We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Calheta Beach
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Calheta
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel on 8th March just in time for dinner. We were put in a huge room (2 bathrooms, kitchen with 4 chairs and table, lounge with flat screen, separate bedroom with flat screen, double balcony!) there was only two of us and we were All-inc so that wasn't needed!! We thought we had booked sea view and apparently it was partial sea-view (meaning when the wind blew the trees out of the way we could just about see a slither of the ocean) and we were in the back part of what turned out to be a sort of double hotel, separated by a road with a foot bridge connecting the two parts. To get to our room we had to go up two floors then across the bridge then down two floors. Very confusing. We wanted a sea view and the balcony door didn't lock so we asked to move rooms and the following day we were upgraded to a sea/pool view in a modern single room with bed and separate bathroom, just enough for two. The balcony was small and fine for our needs.

The holiday overall was relaxing, the weather wasn't great but it was never cold just overcast and windy. We couldn't use the beach because there were diggers on it morning to night making an horrendous amount of noise for the duration of our stay which got annoying as there was no peace however they are obviously trying to make ongoing improvements to the resort and the island which is promising.

The hotel was clean in all public areas and I cannot fault any of the staff. The best were the evening bar staff who were often more entertaining than the entertainment. Although on Tuesdays and Fridays they have a local band in and they were fantastic.

The food in the dining area was always well presented and there were choices of approx three main dishes or fresh salad daily at lunch and evening. We never had the same meal twice (sadly are some were delicious!!). The breakfasts were standard but well presented and the waiting staff were available, friendly and not imposing. We never had to wait to be served our drinks.

My gripes were - the noise levels of the building work, the fact you have to pay for games like pool or table tennis, the fact you have to pay for ice cream and milkshakes, that they stop serving all-inc drinks at 10pm sharp.

The outdoor pool was freezing (and I mean, freezing). The indoor pool was out of action for two days of our stay. There is a mini gym we used and a sauna.

The bus transfer to Funchal was reasonable and needed as there is nothing at all to do otherwise. There is a port with about three bars and one useless shop to the right and to the left there is a rum distillery and a church up the hill. Thats it.
The hotel also run buses to a few local villages for a cost but these are also very welcome if you don't hire a car.

Try the Madeira wine. Its addictive.

Room Tip: If you want a big room I get the impression the bigger ones are in the back hotel however you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria3523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    289
    138
    31
    17
See reviews for
148
383
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brittany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just got back from Madeira and felt I just let my fellow travellers know a few things to watch out for,

the parking was free three years ago, last year we did not hire a car but were told it was 3 euros a day, this time round it was 7.50 euros a day, even if you use it for an hour a day which we found out as we exited the car park at 9 am the day we were leaving and they still charged us the full rate.

We went half board because of a bad experience last year on fully inclusive, the man in the restaurant will pressurise you, even though we stood our ground, we still got stung, we asked for a jug of tap water 1st night, they charged us a euro, after that we thought we might as well have bottled water only to find out when we were checking out, we were paying 4 euro for a 1 litre bottle. You can get the same water in the supermarket across the road for 37 cents.

The safe is 12 euros a week.

There are days when the sauna and steam room is not switched on, as on the Friday we waited till 12 pm and finally gave up.

The indoor pool could be a lot warmer and cleaner.

The beds are zipped together, quite large beds but the duvets are one for each person, smaller than a single which everytime you turn they disappear

Room Tip: The wing over the supermarket suffers from drainage smell. Choose a room to the left of the walkway,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent seven nights at the Calheta Beach Hotel during the worst weather to affect Madeira for a long time. The flight was the only one to land all afternoon due to the storm and fog, and was pretty hairy! The drive to the hotel was fogbound, the only clear bits of road were in the tunnels. It rained and was overcast for all but two days. Do you know what? It didn't matter. The Hotel and it's staff made for a great holiday!
First impressions were of a clean, well run hotel. The receptionist was under the impression that we were All-Inclusive. Being an honest guy i explained that we were only Half-Board. After checking further he confirmed this and immediately upgraded our room in thanks.
On arriving at the room, the electronic key didn't work and i returned to reception to report this. The technician was there, repairing the lock before i even got back to the room some two minutes later!
The room itself was spotlessly clean and well furnished. All facilities worked well. I would even say the shower was better than the one we have at home! The view from the balcony was lovely, despite the weather. If i had to find criticism it would be the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
The restaurant was, again, spotlessly clean and served a good variety of very tasty food for Breakfast and Dinner with a good choice of wine and drink to accompany. My partner and i consider ourselves "foodies" but we never strayed from the restaurant all week it was that good. Again, if i had to criticise anything it would be the lack of crackers to accompany the cheese at Dinner.
A good range of drinks was available from the bars, at reasonable prices for us non-all-inclusives. Entertainment was varied and talented with a good range of singers, musicians, conjourers and dancers.
The pool was lovely and kept spotlessly clean with chlorine levels checked regularly, and there were always plenty of sunbeds available. The beach is accessed by a side gate operated with your room key. The beach had, unfortunately, been washed away and the sea defences damaged by the storm, but local workmen worked tirelessly in wind and rain to carry out repairs and it was back to it's glory after a few days.
Finally, the hotel staff. What can i say? All brilliant. The Maids, Receptionists, Bar Staff, Waitresses, Technicians and all others. Always smiling, always friendly, all working tirelessly and they can't do enough for you.
Despite the weather we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Calheta Beach Hotel and would like to say a big thank you to all the staff there who made our stay wonderful. We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a Seaview room. The view is lovely! We found a centipede hiding in a dark cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

we arrived in the evening feb 22nd 2013 and were given a room that although vey nice had no balcony so we went back to reception and were asked if we would stay in this room until after. breakfast the following day we would have a upgraded sea view room so as we had only booked a mountain view room we agreed
next morning we were given the keys to a apartment across the link bridge which we couldnt believe ` a modern 1 bedroom apartment with 2 tvs kitchen with fridge freezer microwave pots and pans etc which we didnt really need as we were all inclusive.
best of all was th approx 23 foot balcony with sea views both ways.
evey member of staff from reception to cleaners were friendly helpfull and couldnt be faulted in any way. evening entertainment was the usual hotel sort but day time entertainment was non existant
food was good value for the price we paid although a bit repetative
pool area looked a little unkept maybe down to the not too good weather we experienced the only down side of this hotel is the location, we hired a car to get around but buses and taxis are available and the hotel runs a daily bus to fuchal for 17.5 euros each
we booked this hotel with low cost holidays for approx £720 for 2 people all iclusive for 2 weeks, many people we spoke to paid a lot more

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brouganvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just got back from staying at The Calheta Bay Hotel Maderia, what a great holiday.
The hotel is very nice although our first room was not as good as we expected, after seeing the reception staff they changed it to a much better one. If you want a nice quite holiday this area is great but we would advise a car so that you can get around easily.
Maderia is a beautiful island with very friendly people who mostly understand english very well.We recomend a trip into the mountains as the views are spectacular!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parko79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went to Maderia for our 40th wedding anniversary to have some sunshine & chill out Arrival at the Hotel was welcoming We had requested an apartment with sea view on half board & high up we were told apartments in the main building were only on the 2nd floor which really was the 1st as they count reception/ street level as the 1st We were offered several different options we waited 4 days for what we wanted & got a nice room & view The Hotel has a "sister" hotel over the road linked by a glass bridge called Onde Parque which are the rooms on the website the ones in the main Hotel are not as modern The food choice was very good & hot even the plates All staff were very helpful nothing was too much trouble & they always had a smile The Hotel offers 2 free trips we went on 1 & we were dropped off in the middle of nowhere for 3 hours Opposite the Hotel is a few shops the supermarket is well stocked 8 of us hired a mini bus from the taxi rank opposite the Hotel it cost 80 euros & the taxi driver not only took us to Funchal but told us points of interest on the way & on the way back he did a little tour We all went on the cable car (10euros each) to Monte then took the toboggan (15 euros each) down great fun & not as scary as I thought The bus stop is outside the Hotel we did 2 local bus trips & that was scary ! We sunbathed on the Hotel roof terrace which only had 4 sunbeds & a few benches but suited us as we dont like to be packed in like sardines ! The only downside was that there is nothing really to do outside the Hotel unless you are a walker & fit to walk up & down the hills its no wonder they built so many tunnels of which there are about 30 from the airport to the Hotel Overall we had a good time good weather good food & good entertainment we chilled out & met some nice people would we go again yes ofcourse but think we would do all inclusive as the wine at dinner & drinks were costly some nights we had a walk up the road to the only bar in the area for a change & went back for the entertainment Further up the road is a new Hotel being built which is the same owner when built I think you would be able to use the facilities We would advise you to book Hotel Calheta Beach & enjoy

Room Tip: Best to stay in main Hotel as you have more atmosphere & book a sea / marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gothere24U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is lovely hotel nice buffet food lovely rooms and excellent staff. There is a nice marina next door and there are some cafe and restaurants worth giving a try there other than that there is little else so a car is needed to see more. They do run a shuttle bus but at 17 euros each to Funchal we thought that a bit steep but a taxi was also expensive . If you just want to chill and relax though its great there is small manmade beach they were working on breakwaters whilst we were there which was a bit noisy but we got used to it. The staff were all Maderian and all very friendly and cheerful the girls in the restaurant worked very hard but always were very attentive with a smile. We would recommend the Restaurant ajoining the hotel for excellent food and good prices and if you are all inclusive they give you a voucher for 13 Euros each towards a meal there The bar at the other side of the hotel is nice but the drinks there are not included with all inclusive there. Entertainment was a bit hit and miss but there were a couple of good vocalists on. I would recommend this great hotel for couples or families with very young babies but really I think Maderia should be left to us more mature folk!!!

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pammie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calheta
0.4 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
13.9 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#31 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
22.3 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
15.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Calheta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Calheta Beach

Property: Savoy Calheta Beach
Address: Vila da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira 9370-133, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Calheta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Calheta Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Savoy Calheta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calheta Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel Calheta
Savoy Calheta Beach Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing