We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unforgettable holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Calheta Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savoy Calheta Beach
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Calheta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“unforgettable holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

we had never been to Madeira before,we didn't know what to expect.
It took us 40 minutes to get from Funchal Airport.
we were upgraded to an apartment overlooking the marina.
we enjoyed staying in this hotel very much.
we would give it full 5 rating but:
1) we could not enjoy the indoor pool as it was very cold.
2) the WiFi is limited only to the lobby at cost of 5 euros for 6 hours use.(there are two free internet terminals that always busy when not broken).
the hotel has a lovely outdoor swimming pool (could not use it being Janurary)
dry sauna, Turkish steam room, nice beach.
this hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday.
full cooked breakfast buffet, and fantastic buffet dinner, the staff are superb and very polite.
the hotel is not located near to any town centre. Across the road you have a supermarket and coffee bar.
you will need a car to commute,it is possible to book the hotel shuttle service to funchal for 15 euros a person, or day trips to nearby attractions.
every evening you have live entertainment.

Room Tip: must...must have sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eleanorsaasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    284
    136
    31
    17
See reviews for
142
377
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We have visited this hotel 3 times, it is in one of the best locations of Madeira Island.

Room Tip: Get a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria-Elizabeth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early June for one night before a week long stay in a villa. Since we had been to Madeira we knew where to go, but the hotel is in a very easily accessible road. It took us about 30mins from the airport. The hotel has easy parking and the checkin was smooth. Our room was small, especially since they had put in a spare bed for our sun, but it was fine. The room was clean and tidy and had wonderful view facing the ocean. Breakfast buffet was fantastic, great food and lots of fresh fruits. Evening entertainment was very quiet, a few elderly groups chatting and having some drinks. However, if it is peace and quiet you are going for then this is not an issue. Enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

We have just arrived from Madeira and it was brilliant! We booked as a last minute deal, stayed there for 7 nights on ano all inclusive basis and we really, really liked it. People were very nice and staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and very modern with a lovely decoration. Our room was very large with a balcony and a fantastic view to the sea. Very clean bathroom which is very important, clean towels everyday. The food was delicious and there was plenty to choose from everyday in big quantities, the restaurant was very nice with a lovely atmosphere! We spent some time at the pool area as well as at the beach which is a few steps from the hotel and it is the only sandy beach in Madeira! Overall we loved our holiday and are looking forward to go back next year!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmandaB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

It is many years since my wife and I stayed in such a large hotel. We prefer smaller boutique style hotels. However our week there was very pleasant. This is a typical holiday hotel, with around 5 or 6 mainly German operators going there. Indeed I suspect the hotel may be German owned or managed. However there were also French, Dutch and British visitors there.
We had a comfortable room on the second floor looking out over the pool and the sea. There was an excellent TV and plenty of storage space and wardrobe space. Unlike another reviewer we found our room to be spotlessly clean and the chambermaid was always very prompt at cleaning our room when she saw us go to breakfast. The breakfast was an excellent buffet with fresh fruit, yogurts, a wide variety of excellent breads, eggs, bacon, sausages, cold meats, cheese etc. Coffee and tea were provided in flasks and there were a variety of fruit juices available.

Outside there was a large pool with plenty of sunbeds, so there was never a problem finding one. There was also an indoor pool with an excellent sauna and hamman, although the Brits tended to use them rather less than other nationalities.

In the evening there was a buffet dinner which had a wide variety of food. However the buffet opened at 6.30 and the dining room was full by 6.45. If you arrived after about 7.30 tables were readily available, but most of the food was overlooked by then. If you were lucky a new batch of some dishes might arrive. As a result on three occasions we ate at the a la carte restaurant, where we received a 15€ allowance. Might put the price up slightly, but the dining experience was much better. For some reason this option was not available to people on a full board all inclusive arrangement.

However overall if you want to escape from Funchal this is a good quiet option. However a car is essential if you want to look around the island.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eurogolferoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

First of the island and the weather will strongly influence how you feel about your stay here. Because although the hotel is excellent, with good service pleasant staff, good cleanliness and nice facilities if you have more than a.few days of bad weather, you'll soon be more negative. Luckily we did not encounter this, and found the hotel perfect both as a base for excursions and as base for relaxing by the pool or beach. Highly recommendable location and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank enswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

When we arrived, we were offered a " very nice appartment". We had booked a hotelroom, so we were supprised. This appartement looked perfect, but the noise of the builders straight below was horrible. At the receiption THE lady told us that only today there were renovations. Stil we asked for a different room and we received a room witheet seeview. Tuis was a nice offer, but the room and espacially the bathroom was very dirty. There was black fungus in the shower, hairs, the bidet full of dust and more hairs and cockroaches. During our stay the room and bathroom were never cleaner properly, althouth we reported this at the receiption. In the supermarket we bought bleach and other cleaning stuff and cleaned the bathroom ourself. We bought also Wifi in the hotel, but this does not work at the room. Doe not stay here and doe not stay in room 318. We are here now for 10 day's and the renovationnoise below the appartment is still going on. Four more day's to go, and we fly home. Can't wait to go home.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CvBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calheta
0.4 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
15.2 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
13.9 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
22.3 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
15.0 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Calheta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Calheta Beach

Property: Savoy Calheta Beach
Address: Vila da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira 9370-133, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Calheta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Calheta Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Savoy Calheta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calheta Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel Calheta
Savoy Calheta Beach Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing