after couple of years not being anywhere outside our country. We have chosen Madeira after reading several reviews and trip advisers. Arrived on Jun-4, were bit afraid of the weather since the forecast was promising temperatures around 22 - 24 Celsius. We were nicely surprised though, in Calheta, where we stayed, the temperatures were just fine - warm enough to spend the whole day next to the pool or on the beach. The ocean was bit cold though, but we were still swimming in it. Surprisingly, the hotel pool was pretty cold as well. Hardly anyone was swimming (apart from one black duck, who seems to be the mascot of the hotel : )

Firstly we were given room #710, which is located in second part of the building - over the road, above the garages and supermarket. The first experience was terrible - the room looked like no one was there for couple of months - smelly, humid and the bathroom was just a disaster. Dirty, moulded and really smelly. We immediately returned to hotel reception and they given us room #333. That was lot better, clean and shiny, but there still was some smell occasionally coming from bathroom. Anyway - we ran some water down the pipes and it disappear. The hotel staff didn't apologize or anything, seems that it's happening there quite often.

The hotel pool is perfect, apart from cold water, there is daily show and water gymnastics for those interested in it. The bar is reasonably priced (large beer 3 EUR, glass of wine 2.50 EUR). There is a back door which you can use to get to the beach - it's literally just few steps from the hotel. We used to stay at the pool and go to swim in the ocean couple of times daily.

Calheta is a nice, small, relatively quite town, if you prefer not to stay in rush hotel centers in Funchal though there is not much to do there either. The bus connection is just a joke - 2 buses per day, early morning and afternoon. Thankfully, hotel has it's own bus transport to Funchal daily, leaving at 8.30 and coming back at 17.00. Strongly suggest to rent a car and go explore the islands, if you don't mind the driving - Funchal, gardens, levadas.. and also make sure you go to Porto Moniz lava spa on the north west part of the island, it's definitely worth it. We took a bus and it took us around 1.5 hour to get there, the roads are really curly there.

You can visit the local rum factory, approx. 20 minutes from the hotel and taste their local aged rum for couple of euros, you can also taste their traditional honey cake. On the way back, you'll pass the hydro power-plant building, if you turn then turn right and walk for a minute, you can get to nice open beach with great view on the ocean and the surrounding rocks. It's really nice.

On the other side of the hotel, there is a small harbor with few restaurants offering local food. It was OK, but nothing to write home about. The hotel restaurant was really good though, offering nice variety of salads, fish food, chicken/beef, pasta,..etc. and nice surprise - champagne for breakfast. What a nice start of the day! : )

Generally, I would recommend Madeira and Calheta for anyone who is looking for calm, not crowded type of holiday with trips and hikes across the islands. I think we'll get there after couple of years again, hopefully will have the right room right from the beginning.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in second part of the building above the garage - e. g. 709, 710
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

just got back form calheta beach hotel really enjoyed the ten nights hotel is kept spotless fresh bedding every day food is good weather was really hot however there were one or two minor problems we went all inclusive but the bar stopped at ten then we had to pay for drinks not cheap either secondly the hotel caters mainly for French and german tourists and therefore hardly any of the hotel entertainment is done In English also the hotel does not change money nor does the bank unless you go to fuchal which is 45 mins away by bus arranged by the hotel we stopped in the sea view rooms which we understood to be better than the mountain view ones overall a lovely place to go to but there is not much to do at calheta so if you are looking forward to a lively holiday I would book somewhere else

Room Tip: we stopped in 505 right at the top super view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grahamstaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calheta
0.4 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
1,110 reviews
13.9 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 86 in Funchal
1,651 reviews
22.3 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
15.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
20.9 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Calheta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Calheta Beach

Property: Savoy Calheta Beach
Address: Vila da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira 9370-133, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Calheta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Calheta Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Savoy Calheta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calheta Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel Calheta
Savoy Calheta Beach Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing